12/9 Lincoln AMPS 340, +11 391, PMPS 371, +4 220, +5 126, +6 85, +7 68, +8 67, +9 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lincolns Mom

Very Active Member
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-9-306-pmps-313-2-5-248-5-5-205-9-281.169313/
Feel like i went two steps forward and now having to go two steps back.... glucouse toxicity??? if i didnt get him regulated for over a year and a half how bad is it going to be for him? clearly his body thinks the higher numbers are normal and its fighting me on retraining it otherwise... just thought last night we were finally starting to see a drop and instead it came back up fast again

hoping other beans arent feeling frustrated this morning... and that all other kitties find the lows and surf the day away:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Amber - you have a kindred spirit here!!
I'm feeling the same - Murphy has been unregulated since his diagnosis, despite my best efforts
It's extremely demoralizing --
 
I know things are frustrating right now, but don't give up hope. Furball was diagnosed with FD in February 2012. She finally went OTJ in November 2015. There is always hope. I can see progress on Lincoln's SS. When you started the SS, it was mainly pink. I can see a lot of yellow and some blues and greens popping up now. There is a saying around here: it's a marathon, not a sprint. It takes time and you're doing a great job of taking care of Lincoln. Hang in there. :bighug::bighug:
 
no bw recently... he gets so scared when i take him to the vet... he pees and poops himself... i just hate taking him in unless i have too... which is why this change had to come we were getting no where with the fructosimine test and it was upsetting him every time i took him in

thank you all for the encouragement and camaraderie .. as frustrating as this can be at least i am not alone with it now:bighug:
 
no bw recently... he gets so scared when i take him to the vet... he pees and poops himself... i just hate taking him in unless i have too... which is why this change had to come we were getting no where with the fructosimine test and it was upsetting him every time i took him in

thank you all for the encouragement and camaraderie .. as frustrating as this can be at least i am not alone with it now:bighug:

I'm wondering a couple of things.....and these are just rambling thoughts. You've been increasing the dose steadily and generally he's still giving you yellow and pink numbers. I also find it odd that his numbers didn't go up when you changed from giving 6 units to 3 units. So I'm wondering if he could possibly have either an infection or possibly he is in need of a dental? Also, potentially Lantus is not the right insulin for him? Just some random ideas Amber since I know how frustrating this dance can be!
 
I also find it odd that his numbers didn't go up when you changed from giving 6 units to 3 units.
I'm still inclined to suspect Acro and or IAA. They will respond giving greens and blues on an increase here and there but then do nothing for a while. Of course if you think he's off or it's been over 6 months since the last vet visit that's always a good idea too.

Also, potentially Lantus is not the right insulin for him
Amber, Lantus started stinging Doodles over 4/5 units but it doesn't bother all kitties. If you suspect this starts happening Levemir might be an alternative.
 
so originally we started him at .5 units and then went up .5 units every month till he reached 3.5u... at which point i understood from the vet he was in a good area and we then left him at that dose for 6 months... because he was in a "good" area we didnt test during those 6 months... when we tested again he had moved back into the "fair" area and so again the increases started at .5u per month till we got all the way up to 6.0u... at which point he was still only in the "fair" area but the vet doesn't have many cats go over 6u and therefore was worried about taking him higher

so all of that took about a year and a half

which is why i ask about glucose toxicity... cause clearly in the past i held him there for way too long....

once the vet couldnt give me confidence in what was going on is when i finally took the jump... bought the home monitor... changed the whole diet over to wet from a wet dry mix... and when i did the massive diet change i dropped him back from 6 to 3u... and then shortly after that is when i finally joined here and stopped lurking

i see what you are saying about the top numbers... that was one the higher dose and the orijen dry food .. i dont know if dropping the one and taking the other away at the same time balanced out or what is going on but i agree halved the insulin and those numbers are not much different

he is actually happier now then he has ever been... before home testing he would run and hide all the time if you walked up to him... i just thought he wasnt a people person cat... another reason i didnt start home testing sooner... but since we started getting him more in the yellows... he is cuddly and affectionate.. purrs and wants pets every time we test... only time he acts off now is if his numbers go too high... then he is back under the kitchen table looking scared... or if he feels they went too low and then he hides under my bed just like he did when he had pancreatitis.. but as we get him lower and lower he isnt going under the bed and is a much more playful cat with the other cats and his toys...

