12/8 Noodle AMPS 272 +3.5 313 Wonder why the rise?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christianna

Member Since 2014
Got good advice on the forum and thank you, everyone :smile: Noodle is inching down but we still have quite a ways to go. Does anyone know, does insulin make kitty more hungry? Can't seem to fill Noodle up these days but I suspect it's because his dose is still low. At least he's not losing weight :smile: Hope every kitty and their bean is doing well today.

Christi
 
Re: 12/8 Noodle AMPS 272

christi
imho i would suspect that the hungar is from not being able to efficiently utilize the food energy because insulin cycle still isn't working up to par yet. it's good that he's eating though with being prone to dka and 272 is good. it's coming down.
 
Re: 12/8 Noodle AMPS 272

Thanks so much, Nadine. I'm sure you are right :smile: Odd thing is, when I tested Noodle at +3.5 he is 313. Maybe that's a food spike, as he is eating constantly. How is sweet Tibbsy? Thanks so much for your response :smile:

Christi
 
Re: 12/8 Noodle AMPS 272

hi Christi,

Jill asked me to take a look here because I have experience with some of the things you're dealing with. DKA, cats needing a higher than usual dose, and cats that absolutely cannot get enough to eat. I know how frustrating it can be when you see most people giving a small dose, yet you can't even find a dose that will work.

When you say you can't fill Noodle up, about how much food are you giving? Just curious. And I know you said he is gaining back the weight he lost during DKA, but was he gaining weight before that too?

Looking at your spreadsheet, it looks like you have tried doses from 0.5u up to 3.5u and so far haven't seen any movement. I would say you haven't reached Noodle's good dose yet. You already tried dropping back, and that didn't work, right? And he still throws ketones frequently, which means his insulin is not sufficient for his needs at this time.

Lucy was a cat who just needed a bit more insulin than a lot of cats. Her breakthrough dose was 4.25 units BID. Other than her initial DKA, there was not a thing wrong with her. I remember being very frustrated, though. One of the odd things about Lantus and Levemir is that you expect a cat receiving insulin to have their numbers go down. If you need the numbers to go down more, you give more insulin. With the L's, what we usually see instead is a whole lot of nothing. You increase the dose, again and again, and the numbers don't change. Then one day all of a sudden wham, they're green! So hang in there, there will be a good dose for Noodle but I think you're not there yet.

There are a variety of reasons why cats can need higher doses, and I'm not ready to draw any conclusions about Noodle yet. Lucy just did, who knows why. There could be resistance from the infections, from DKA, from glucose toxicity that has built up over time and will require a higher dose to break through. You mentioned needing a dental and that could definitely contribute. There are also high dose conditions like acromegaly that can cause a need for a higher dose. Usually we don't start worrying much about those until the cat's dose is higher than this, so I don't think you need to worry about it much at this point, but it is a possibility.

I read the game plan you and Jill discussed last night, and I agree with it. If you can start getting a few night spot checks, you might be able to safely increase the dose a bit more aggressively to get Noodle to a breakthrough sooner. Who knows, that dose might be just around the corner. When Lucy was at 4 units, I remember thinking we would never get there. One more dose increase and all of a sudden she was hitting green like nobody's business. Jazzy had acromegaly and I had to wait longer for her to "snap" to good numbers, but eventually she did too.

I know you are not doing Tight Regulation, but my post in the TR forum might give you some ideas for how to squeeze in a few extra tests: STICKY: CAN I DO TR WITH A FULL TIME JOB? YES!

I hope there is something in this long post that you find helpful. What are your thoughts?
 
