12/8 Simon PMPS 97 +2 77 +4 77 +5 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Simon is in the green this morning. I was a little nervous giving him his usual dose this morning but I will check back with him at +6 to see how he is doing. I'll also leave a little food out for him. I have some frozen so he won't eat it all the minute I put it down. Yesterday, he did well in the afternoon with his numbers so I am hoping he has another good day. He seems to be doing great this morning -- all P's in place.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31538
 
Re: 12/8 Simon AMPS 99

Georgia, is +6 the soonest you can check Simon? He appears to have an early nadir, it would be good if you could get a test in around +2 or +3. If not, I would get an out the door test (test right before you leave) to see where he's heading.
 
Re: 12/8 Simon AMPS 99

Oh dear, I have already left home and didn't see your posts about checking before I left. The earliest I can get home is +5. I thought since he was at AMPS 103 yesterday and was 74 at +6, he shouldn't go down too much today. This is all so new to me! Should I be worrying right now?
 
Re: 12/8 Simon AMPS 99 Advice?

Georgia, if you are already gone, I would go check him at +5. Worrying is not helpful, so none of that, ok? You are right, it's very close to what you shot yesterday, but you are not there to monitor and you don't have a lot of data yet. Whenever you shoot a low PS number, we recommend that you get a +1 and +2, that will give you an idea of where Simon is heading.

What is your schedule like? You might consider moving your shot time earlier so you can test up to +3 before you leave the house.
 
Re: 12/8 Simon AMPS 99 Advice?

No I don't think you should worry as cats will usually eat when they go lower than what they are used to going. I have seen mine be acting fine, then get up and start to chow down. I test and sure enough they are a bit lower.

You left the foods so that's fine I think. Simon will eat and stabilize on his own. You are fine to check him at +6 or a bit later so don't worry.

I often test just before heading out to work or somewhere else to see how mine are doing. It's just like the before-bed test... you will know how Simon is doing just before you go to sleep. I do shots at 6am/6pm and if worried, my out to work test at 8am. The bedtime test may be around 9pm or 10pm. You never know with some kitties who like to go lower at nite, so if I test at 10pm and get a low, I will stay up and feed to see if I can bring the number up a bit.

Whenever you have to go out and are a bit worried, just leave lots of fresh water and extra foods. Simon will eat when he feels the need to lift his numbers.
 
Re: 12/8 Simon AMPS 99 Advice?

Just keep in mind that not every cycle is identical. Sometimes numbers run pretty much the same and sometimes not. You have to expect the unexpected. Also, the nadir can change. It's not routinely at +6.

Remember, we are dealing with cats. They hate being predictable!!
 
Re: 12/8 Simon AMPS 99 Advice?

I forgot to add one thing:

If you can't move your shot times to an earlier one, you can always test at +10 of +11 and then when you test at the amps, you will have an idea if Simon is on the rise or dropping still.

I need to do this trick for Oliver because he has a very late nadir, but I don't like to shoot a dropping number.

Sometimes if you know that you have to leave shortly after Simon's shot, try to get a +11 and you will know what direction he was headed before the shot. I sometimes need to leave for work right after shots, so I can't do the +1 and +2. Besides, I seldom see much movement before +3 for mine.

In the beginning, every one of us worried horribly that we would do something wrong or that something horrible would happen while we were out. I can't tell you how many times I would worry myself sick and then rush home and all I got was looks of annoyances for waking them up, and their numbers were just fine. I made myself sick and pissed off the cats. Over time, you will be able to 'read' Simon.
 
Re: 12/8 Simon AMPS 99; +5 67 Advice?

I am at home for a short time. After testing Simon, I have given him a little more food and will re-test again in another 15 minutes before I have to go back to work. Hopefully, the numbers won't drop much more. If they are lower, what should I do? I have to go back to work. I can leave out some HC food for him and hopefully can get my husband to get home sooner than I can to check on him. He looks alert and happy to be eating.
 
Re: 12/8 Simon AMPS 99; +5 67 +5.25 63 +5.5 63

I have to leave to go back to work but Simon's numbers are the same. I have never really tested at +5 so maybe this is is lowest point of the day? I am going to leave him a little more food out and my husband will check on him probaby around +7.5. I wish I could stay home but work calls and I have to be there.
 
