12/9 Twice PMPS 86 +2 76 +4 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim & Twice

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Twice was my playful attack boy last night. :-D His appy is very good today and all P's are present and accounted for.
I'm running late today, will catch up later
Vines to all in need. Hugs to the beans
 
Re: 12/9 Twice AMPS 77

Morning Kim,

Happy to see that our boy, Twice, is still doing so well :-D :mrgreen: :-D

Have a great day - stay warm!
 
Re: 12/9 Twice AMPS 77

Morning Kim ~O) ~O) ~O)

Awesoem start today Twice. all that green! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :cool: you surf well today for your bean.

Enjoy your day today Kim. I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 12/9 Twice AMPS 77

Hi Kim - so good to see your playful attack kitten hanging out in those 70's again. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

There's a part of the TR protocol that I'd like to draw to your attention:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

I've just listed and bolded the relevant parts for you. I'm thinking that maybe Twice is ready to try that 0.1U dose on for size. :-D :-D :-D He's been a week at this dose, and other than the day of the skip, he's been Mr. Green, and even after the skip he barely made blue.
 
Re: 12/9 Twice AMPS 77

Hi Kim! Twice is doing so well! I like the suggestions above about how to try the next decrease - he's sure working his way down!

I always forget to mention it, but I love the quote in your signature about "little things" . . . what a nice outlook to have.
 
Re: 12/9 Twice PMPS 86

Well, another late day home..and yet, the house was still somewhat intact :lol: Still have the 'houseguests' inside but looks like our weather may break a bit come mid-week :-D
Twice didn't eat both cans of breffis today, left just less than half a can untouched. But ate about half a fresh can for ps so I think he may have been lightly snacking all day :smile:

Thank you Jane, Carla, Dyana, Josie, Pam, Michelle, Amy, Tara, Wendy, Julie and Amy for the great visits today! Twice loves the visits :-D

I got home and did the Twice stuff before logging online, but see that Wendy, Julie and Amy have suggested I may like to give .1U a shot! That's crazy exciting..and scary. Some questions:
1) If it fails, do they go skyhigh? Or I guess ECID so that's a toughie to say for sure.
2) A 1U dose is about the width of the collar on the syringe..just slightly less. How does one measure this dose??

Ok. Going to make/wolf down supper and hit some condos!! :-D
 
Re: 12/9 Twice PMPS 86

Here is a picture of the .1U dose.
01unit-1.jpg


Or look here for examples using BD's.

If .1U fails, you go back to .25U. Paws crossed Twice can do this!
 
Re: 12/9 Twice PMPS 86

the ideal is that you reduce the dose and the good numbers, same range approximately, continue.

i've seen a couple that go up a few points into low blues for a couple of days, then they settle into the new dose and it's all greens again.
 
Re: 12/9 Twice PMPS 86

So I want to shoot at about the zero line for BD, is that correct?
Ok so seeing blue a couple days is not necessarily a failed reduction?
 
Re: 12/9 Twice PMPS 86

The .1U picture seems to show just a hair of light above the zero line. Of course you have to take into consideration the variability of the BD's and where the zero line is in relation to the bottom of the syringe. :roll: I think the idea is to try to do about 1/2 of the .25U dose you have been doing.

I'd think a bit of blue would be OK, you just don't want it trending up over time. Remember, up to 120 is still considered normal. Go Twice!
 
Re: 12/9 Twice PMPS 86

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Hi Kim,
Twice is doing great. Good luck on the tiny dose. He can do it!! (you can, too!)

Have a great evening,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. If you can get calipers, measure the 0.1 dose on a syringe that looks perfect (plunger lines up with the zero line and the zero line lines up with the interior plastic disc of the BD syringe). Then keep the caliper set and just measure your dose according to the caliper. (You can eyeball it. Hold the calipers up to the syringe to see how well you eyeballed it. Make corrections if necessary. etc. etc. Every syringe is different and most are inaccurate, so try to find one that is the closest to "perfect" and use that as your model.
 
Re: 12/9 Twice PMPS 86

Good luck with the new dose :mrgreen:
We're excited for you :-D
 
Thank you everyone for the visits! :-D This bean is bushed, so off to bed with Twiceman. Think I better grab a mid test tonight :smile:
 
Someone's getting all fancy with .1U shots! woot-woot! Keeping our paws crossed that this dose holds! Sleep well, Kim and have a great day tomorrow!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top