12/9 Pumbaa says "What goes down must go up!"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
NOTE: Pumbaa's spreadsheet is in reverse order with the most current data at the top.

I forget who first told me, "Cats bounce until they don't," but I was so praying that Pumbaa would never again have a morning like he did this morning. :sad:

After such a nice string of blues and greens starting PM 12/6/12, and having him clear a small bounce quickly on 12/7, this morning's numbers make me very sad.

I assume that I missed some greens last night (12/8) between +6 and +10, which would explain his AMPS this morning of 201. And I was praying really, really hard that he wouldn't go above 250 this morning. But...he did.

At AM +5, I got a reading of 398, and immediately retested, and got a 293. Between then and the +7 reading, I got new batteries and replaced the meter battery just in case it was going bad. I didn't retest after the +7 367, because going up 74 points in 2 hours was more plausible than going up 185 points in 2 hours (although Pumbaa has, in the past, on Lantus, gone up 200 points in an hour...he just doesn't do this on the Levemir).

Now I am nailbite_smile thinking Pumbaa will dive tonight, instead of coming down gently. During the 12/6 PM cycle, he went from 252 to 46. And he might have gone lower than 46, but I didn't test/catch it. I think he was already on the rise when I caught the 46, because it only took some LC food to bring him up to 81.

I was so hopeful that the 3.0U dose was going to be his magic dose, and stop this bouncing. Maybe it still will, if I give it enough time. We're only on the 7th cycle, and I fully intend to give him the full 72 hours to clear this bounce before making any dosing decisions. He's had some absolutely beautiful numbers at this dose, and I hope he continues to have beautiful numbers at 3.0U once he really settles in to it.

How did it get to be Sunday night already? I only accomplished about half of the things on my immediate "to do" list, because there were so many "to do's" that I had to take care of for mom. Wish I was triplets! Twins would be okay, too! haha_smiley

Suze
 
Rome wasn't built in a day - and - is the glass half empty or half full.

Take a step back and look at his patterns. Look at the first 7 cycles on 2.75u compared to these 7 cycles on 3u. First, notice that in ALL cycles, his numbers are better. He has ONE 300 and not four (and you are testing more, so more likely to catch them) and EIGHT yellows instead of sixteen. He has SIX greens, not two, and SEVENTEEN blues not seven.

Second, the general pattern is similar, he responds immediately to the dose change, stabilizes for a few cycles, then has a great cycle or two and then heads up for a few cycles.

If he follows his pattern, yes he will go lower tonight and should be back in the blues. Watch for tomorrow for resettling of his numbers - and I would say do not raise his dose again, but let him settle on this for at least a few more days.

In the past you have raised him at the point where his numbers are starting to come down again and perhaps that is why the increase gets such a strong response - because the momentum was already headed down (or the swing, if you prefer). And that may be why he bounces fairly high so fast because once the swing passes the lowest point, with all that extra energy in it, it HAS to swing back up with greater energy.
 
Sheila, yes, he's really doing a lot better on the 3.0U dose! I was just really, really hoping that he would stop bouncing this high, and would flatten out, immediately. :) But, as you said, Rome wasn't built in a day.

I'm not going to raise him for a while...I want to give this bounce a full 72 hours to clear. And I might just keep him on this dose for a full 7 days, or longer, to make sure he has settled in.

I finally see what you have been saying about my increasing him just as his numbers started going down. When I raised him on 12/6, I hadn't waited for the 12/5 bounce to fully clear. I was impatient due to the pattern of his numbers going up during the AM cycle and dropping down during the PM cycle. He really develops some weird patterns, doesn't he? :roll:

I fully expect him to bounce again this morning, since he dropped to 77 last night after the 367 bounce yesterday AM. Dive/bounce/dive/bounce. Lather, rinse, repeat. *sigh*
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top