12/9 Beau: amps/364, +5/597???

Status
Not open for further replies.

alicia.1771

Member Since 2011
Las post 12/6/11 -- http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=58098

amps - 367
+5 - 597, retest 15min later = 578

What is going on with Beau??? Is it possible he dropped super low and the bounced right back??? I'm very certain I did not give a fur shot this morning (he is shaved on both sides of his body so I can see and feel very clearly where I am shooting).

I'm going to increase his dose to 2.5 tonight since it's the weekend and I can monitor him.

Today is the 28th day of our first Lantus pen so I will be opening a new one tomorrow morning if his numbers are still terrible by then.
 
I wouldn't increase the dose tonight. Here's my reasoning. You made a dose adjustment on 12/7. Beau has been at his current dose for 4 cycles. Further, I'm guessing that he dropped a bit lower than the 205 that you saw last night. Even if he stayed in the low yellows, that represents a 207+ drop from his PMPS. Given the size and speed of the drop, what you saw today was a bounce off of last evening's cycle.

You don't want to increase the dose on a bounce. Even though I really understand your wanting to squish those numbers, increasing on a bounce can put you over dose. I'd wait until the bounce clears and then increase.
 
Ouch is right. :-x It's hard but it's better if you follow Sienne's advice and wait it out. Zener is a bouncy kitty too and we have worn out a whole wardrobe of patience pants.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top