12/9 Ruby PMPS 86/+2 53/+2.5 46/+3 63/+3.5 58/+4 60

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday Ruby surprised me with another low again very early in her evening cycle. @Wendy&Neko said I don't get a reduction, saying it was a "back to back" reduction, but didn't explain why. Shot the same 1.25 u dose this morning at an all time low PMPS for us!:nailbiting:

Rubes enjoyed some belly rubs this morning and is generally being as sweet as can be.

Healing thoughts for all of the sick kitties and hugs to you beans who love them so! Have a beautiful day, everyone! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
didn't explain why
Because the depot from 1.5 was in play. Often back-to-back reductions don't hold. When Jax gets a reduction, I have to work super hard for a cycle or two (i.e. steer him with fodo) so he doesn't earn another one.

Surf safely, Ruby :cat: Have a wonderful day, Katherine!
 
Often back-to-back reductions don't hold. When Jax gets a reduction, I have to work super hard for a cycle or two (i.e. steer him with fodo) so he doesn't earn another one.

Thanks for the explanation, Susanne. I suspected that it probably would not hold anyway. I did try to steer her with some MC after that 58 popped up during +1, but Ruby is really not very carb sensitive. I have to feed her the 28% HC when she goes below 50, and even so she remained quite flat for a few hours before I went to bed and probably stayed there pretty much all night from the looks of her AMPS. We'll see what today brings! :p
 
Thanks for the explanation, Susanne. I suspected that it probably would not hold anyway. I did try to steer her with some MC after that 58 popped up during +1, but Ruby is really not very carb sensitive. I have to feed her the 28% HC when she goes below 50, and even so she remained quite flat for a few hours before I went to bed and probably stayed there pretty much all night from the looks of her AMPS. We'll see what today brings! :p
FWIW, I've used HC and karo in the 50s following a reduction so Jax wouldn't get another one. See PM cycle of 9/26/20. That was after a skipped shot too. His depot was super duper full. Don't be afraid to bring out the big carbs in the cycle or two after the reduction :p She should have a wonderful cycle today thanks to your hard work :bighug:
 
+3.25 = 45. Eating 1 tbs. HC (28%) now + 1 drop honey. This is a little exhausting. :coffee: At least I've found the right combination of foods that she is excited to eat! :cat:

So Ruby is making it clear that she does not like this dose with the second drop below 50 in 12 hours. UPDATE TO MY QUESTION: Do I wait for a third drop to earn a reduction?
 
Last edited:
@Wendy&Neko said I don't get a reduction, saying it was a "back to back" reduction, but didn't explain why.
A back-to-back reduction is when you take reductions too close together for the depot to catch-up. And they invariably fail unless kitty is determined to go down the dosing ladder at some speed.

Btw, why did you increase her to 1.5 from 1.25 on 12/7? She was seeing nadirs in the 50s on 1.25.

Ruby seems determined to earn another reduction though. Tagging @tiffmaxee
 
Another variety?
I brought the food to the bed where Her Highness was lounging and she's eating it now. :rolleyes: It's Weruva Love Me Tender which is 17%. She loves all of these Weruvas because they have some fish bits and broth in it. Hopefully that has some effect. If not I'm breaking out the HC again. Thank goodness I cancelled my plans for this afternoon. :eek:
 
@tiffmaxee Would it help in any way if I skipped tomorrow morning's dose to empty the depot? I'm concerned by all of these deep drops. Or would that massively backfire?
 
It’s not recommended to skip to drain the depot unless in a large dose. It does more harm than good. What you can do is feed a little higher carbs at the beginning if the cycles, mc instead of lc for example. Feed some mc at amps if still starting low and then grab attest at +1 and feed more if needed. These are beautiful healing numbers. Then once the depot is gone go back to lc unless she drops too low. The only time a skip is encouraged is if the CG is exhausted and needs to sleep or can’t monitor.
 
It’s not recommended to skip to drain the depot unless in a large dose. It does more harm than good. What you can do is feed a little higher carbs at the beginning if the cycles, mc instead of lc for example. Feed some mc at amps if still starting low and then grab attest at +1 and feed more if needed. These are beautiful healing numbers. Then once the depot is gone go back to lc unless she drops too low. The only time a skip is encouraged is if the CG is exhausted and needs to sleep or can’t monitor.
I've been feeding her a combo of LC plus MC at shot time but that clearly is having zero effect. Will do just MC tomorrow morning and see what happens. Thank goodness I've finally found food in every carb combo that she likes to eat now!
 
It might not be necessary for many cycles, just until the depot from 1.25 is gone . Let the bg be your guide.
 
Sounds like you've had a hectic time managing Ruby's levels - you must be exhausted so I hope things are settling.

I was curious what food you have for the HC - you mentioned 28% and I feel like I need some very HC in reserve.

:)
Thanks for checking in, Elizabeth. I'm totally exhausted. :) I hope things settle very soon for both of us. Her poor ears...

My super HC is Wellness Signature Selects Shredded Boneless Chicken and Turkey in Sauce Entrée. Dr. Pierson's list has it at 28% carbs, while Tanya's Canned Food List is more updated and has it at 34.09%. A lot of the Signature Selects are pretty high in carbs, with a few of the fish ones having medium carbs. Ruby likes it a lot!
 
Back
Top