12/8 Ripley PMPS 113, +2 89, +3 82

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday.

Ripley is nibbling on a little food, so I shot 1 u this morning. I wasn't sure how much to dose, and I don't know how much she'll end up eating.
She's acting perkier, but already I can tell appy is low.
She peed (neg. ketones) and poo was small, so she may be backed up.
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146

Morning Josie ~O) ~O) ~O)

it is a nice start today for Ripley. I hope her appy improves. It is nice to read though that she is perky, seems to be felling OK. Lots of appy and be well vines for Ripley.

Have a good day today. I hope all goes well.
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146

Thanks, Michelle! Perky is a good sign.

And so is eating! So far I've been able to get her to eat about 2T food! I gave a crumb of cypro at +.25. But here's the real secret: I have some frozen 'cubes' of original recipe Cowboy Cookout, still Ripley's all-time-favorite food -- I defrosted a cube, watered it down, and poured some on top of her regular food. Licked the CC right off, and was able to 'accidentally' eat some of her reg. fuds as well. I'm so glad I have an emergency stash of that CC, but I don't want to use it all up. I so wish Merrick hadn't changed their formulas.

I may give a little more cypro... G
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146

Very sneaky Josie ;-) :lol:
Glad to hear she is a bit perkier :-D
Come on Miss Rippers, eating will make you feel better :YMHUG:
Sending her good appy vines ♥
Have a great day Josie!!
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146

Hi Josie,
Isn't is frustrating when the companies change a perfectly good food? You were smart to freeze some of that CC. Ripley knows what's good and what is just so-so!

Continuing to send hearty-eating vines to your girl.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146, +3 113

Thanks for stopping by, Pam and Ella.

Ripley just ate about half a T. of food, and I gave her a teensy bit of cypro again.
She got off her rocker when I was getting her test ready, I thought for some attention. But she meowed at my feet then walked a few feet away and peed on the floor.
Poor girl.
Definitely taking her in for tests at the vet tomorrow after work.
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146, +3 113

Oh, poor Ripley :cry: I know when Chyna hasn't pooped for a bit or only a little she stops eating much, I hope that is all that is wrong with the appy. But it will be good for you and her to have a checkup to be sure of what is going on, and maybe a weight off your mind? Vines to Ripley, and Hugs to you both! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146, +2 113, +3 81

Thank you, Rachel :)

I fixed the subject line -- it is now correct w/ the +2 and +3 #s. If she's lower at +4, I'll give her some MC food...
She just ate another half T of bfast :)

Typing on phone -- computer broken. Sorry for typos & short sentences. Using phone to update condo & ss is a little tricky.
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146, +2 113, +3 81

I'm sorry Ripley peed on the floor. I'm glad she is eating some for you. I hope she's still feeling somewhat perky. Sending feel better vines to Ripley and hugs to you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146, +2 113, +3 81, +4 62

Thank you, Carla.

Just fed some MC (HC mixed w/ LC). May actually be heavy on gravy, so perhaps it's FatMC or SkinnyHC ;-)

Good news: went to the LB (with my help) and pooped and peed (tushie was a couple of millimeters just outside LB, but she MEANT to pee inside the LB.
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146, +2 113, +3 81, +4 62, +4.5 58

I'm sorry about the out-of-box pee, but yay for the follow-up pee and poop in the box, and eating - even if you had to pull out the big guns with the cypro and CC. She's still working that juice....keep healing, little one!!!
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146, +2 113, +3 81, +4.5 58, +5 56, +5.

Thanks, Amy :)

She's in a good, drama-free surf.
Safe to run out to get more pee pads (leaving out a little HC, just in case).
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146, +2 113, +3 81, +4.5 58, +5 56, +5.

Hi Josie,
What a smart idea that you froze some Cowboy Cookout!
I am sorry about the poo outside the box, but I'm glad she went (meant to go) in the box afterwards.
I hope cypro kicks in and her appetite improves soon.
Nice surf though.
It was a good call to skip last night's shot!
Sending more vines to Ripley.....
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146, +3 81, +5 56, +7 61, +9.5 68, dose

Thank you, Mariko :)

Today so far:
AMPS: 143 (reduced to 1.0u; no appy, gave cypro)
+2: 113 (another crumb of cypro, ate a little)
+3: 81 (ate total of 3T by +3.5)
+4: 62 (fed MC)
+4.5: 58 (fed HC)
+5: 56 (fed HC)
+5.5: 61
+7: 61
+9.5: 68 (fed AB dose w/squash bf)

I'm not sure what to dose tonight. I'm thinking of skipping tomorrow am if I similarities in patterns by then (don't want to have to worry about dropping while I'm at work). But tonight, maybe 1.0u again?
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146, +3 81, +5 56, +7 61, +9.5 68, dose

