MrZ
Member Since 2013
Hello LL - sending healing vines to all.
Zeke had quite a day yesterday. From an AMPS of 377 to a PM+2.75 of 44 (and another 44 at +5.75). He had me working really hard last night. He'd just earned a reduction (last night was only the 3rd cycle on the reducie). I've made him work hard to earn a reduction (going with the more aggressive "wait until 3 drops below 50") so I guess last night was his payback to me. I took the reduction despite my hesitation that perhaps last night included the impact of a cleared bounce and perhaps also the remnants of the previous higher dose of a shaved 2u. However, since I had to work so hard to get and keep his numbers up, I went with the guidance in this post Reductions and took the reduction (as opposed to sticking with the wait for 3 drops approach). I would have shot through the bounce but unfortunately he wasn't high enough at shot time to (to me) warrant it. Of course, the bounce still came later in the AM cycle.
Here are my feeding questions:
1) Typically, I give Zeke a treat after testing, usually freeze-dried turkey. However, should treats be withheld during the two hour window that you're waiting to see rising numbers (so that you know it's safe to go to bed)? In other words, does giving treats equate to "feeding"?
2) Is there any guidance on feeding to prevent huge drops? Would you give MC or HC early in the cycle if you "anticipate" a huge drop in the cycle? We'd like to minimize Zeke's bounces so are wondering if this contributor (huge drops) can somehow be prevented with food manipulation. I don't believe this would be prudent as you can't really predict what the kitty is gonna do but this is a question my DH had. He's concerned about the effect of bounces on Zeke's body/system/wellbeing. Would appreciate the benefit of advice from as many experienced CGs as possible on this topic as my DH and I have a very different opinion on this.
Thanks,
Laura
Zeke had quite a day yesterday. From an AMPS of 377 to a PM+2.75 of 44 (and another 44 at +5.75). He had me working really hard last night. He'd just earned a reduction (last night was only the 3rd cycle on the reducie). I've made him work hard to earn a reduction (going with the more aggressive "wait until 3 drops below 50") so I guess last night was his payback to me. I took the reduction despite my hesitation that perhaps last night included the impact of a cleared bounce and perhaps also the remnants of the previous higher dose of a shaved 2u. However, since I had to work so hard to get and keep his numbers up, I went with the guidance in this post Reductions and took the reduction (as opposed to sticking with the wait for 3 drops approach). I would have shot through the bounce but unfortunately he wasn't high enough at shot time to (to me) warrant it. Of course, the bounce still came later in the AM cycle.
Here are my feeding questions:
1) Typically, I give Zeke a treat after testing, usually freeze-dried turkey. However, should treats be withheld during the two hour window that you're waiting to see rising numbers (so that you know it's safe to go to bed)? In other words, does giving treats equate to "feeding"?
2) Is there any guidance on feeding to prevent huge drops? Would you give MC or HC early in the cycle if you "anticipate" a huge drop in the cycle? We'd like to minimize Zeke's bounces so are wondering if this contributor (huge drops) can somehow be prevented with food manipulation. I don't believe this would be prudent as you can't really predict what the kitty is gonna do but this is a question my DH had. He's concerned about the effect of bounces on Zeke's body/system/wellbeing. Would appreciate the benefit of advice from as many experienced CGs as possible on this topic as my DH and I have a very different opinion on this.
Thanks,
Laura