12/9 Lulu AMPS 264, +4 243, PMPS 67 - HELP with Dosing

Maya_

Member Since 2024
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-6-lulu-pmps-179-2-206-4-186-amps-95.296350/

Hello,

The 1.25 units dose has been working well with my cat and at times, her BG levels would be higher than the normal range due to injecting on the right side where there's scar tissue (trying to test different areas on the right side that will work). Today I injected on the left side in the morning and the PMPS is 67. I fed her meal now and gave a little bit of syrup to give a boost, will test again before giving her the PM dose. Since the PMPS is at 67, I should reduce to 1 unit now correct? So tonight's dose will be 1 unit instead of 1.25?

Thanks
 
Yes, that 67 earns a reduction to 1u. Do not give her insulin yet, with TR and the pet meter, you don’t shoot under 68. Since you’ve given syrup and fed the next BG test will be artificially inflated. What food did you feed along with the syrup (ie. was it low carb?) can you test again in 20 minutes?
 
Yes, that 67 earns a reduction to 1u. Do not give her insulin yet, with TR and the pet meter, you don’t shoot under 68. Since you’ve given syrup and fed the next BG test will be artificially inflated. What food did you feed along with the syrup (ie. was it low carb?) can you test again in 20 minutes?

I fed low carb (fancy feast classic pate) and mixed syrup into the food. She just finished eating her meal with the syrup, I will test again in 20 mins
 
Since this was a lower than usual preshot, it might have been worthwhile to stall, not feed, and test again in 20 minutes, and see if the number is coming up on its own without intervention. At the moment, any BG test will be artificially inflated, which means if you give insulin, once those carbs wear off and the next dose kicks in, you’ll have a hard time getting ahead or keeping up with the dropping numbers.
 
Since this was a lower than usual preshot, it might have been worthwhile to stall, not feed, and test again in 20 minutes, and see if the number is coming up on its own without intervention. At the moment, any BG test will be artificially inflated, which means if you give insulin, once those carbs wear off and the next dose kicks in, you’ll have a hard time getting ahead or keeping up with the dropping numbers.

In this case, would it be best to skip tonight’s dose and continue tomorrow morning? This way her levels will normalize throughout the night and will be more accurate by the next dose?

also just tested her and the level is now 146
 
Last edited:
She’s been coming down all day, so likely clearing a bounce which can often have extra momentum. I would say this time around, it would be best to skip. I hate to recommend that since she will likely be higher at preshot tomorrow, but she has a tendency to have early nadirs, and I’d be worried that it wouldn’t be safe to give her insulin tonight. Are you able to delay the shot at all tonight?
 
She’s been coming down all day, so likely clearing a bounce which can often have extra momentum. I would say this time around, it would be best to skip. I hate to recommend that since she will likely be higher at preshot tomorrow, but she has a tendency to have early nadirs, and I’d be worried that it wouldn’t be safe to give her insulin tonight. Are you able to delay the shot at all tonight?

I agree. I could delay for tonight but due to work tomorrow, I would not be on schedule. So probably best to skip tonight and could continue tomorrow morning
 
Back
Top