12/9 Blue AMPS 174-12/10 PMPS 103

Status
Not open for further replies.
Blue is 116 PMPS and I can remember why we were waiting on this but I'll look.

Okay, I looked. What do you guys think?
I think I would skip tonight and tomorrow. You need to be able to make decisions. I would like you to have everything to read tonight. It is just something generic they can email.
 
That's quite a low PMPS, Patty. I think it might be an idea to skip insulin tonight so that you can get a good night's sleep.

@tiffmaxee - What do you think?


Mogs
.
 
They should not need to do any more bloodwork. Patty do you think you could call again and ask for them to email you all possible treatment plans for the type of lymphoma Blue has? I presume it is large cell but should not presume. The treatment plans should include cost. I would want to know that. I would want to know if one gives a better chance of remission. I know none will be a cure. They will give you worst case senario. They always do. Try not to concentrate on that. Ask about the diabetes but tell them if steroids are needed you will control it with Lantus so not to let that determine any decisions.
If it’s large cell I suspect he will get a shot of Elspar I believe.
 
Dr. Whitehead suggested treating and not worrying about what type it is. Now that being said, I have not spoken to the oncologist.
The receptionist I spoke to didn't know much about the treatment plans and everyone is gone but the ER people. She sounded rushed. She said she would email what she could but I'm still waiting. Not holding out hope it's what I need.
 
I find it helpful to make a list of all the questions I can think of before seeing a vet/specialist. Sometimes they're very specific questions, but a lot of the time they're very general when I want to learn more about something I don't know much about. I find that it's very easy to forget or overlook things as the discussion with the vet progresses and meanders. Having the prepared list helps me to bring the discussion back to the points I need to cover off.

I hope they'll send you something that will at least help you to formulate some questions. Having some idea of what to ask about can be half the battle sometimes. Elise's pointers above are very helpful.


Mogs
.
 
I just read a little. It looks like not a lot has changed. Tiffany was on a form of the modified CHOP protocol. It does include prednisolone. She made it through induction which is 6 weeks. The oncologist missed a UTI and she sent her into renal failure and chemo was stopped. Then she was on only prednisolone. I had to bring her in once a week and each time blood tests were run. She was doing great. After the initial 6 weeks the treatments were to be more spread out. That’s about all I can recall.
 
Thank you for that information Elise. I will definitely write down questions as I wait in the car Mogs. Right now I think I'm still in denial and don't want to face the facts. I don't want to know...Maybe tomorrow I can focus and be a grownup.
It makes me a little mad if what you say is true that options are offered with different prices. How can you put a price on your baby.....
 
It seems whenever I have gone to a specialty facility they give you a price breakdown. Honestly I ignore that. I just ask what will give me the best response. They can’t tell you how long you can expect and tend to give worst case of anything so cut them off and ask what gives the best chance of remission and quality of life. I’m not rich but I can’t make decisions based upon money either.
 
Good morning, Patty.

A couple of suggestions about today:

1. Ask Blue Pearl for printouts of Blue's test results thus far for your own records and for a copy of all future results going forward.

2. Is there any possibility of having a video consult with the oncologist?

Sending prayers across the pond for all to go well today.

(((Patty and Blue)))

:bighug::bighug:


Mogs
.
 
That's a great idea....both ideas. Actually, now that I think about it the doctor sent me a letter with an attachment that has clinical and test results. I don't have any of the biopsy results but will ask for that.
Thanks. I was going to start a new thread but no need since I'm not testing him. I did test this morning
though and he's 99!!! OMG 99
 
I did indeed, Patty. I'm glad you skipped last night. Blue was in the normal range at PMPS and you really needed the rest.

Is it cold again there today?


Mogs
.
 
Yes it's 43 now but I think it's getting up to 65 today. They just took Blue back. Dr. Whitehead filled them in already. I feel like crying. I'm having a hard time.
 
I've only just seen this, Patty. Wish I'd replied quicker (was trying to raise the Noodle's BP). :(

The two of you are in our thoughts and prayers all the time. You're not alone with this, OK?

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:


Mogs
.
 
I just made the decision to treat with one chemo every three weeks. The other option is 3 different chemo treatments each week a different one and it's a 6-month commitment. The rate of remission is a little less but not that much. Plus I don't want him to be sick every week. The cost for the 6 months is astronomical and no guarantee. I love my boy so hope I made the right decision for him.
 
I know how very, very much you love Blue. He couldn't wish for a better mom to love and to care for him.

I wish I could add something about the treatments but it's outwith the realm of my experience.

I do know that there are times when we have to weigh up options. For example, Saoirse was a very good little patient with all her insulin and her meds for the pancreatitis. She also had kidney insufficiency. I knew when the time came she'd probably not tolerate receiving home sub-q fluids so I decided way in advance that that was a route I was not willing to take her down. Hard as that decision was to make, I felt it was the right one for her.

I'm sure that you will make decisions that are the right ones for your beloved Bluebird.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:


Mogs
.
 
I just started reading. I hope you can video conference. :bighug: I forgot to remind you to get copies of every test and procedure done. Thsg would have helped my girl.

They came out to my car to explain the two options to treat Blue. I requested copies of the tests run.
He’s getting his first treatment and I'm waiting for him. That is all and I am trying to hold it together.
 
The chemo will not generally make him sick. It’s the disease that does. Ask if you need nausea or pain medication. Ask if B12 will help in anyway. Ask if what he has would cause the diabetes to go into remission.
 
They only give prednisolone if he doesn't have treatment.
Cerenia, visbiome vet probiotic and mirataz which is an appetite stimulant. No pain medicine.
She thinks more than likely I’ll have to adjust the insulin.
I'll ask about remission. Good question.
 
We posted at the same time. If needed we adjust his insulin daily. No issue there and I still think ge might be going into remission.
 
My main vet told me one time that cats typically handle chemo better than humans do.


Mogs
.
It’s very true. The reason is because they don’t try for a cure. The goal is a long remission and if a cure should happen great. It’s the disease that makes cats sick, not the chemo.
 
She doesn't think Blue is or will be in any pain. She didn't think I needed to change anything about the insulin right now. I told her he seems to being doing well but she didn't want him to go off and then have to go back on.
She thought he was in really good shape. Most cat she sees are sick and weigh about 4 pounds. Maybe that will help his outcome.
There is no cure but remission is attainable and that's what I'm hoping for. He needs a CBC in 7 days and then his next treatment is Dec. 31 at 8 a.m.
I elected to not go the aggressive route...it was a different type of chemo every week. I didn't want to put him through all that. I think once every 3 weeks is about all we both could handle. It's one chemo and still has a good remission percentage. She said she'd know if he goes into remission in about 6 weeks.
The other option is a 6 month commitment and mega dollars. My decision really was about his quality of life.
He found a sun puddle and laid there but now I think he went upstairs for a nap.
Oh, I forgot to ask about the B12...
I have a lot of paperwork that I haven't gone through yet. It is overwhelming.
 
The induction period for both types is 6 weeks. I started to see improvement at about 4 weeks but thankfully Blue doesn’t even act sick. It should continue to be that way. The chemo usually doesn’t make them sick. I wouldn’t test again until PMPS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top