Re: 12/8 Simon AMPS 99; +5 67 +5.25 63 +5.5 63

Georgia, those are fine numbers, leave food out for him. If you are worried, you can add a bit of HC in to his regular food, just a tsp or so...no need to leave a lot, ok?
 
Re: 12/8 Simon AMPS 99; +5 67 +5.25 63 +5.5 63

Simon had a teaspoon of HC food before I left to go back to work. My husband just got home at +7.5. He does not feel comfortable trying to test him without me there but he said that Simon is alert and is playing with his favorite toy. I am taking that as a good sign and will be home to get his PMPS. Unfortunately, we will both be out immediately after but only for about 1 1/2 hours.

Do you think if his numbers continue to test in the green today that I should decrease dose tomorrow or wait a few more days?
Thank you for all your great advice -- I definitely am calmer after hearing from you!
 
Re: 12/8 Simon AMPS 99; +5 67 +5.25 63 +5.5 63

Georgia...I have no dosing advice but Simon is looking really good...what a great surf he's had lately. Super job!!!
 
Re: 12/8 Simon AMPS 99; +5 67 +5.25 63 +5.5 63

Simon's PMPS was 97 and I am questioning whether to give him his usual .75 since he has been in the greens so much lately. I won't be home tonight for a few hours so I think I am going to give him .5 and hope that is ok. I'll check at +2 when I get home and again at +4 and see where he is.

Please let me know if I am doing the right thing. I gave him a little HC food earlier today (tsp.) and am feeding him his regular food right now after the PMPS. I'll feed him a little more when I get home and at bedtime.
 
Re: 12/8 Simon AMPS 99; +5 67 +5.25 63 +5.5 63 PMPS 97 Dose?

Simon's numbers are great! If you are worried, you can shoot the 0.5u, but if you will be back by +2, I would shoot the 0.75u and leave some food for him (not HC, just regular) and test when you get back. I didn't want to make you nervous, I just want you to be aware that you should monitor when you shoot these low numbers. Greens are what you want, and his numbers so far are beautiful!
 
Re: 12/8 Simon AMPS 99; +5 67 +5.25 63 +5.5 63 PMPS 97 +2 77

I chickened out and only gave him the .5 instead of .75 tonight. If his numbers are in the greens at the +4 and for the AMPS, do I give him .5 or .75 tomorrow? I will be home for alot of the day tomorrow and will be able to monitor more closely.

I am going to a new vet on Friday with Simon and will be armed with all of his data and how I have been monitoring him. I hope he is impressed and will be more open to home testing and the reduced doses. I can't think of how Simon might have been if I was still shooting him with 4 units. He has been doing so well with the lower dose.
 
Re: 12/8 Simon AMPS 99; +5 67 +5.25 63 +5.5 63 PMPS 97 +2 77

That's fine, Georgia! You have to do what's comfortable for you. As far as dose, his numbers are perfect, I wouldn't reduce unless he goes below 50, then he earns a dose decrease to 0.5u. If he has a lower PS# tomorrow morning and you are not sure what to do, don't feed, post and ask for help...the best way is to put something in your header, like you did earlier, so someone will see it and look at your condo.

Now the +2 77 shows you that he is already dropping from his PS #...it wouldn't hurt to get a +3, because a lower +2 often is an indication of an active cycle. Just because you shot a lower dose, doesn't mean that he won't drop a lot....the shed sometimes "makes up" for the lower dose so the action is similar to shooting the full dose.
 
Re: 12/8 Simon PMPS 97 +2 77 +4 77

He hasn't dropped any since +2 so I am happy with the green numbers. Sorry about not shooting the .75. I was just not sure what to do and I couldn't wait to hear from anyone. I'll go back to .75 in the morning unless his numbers are pretty low. I'll post and wait to feed and shoot.
 
Re: 12/8 Simon PMPS 97 +2 77 +4 77

Please don't be sorry, it's fine....you got some data on how he does with shooting a lower dose, and that's useful. There are no mistakes, just data gathering opportunities! ;-)

Remember, Simon is your cat, you have to be comfortable...you hold the syringe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top