when he first got diagnosed he had gone from 15lbs to 9lbs... but after being on insulin for a couple months gained back up to the 13-15lb area.. which is one of the reasons i suspect acro... his numbers are pink and yet he isnt skinny in the least... one of my two vets was thinking it too.. the other wasnt based on apperance...

sorry this is long and rambly.... january is 6 months since last vetty visit so i was going to take him in then and get a bw all done up... maybe now that he is a little more comfortable and happier it wont be so hard on him
 
Last edited:
I keep forgetting about the past year of dosing etc. I wonder if it might make sense to think about switching to Levemir. He might very well have built up some sort of immunity to it...not sure if it's possible or not. Doodles is much happier on Levemir and it really changed the game for us during a really bad time after loosing regulation on .75u, climbing 12u Lantus plus needing R and he was still pink & red...look at Feb-March 2016. Of course his was a medical issue but non the less it has turned out to be a better insulin for him. It took me about 5 months to find the board and start dosing/ home testing correctly.

Other than the nadir being later and you are testing during those hours anyway it might be worth a shot. I don't think the cost is any different but might check that out.
 
glucouse toxicity??? if i didnt get him regulated for over a year and a half how bad is it going to be for him? clearly his body thinks the higher numbers are normal and its fighting me on retraining it otherwise..
Yes, there is probably a bit of glucose toxicity in there, but it's not the main reason you can't break through those higher numbers. GT doesn't take a cat over 6 units. Few of us knows for sure how long our cats were diabetic before diagnosis, so didn't even have any treatment. Neko first got just 1 unit of Caninsulin and I was told to hold the dose for 3 weeks, then come back for a blood test. :rolleyes: For the longest time, low pinks was her happy zone and I knew she was in those numbers because she'd start playing with her toys. It's a good sign that Lincoln likes the yellows.

As Karen mentions, there is a "look" to an SS with something causing insulin resistance. Neko first saw greens at about 3 units, but didn't get her first reduction until 8.75 units. She kept on seeing greens, then they disappeared so I had to chase them with increases. If the cat is eating low carb wet food, has been increased safely (which you have done), have no underlying conditions that cause insulin resistance (inflammation due to dental needed, pancreatitis, hyperthyroidism, heart disease kidney disease), then a high dose condition is what we consider next. Over 6 units, that's what is most likely. And only 35% of acrocats showed physical signs on diagnosis. I found out much later that Neko's eye tearing was an acro sign (soft tissue grown closing the tear ducts), but of course her vet dismissied it as a concern. We were her first acro cat (that she knew of), so we learned together. Shortly after Neko's acro/IAA dx, she identified another acro at the clinic.

Speaking of vets, any chance you have a travelling vet that will come and do exams/bloodwork in your home? I found that Rescue Remedy for Neko as well as spraying the inside of her carrier with Feliway made the vet visit a lot easier.

he is actually happier now then he has ever been.
Amber, that is the most important thing to focus on. Cats are so much more than their blood glucose numbers.:bighug: And his dose is getting closer.
 
Well i went to moms and baked up a storm while DH stayed home with Lincoln and the rest of the gang... hoping what i am seeing today is a repeat of Nov 29 and 30th... which were nice number days... as long as he doesnt dive too low tomorrow... i really want to be with my brother for some sushi and just see where he is with this surgery
 
wow blew through yellow and almost all the way through blue... just fed him some LC to hopefully slow this a bit
 
and we are seeing some green for my boy :woot: fed him some more to hopefully start a surf and stop the dive... dont want to see a dive all the way to the sharks....

any hints on how to not be nervous when they hit normal numbers but normal numbers scare even the bean???
 
Woohoo! :D:cool: If you haven't already, I'd give him a couple of tsp LC to help encourage a surf.
any hints on how to not be nervous when they hit normal numbers but normal numbers scare even the bean???
Experience gets you more comfortable with it. And so does knowing how he responds to food so you can manage the cycle.
 
yes i gave a little LC to encourage a surf... and trying to resist the urge to poke him every 5 mins lol so just watching him for any behaviours that arent normal for my Lincoln
 
ok so we are nicely surfing in the green.... but AM shot is in 1 hour... and today is the day i am supposed to head out a few hours after AM shot to spend the day with my brother

do i just do a BCS or will it be safe to give him the whole shot??

this sucks because we are finally seeing a beautiful surf in the green by Lincoln
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top