12/9 Sarge AMPS 394 +1.75 325 +10 134

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alison & Sarge

Member Since 2014
Sarge seems to be floundering at F2.25U again so it may be time to sneak back up to S2.5U. After some great feedback over the weekend I am experimenting with different carb % foods to see if I can guide his cycles and temper the bounces. I feel like we are zeroing in on a very narrow dose range (S2.5U to 2.5U) that has the potential to get him consistently in the green. Problem is he is bouncy and threatens 40's on these doses but any less and he is sky high. I wish I could find a dose that didn't require any "supplementation" to work. If I can just get his cycles to flatten out maybe that will happen on 4% carb food (vs. the 3% he is eating now). I am a little nervous because with holiday traveling coming up it would be handy to have a working plan soon.
 
Can someone help me figure out what Sarge is "telling me." I just got a +10 of 134. I thought we would be sneaking back up to S2.5U tonight. Should I wait?
 
Can you get a +11 or 11.5 and post? That will let us know if he's planning any surprises.

Nice slide Sarge!
 
Sorry I was keeping him out of the tissue paper while I wrapped gifts. Looks like our +11.5 is 294. He did the same slide yesterday but then was in the pink/yellow overnight and pink this morning.
 
Alison, have you considered calipers? Sometimes the kitties that are really sensitive to small insulin changes do well with those. Marje had a post with a video on how to use calipers. Basically she did some comparisons on syringe markings and found that the markings can be off by as much as a 0.5u from one syringe to the next. that means that the dosing is less consistent than might be helpful for a sensitive kitty.

Look at the bottom of this post for "dosing with calipers".

In the meantime, I think i'd wait to increase his dose until you've had some cycles where you could get the nadirs so you can be confident of how low he's going on the current dose, even if that means waiting til the weekend when you're around during the day.
 
It's funny you should ask. I just started using digital calipers over the weekend. The F2.5U I have been giving turns out to be 0.186 inches. I have deviated no more than 0.002in since using the calipers. I just found the videos today and planned to double check my technique. I held him at F2.25 tonight and I will give it a few more cycles so I can get more info on what he looks like mid-cycle. In the past I have waited too long on a failed reduction and I didn't want to do that again. Thanks so much! :)
 
yeah, i know what you mean - it is a balancing act. You don't want to wait if it is a failed reduction, but i'm guessing based upon your "in the door after work" tests that he is probably getting into greens mid-day. can't know for sure, of course, but that's my guess. that darn work gets in the way of life, doesn't it?! ;-) :-D
 
It sure does! Some days I think, this number wouldn't be a big deal if I didn't have to go to work today! I might be able to sneak in on him tomorrow after lunch and see if I can catch him green. I have been suspcious we are hitting green around mid-cycle too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top