12/9 Cobb AMPS 561 +2 501 +4 442 +6 441 +8 447 PMPS 384

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Happy Monday Lantus Land!

Yesterday

A recap for you...We upped to 4 units last night.

PMPS: 409
+2: 391
+4: 290
+7.5: 235 (Whaattt?? :o )
+10.5: 414 (liver freaking out??)

I was thinking that 414 was a food spike. Cobb got some food at +7.5 when my husband left for work. Now with the AMPS...is he bouncing?

Cobb is eating and acting fine so no concerns there. Could it be? Are we close? The last time we saw the 200s was when we were at 10units. But the first time we saw numbers under 100 was on the 4 units of ProZinc. Maybe the vet didn't realize the end of that curve was Cobb's liver freaking out and bouncing?
 
Re: 12/9 Cobb AMPS 561 ??

Ah, that yellow was nice :-D I hope you see more and more of those, and then some blues..
 
Re: 12/9 Cobb AMPS 561 +2 501 +4 442 ???

Could have been a bounce since Cobb's liver isn't used to being in the 200's and if your vet didn't understand how bouncing works, it's a good bet that they would have figured the dose wasn't high enough and increased it. Sure hear a lot of that same story here!

That's why we use the protocols we do..if there's a chance the number is a "bouncing" number, we don't increase until we're sure the bounce is over

Nice to see Cobb feeling better!!
 
Re: 12/9 Cobb AMPS 561 +2 501 +4 442 ???

Chris & China said:
That's why we use the protocols we do..if there's a chance the number is a "bouncing" number, we don't increase until we're sure the bounce is over

I know it's early in the cycle. But given his response to last night's dose and the yellow numbers, and then this morning's huge jump, does it look like a bounce?
 
Re: 12/9 Cobb AMPS 561 +2 501 +4 442 ???

I'd say that jump last night and the high this morning looks like a bounce.
 
Re: 12/9 Cobb AMPS 561 +2 501 +4 442 ???

Dyana said:
I'd say that jump last night and the high this morning looks like a bounce.

Is a bounce a "good" sign? Meaning the liver is kicking in to produce insulin to get it where it thinks it "should" be?

Sorry for all the questions...
 
Re: 12/9 Cobb AMPS 561 +2 501 +4 442 +6 441

The liver doesn't produce insulin...the pancreas does

Bouncing happens when the blood glucose either goes lower than the liver is "used to", or there's a fast drop in the blood glucose. To survive in the wild, the liver would rush hormones and stored sugar into the bloodstream to bring it back up.

Since the liver doesn't understand that 500 is NOT "normal" anymore, it rushes to "protect" when it's not necessary. Bounces are frustrating, but totally normal and you just have to wait them out.

As Cobb's body gets better regulated, and spends more time in "Normal" numbers, his liver will have to re-learn what normal is.

Understand?

And you never have to apologize for asking questions!! That's how we all learn!!
 
Re: 12/9 Cobb AMPS 561 +2 501 +4 442 +6 441

Yeah. That makes sense.

Would that be a sign the insulin is doing it's job, per we? It's getting the blood sugar low enough to trigger that response? And as he regulates the liver will learn the low numbers are ok and not try to protect itself?
 
Re: 12/9 Cobb AMPS 561 +2 501 +4 442 +6 441

yes, you've understood it correctly. this means that this dose of 4u got him to 235 - fantabulous! his liver reacted to the "scary low" and VOILA - he was at 561 this morning. it can take up to 3 days from the 235 for the bounce to clear, so now you're shifting into a slightly different mode.

there's a longer, more verbose description of a bounce on the second post here. my personal motto: why use 20 words when you can use 200? ;-) :lol:

instead of increasing every 4 shots, let's slow down, wait the 72 hrs and see what happens when his body clears out the liver-action that happened last night. it can clear in less time than that, but it can take the full 72 hrs. great job catching that test! if you hadn't gotten those tests in the middle of the night, we'd have thought he was straight 400's and 500's! well done.

hold this dose for a few days.

you've got several of us watching you - so no worries. keep asking questions and we'll point out what we see so you can learn too.
 
Hi Suzanne,
Put on your "patience pants" and wait out the bounce(s)! You will arrive at Cobb's optimal dose and you will know that you got to his optimal dose safely, because you got there by following the protocol. Even when fast-tracking, it is good to let those "on the way" doses settle a little before making changes.

You are doing an excellent job with Cobb. I'm sure he's feeling better and better now that he is not carrying around that overload of insulin!

Have a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks! I'm being patient. Just excited to be seeing some progress after months of numbers in the 500/600s. Even the low 400s look "good" to me...lol.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top