Re: 12/8 Noodle AMPS 272

Hi Libby and Lucy,
Oh, I am so much more encouraged after reading your post! Now I feel as if there might be hope. As you mentioned, I have tried all kinds of things with Noodle, and many of his problems came from bad VET advice! The plan Jill mentioned and you endorsed seems like the only one that might work for Noodle so I am jumping in with both feet. I guess I have read enough comments about 4 units being a huge dose that I was becoming discouraged. I know now that ECID and that Noodle has had/does have some conditions that maybe other luckier kitties don't have. The fact that Lucy "got lucky" at 4.25 U is encouraging to me too :smile: It has been very frustrating to me to have the Ls just sit there and sit there and really do nothing but I will keep increasing safely and do more spot checks to get a clue. One confusing thing to me is that Noodle seems to go UP instead of down at +3 to +4. I wonder if Levemir's onset is later than that time frame, at least for him.
When Noodle was diagnosed he weighed 11.2 pounds, down from his usual 12 1/2 pounds. He had DKA, pancreatitis and hepatic lipidosis, plus chronic IBD and then the diabetes. In the aftermath of all that he dropped to 10 pounds. After a month of intensive home nursing (after his hospitalization) he began to slowly gain the weight back and was nearly at optimum weight when he was at the 3.5U dose of Lantus. But then he got a series of infections and the nearly disastrous vet advice to lower his dose. Then shortly following, the DKA. After the DKA episode 2 weeks ago he was back down to 10.4 lbs. When I mentioned to the vet that he was nearly back up to his pre-illness weight, she said that was good, far better than him losing weight and that meant that his body was at least starting to use some of the food. He is currently eating about 12-14 ounces of canned a day.
I have high hopes that the upcoming dental will help at least a little. When Noodle was at the vet last week, she said that the lymph nodes that the teeth drain into were a tiny bit swollen so she suspects she might find some things that need attention in his mouth. I am so anxious to cross off that box plus of course to make Noodle more comfortable in the process.
I am going right now to read the sticky you mentioned--thank you for that. I can't tell you how much I appreciate your taking the time to advise me and also to Jill for sending you my way. I am going to follow the plan, test more and post more and pray for a breakthrough. Thanks again, so much!

Christi
 
Re: 12/8 Noodle AMPS 272 +3.5 313 Wonder why the rise

Our main treating vet has a diabetic kitty himself. He said that when she had her dental work done it did wonders for her regulation, and they have had similar results for other patients. Fingers and paws crossed that the dental will help Noodle, too.
 
Re: 12/8 Noodle AMPS 272 +3.5 313 Wonder why the rise

yes Christi..
those swollen nodes could be a sign of infection and that would certainly raise bg so i am so hoping that you will hit that break through dose soon. can't wait to see what Noodle does after his dental. sending prayers and positive energy for you and Noodle.
xoxoxoxox
 
Re: 12/8 Noodle AMPS 272 +3.5 313 Wonder why the rise

i'm glad libby was able to stop by today. thanks, libby!
One confusing thing to me is that Noodle seems to go UP instead of down at +3 to +4. I wonder if Levemir's onset is later than that time frame, at least for him.
that's not unusual. Levemir *usually* doesn't have an onset until around +4 (although, ECID). that means until kitty is at a good dose, you'll often see BG numbers rise until +4 or in some cases, +5. the rising numbers are the effects of the prior shot wearing off... before the "new" shot (shot you gave 4 or 5 hours ago) kicks in.

relax, ok? what you're seeing is normal at the stage noodle is at right now. noodle's numbers will flatten out the closer he gets to a good dose.
he'll get there...




ETA:
had to come back to add...


too much insulin can manifest itself as an inverted curve.
not enough insulin can manifest itself as an inverted curve.
it's our job to figure out which it is by taking ALL data/information into account...
we were lucky you're testing for ketones. the fact that ketones were beginning to develop was a huge clue in this case because we know ketones will only develop when there's an inadequate supply of insulin on board.

every bit of info helps...
 
Re: 12/8 Noodle AMPS 272 +3.5 313 Wonder why the rise

Thanks so much, Aine. Hearing of your vet's experience with the dental on his own diabetic cat really encourages me that it will help Noodle. I just wish it could be done NOW instead of next week. :? And how is sweet Saoirse?

Christi
 
Re: 12/8 Noodle AMPS 272 +3.5 313 Wonder why the rise

Thanks so much, Nadine. You are always there being a cheerleader for Noodle and soothing my hysteria and I appreciate it, and you!

Christi
 
Re: 12/8 Noodle AMPS 272 +3.5 313 Wonder why the rise

Hi Jill,
Thanks so much for explaining the likely reason for the rise at +3 or +4. I still haven't quite got the hang of the time frame between when one shot is wearing off and the other one is starting to kick in. But I'm beginning to get it... :?
What REALLY helped me was your explanation about how an inverted curve can be caused by either too much or not enough insulin. That's the dilemma I've been confused by throughout Noodle's whole ordeal. So, if I understand it, ketones can ONLY develop when there's not ENOUGH insulin, never when there's too much? Makes me wonder how the heck our FORMER vet concluded that the thing to do was a dose reduction trial on Noodle!!! Especially when I told her that he was starting to throw ketones and she told me not to worry about it. YIKES! If I hadn't read so much here on the forum, I might not have even been testing for ketones. I am amazed by how many vets don't even mention ketones, much less emphasize testing for them. I think I've found every diabetes-ignorant vet in the tri-county area :sad:
Thank you so very much for your continuing advice and encouragement. You and the other helpful forum members will help get Noodle well in SPITE of the vets!

Christi
 
Re: 12/8 Noodle AMPS 272 +3.5 313 Wonder why the rise

It's not just kitties that get vet stress, Christi. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top