12/9 Monster AMPS 98, +1 77, +2 66,+11.5 87, PMPS 89, +2 100

I thinks she's held it good today. I've checked on her quite often through the cameras and she's been mostly sleeping, got up to eat and then back to sleep. I wish I could do that 😂
 
She did good today! She got up on her own to eat twice while I was at work so she must not have gone much lower that 60s. I hope not anyway.
I was looking over her spreadsheet and she hasn't gone over 150 in about a week. I've been considering a reduction of her dose. I'm not sure. I don't want to wait until this dose takes her into hypo numbers and I feel like that might be happening soon. I know I can't rely on the Libre to always give good reading and may not always have one on her. ( case in point, today)
I was also wondering if she goes symptomatic hypo with or without wearing a libre, while I'm not home, what do I look for when I check the cameras? I can talk to her though them and could try to get her up but what if I can't? And I know kitties in hypo numbers usually don't want to eat, that would be very unlike her. This is just one of my biggest fears and hope it never happens, but would like to be prepared if it does happen.
 
I wouldn't want to experience those hypo numbers symptomatic either.
And I'd probably do a reduction too. Any one with actual experience want to chime in? I definitely don't think I qualify in that category.
 
@Monster's Mom You're following TR for dosing protocol, right? That should be your guide for when you make reductions.
Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
  • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
  • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are few exceptions given to caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
  • Caregivers whose kitties have "High Dose" conditions may find the need to reduce in whole units or more.
  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction. Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding an in-between the dose.
  • We've found many kitties benefit from reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely. During a two week OTJ trial, you want to see mostly green numbers (under 100) with only a few random blue numbers between 100 - 120 to help ensure a strong remission. Most kitties will be in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) overall.

We also have a very important page for explaining what to look for with hypos--I actually do have this printed out so petsitters can easily reference it AND so I can reference it in case of an emergency. It lists the symptoms of what to look for. For what it's worth, Esse's ONLY symptom he's had (lowest recorded number we've gotten is 39, which is only mild hypo) is that he's suddenly insanely hungry. Like he sees that I'm opening a can and jumps up on the counter to get to me, something he otherwise never does. So it's not a 100% thing that Monster won't be hungry if numbers dip a little.

Also, I'm sure you've seen this page already, but just in case: IS TIGHT REGULATION POSSIBLE WITH A FULL TIME JOB? YES! -- It's mostly talking about dosing and testing time but there are a few tips for being away for long amounts of time if you read through the thread.
 
One more thing--I think the Libre users here take slightly different reduction strategies based on their ability to manually test. For example, @Brianna & Xander can't manually test so for them I believe any lime on the Libre counts for a reduction. For Esse, he's prone to false lows because he lays curled up for so long AND he's bad with reductions, so Sam and I try to wait until we can get a manual verification of a low before we reduce (and we both work from home so we're always around to do it). @Staci & Ivy may have more thoughts on this.

All this to say, we should be following TR and if you're seeing repeated (even unverified) limes, that is probably an indicator that you should at least attempt a reduction. You can always go back up if it doesn't stick.
 
One more thing--I think the Libre users here take slightly different reduction strategies based on their ability to manually test. For example, @Brianna & Xander can't manually test so for them I believe any lime on the Libre counts for a reduction. For Esse, he's prone to false lows because he lays curled up for so long AND he's bad with reductions, so Sam and I try to wait until we can get a manual verification of a low before we reduce (and we both work from home so we're always around to do it). @Staci & Ivy may have more thoughts on this.

All this to say, we should be following TR and if you're seeing repeated (even unverified) limes, that is probably an indicator that you should at least attempt a reduction. You can always go back up if it doesn't stick.
I agree with all of Lauren's great advice.

Since you are able to test Monster (and your Libre numbers are pretty close to the manual numbers) I think you go with what seems correct BG.
If possible to blood test and you see numbers under 50, reduce!

If you aren't home and are relying on the Libre, I think if Monster is really surfing low during a cycle, I would "assume" the low number is valid.

Some of this is educated "guess work" but of course we try to be as accurate as possible.
And safety is always the priority.

If she is really in mostly green cycles, then you will need to decide how to proceed with being out of the house.
And of course if she will eat (from a feeder or eat a "catsicle" while you're out) these are good strategies to keep her safe! :bighug:
 
Back
Top