I know how you feel Josie..China's not been eating well either lately so I lowered her dose just a bit too

Yes, I think I'd go ahead with the 1 unit tonight since Ripley is eating a little better, and then just wait and see where you are in the AM before deciding what to do

Hope whatever is going on with Ripley gets worked out soon!
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146, +3 81, +5 56, +7 61, +9.5 68, dose

glad she's eating a little bit better. she sounds like such a sweetheart.

i'd decide on dose tonight based upon whether or not she's eating (ie, will you be able to bring her up later if you need to) and what the preshot number is. if she's still in the 60's, with the iffy appy, i might go conservative with it - significantly reduce or even skip. if she's in her normal 140's and her appy is good, then the 1.0 makes sense. i think you are so in tune with her you'll have a good gut sense about what direction to go, josie.
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146, +3 81, +5 56, +7 61, +9.5 68

Chris, thank you. I'm sorry to hear China's not eating well. It's such a helpless feeling. I'm sending her many eating vines.

Thank you, Julie. I appreciate the dosing advice for tonight. There are so many factors, plus I'm so IN it, it's good to hear your perspective. We'll see where she's at in a couple of hours.
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146, +3 81, +5 56, +7 61, +9.5 68

it's true, when you're in the middle of it and emotionally invested, sometimes it's so hard to figure out what to do. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley AMPS 146, +3 81, +5 56, +7 61, +9.5 68

Sending lots of appy vines to Ripley and feel good vines as well. Good for her for trying to do her duties in the lb. She's just had such a time of things lately, it would sure be nice if everything would smarten up and let her be happy squawky Ripples. Very clever to freeze the original recipe. You must be a highly organized person :-D Good luck with her morning dose. You will do the exact right thing..you always do! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley PMPS 113

Thanks, Kim, you're so sweet :)

I ended shooting a dose of .75 tonight. Ripley ate about 1T of food so far. (I usually use 2.25oz of food & add 4T water, plus .5T pumpkin or squash bf, to give an idea of how much a dent 1T is.)
I drew up 1.0 u, but it didn't feel right with her wonderful/but very-close-to-100 preshot #.
I'm not following the TR protocol by shooting less than 1.0, but I want her to have a safe night. I'll re-evaluate things tomorrow am, and will either shoot a token dose or skip, as I won't be able to check on her until +9.

She spent the afternoon resting on her rocking chair. She seemed generally more alert today than yesterday, but she gets tired very easily (ie, when walking to/from the LB). I've been trying to carry her to and from the LB as needed. I noticed that when I tented her skin (flank) for her insulin shot tonight, she meowed and jumped a little. Could be kidney pain, p'titis flare, or arthritis acting up. Wish I knew. Still drinking lots of water, so might be kidney issues :(
(Water intake = 1/2 to 3/4 cups every 12 hrs. Way too much.)

I'm sending vines and hugs to all in need tonight, including to my little girl.
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley PMPS 113

Safety first...you know your girl, and you have a perfect gut instinct about her needs. I'm glad she's feeling perkier...keep taking those kitten steps, sweet Ripley!!
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley PMPS 113

Josie, don't you wish so much they could just tell you whats bothering them :sad: :sad:
Poor Miss Rippers :YMHUG: I'm glad she seemed more alert today, now we just have to get her feeling back to her happy squawky self ;-)
I hope you find something out at the vet tomorrow.
Lots of :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: for you and Ripley ♥♥
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley PMPS 113

Sometimes you just have to throw the "rulebook" out the window and do what your heart tells you to do

Our kitties throw the rulebook out all the time..tonight was your turn :-D

Feel better soon Ripley!
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley PMPS 113, +2 89

Thanks Amy, Pam, and Chris :YMHUG:
You made me laugh, Chris -- what a great viewpoint. My turn to throw the rules out!

Ripley is eating pretty well tonight. Thank you, cypro!
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley PMPS 113, +2 89

Sending endless vines to Ripley and hugs to you, Josie.

I'm glad your gut told you what to dose.
Your are so in tune with Ripley and you are an intuitive person, and the gut feeling is almost always right.
Way more so than the answer you reach after too much thinking and calculation.
The hard part is to notice what your gut is telling you, but you are so good at it.

I know how hard this is for you, your baby not eating and not feeling good. :YMHUG:
I'm holding a positive image of happy and squawky Ripley.
 
Re: 12/8 Ripley PMPS 113, +2 89

Glad to hear that she's eating a bit better tonight, but still sending mega feel-better vines for Ripley! Hope you get some answers tomorrow at the vet's. Big hugs for you! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top