12/8 Ripley AMPS 130, +7 69, reduction?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Ripley's day:

AMPS 130
+3 122
+6 73
+7 69 (nadir)
+8 76

Her numbers have been pretty consistent lately. I'd like to try to go from .75u to .5u.
Does this seem about right?

~Josie
 
I would wait until she gets a test below 50. Are you using the TR protocol?

I see you're from Sacremento. I just got back from visiting my Dad in Stockton.

I think you're using the ReliOn Prime is that right? The meters are tending to test lower it seems, from what I've seen on the board so far. Can you get some testing done tonight? Like a before bed tonight and a test around nadir or +6 would be good.

I hope you had a good Caturday today.
 
Hi, Dyana, thank you for replying.
I'm following TR -- just second-guessing myself :?
Also, I've read about others' meter comparisons, and it does look like the Prime generally reads lower, but still within an approved range. I've been meaning to buy a back-up meter anyway, so maybe I'll soon start to compare, too. (Or maybe it'll just confuse me even more!)

PS: My grandmother lived in Stockton, so I'm pretty familiar w/it. Hope you had a good visit!
 
Yes, it's always nice to see my family and California where I grew up. I grew up near Mt. Diablo in Walnut Creek.

You might confuse yourself if you trying doing comparisons, but if you get a back up meter which everyone should have, it would be good to do a few comparisons just to see the differences just so you know should you ever have to use it.

Sticking with one meter for the most part is best, as you will see her trends more clearly.

She is looking good.
 
Can you get some testing done tonight? She could earn her reduction at night time as that is when cats (and humans) tend to go lowest.
 
Yes, tonight's good for testing (not a "school night" so tests are def. in order!).
Thanks for letting me know about nighttime numbers being possibly lower than daytime -- my New Info for the Day!

Also, I will stick with one meter for regular testing -- but will also get a second one for emergencies (hope for the best, prepare for the, um, not-best, right?)
 
Josie:

It's entirely possible that Ripley has numbers that are low enough to warrant a reduction. You really need to be getting tests during the PM cycle, though. Many of us work and can't get tests during the day. If that's the case, you really need to get the testing done at night so you can be confident that you're not missing reductions. Right now, even if we were looking at a week at this dose, Ripley's pre-shot values aren't typically in a normal range. They still need to come down a bit.

Will it be possible for you to start getting at the minimum, a before bed test every night?
 
Yes, like always have about 100 test strips and always have a few cans of HC, and all that. Okay, I'm a little eccentric, but plenty of test strips and some HC is always good to have.

Hope your evening tests go well tonight. Give her some nice treats or extra pettings for putting up with all the tests.
 
Hi, Sienne!

Yes, I will definitely add more PM tests to my sugarcat schedule. My before-bed tests will likely be at +2.5 or +3, due to the fact that I tend to go to bed early (not a night-owl; more of an early-bird). But on Fridays/Saturdays, I can work in some later tests as well.

Thank you for responding! I appreciate the help!

And I won't lower her dose quite yet... I think I'm anxious to get to the falls. But I guess I have to wait until the falls come to us ;-)

And, Dyana, my "extras box" does include extra test strips, extra foods of all sorts of carb ranges/gravies/etc, and most importantly, extra chocolate :-D
 
Getting a +2 or a +3 can provide good information. The only cautionary observation I'd make is that if you're seeing numbers that are much lower than your PMPS at +2, you may need to set an alarm and get up for a "sleep" test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top