12/8 Mowgli AMPS 86 +9 124 +11.5~166 Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mowgli and Keri

Member Since 2010
Alrighty..
soooooo technically his shot is to be in about ten minutes..
Should I feed him see if his number comes up?
Should I wait and retest (although he has been surfing these numbers pretty much all night)
Feed and not shoot?

Mowgli has to keep this interesting right?

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31539&start=50
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +11.75~68---QUESTION!??

Do not feed him. Retest in 15 minutes and see where he is going. Will you be there today to monitor him? Yes, they do keep this interesting. See you in 15 minutes.
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +11.75~68---QUESTION!??

You won't be home to monitor today, correct? How long until you leave?

Wow, nice surf for Mowgli! Did he eat when you got the 58 @ +7.5?
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +11.75~68+12~74---QUESTION!??

Will not be at home to monitor today, sadly once again I have to go to work.
He didn't eat at the +7.5 I gave some gravy(not much at all really an on the roof of his mouth) and then i slept through two alarms :sad:
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +11.75~68+12~74---QUESTION!??

I would keep stalling, don't feed yet, re test in 15 minutes. He's starting to come up a bit, that's good.

We all have to sleep Keri! I was just wondering because I know he isn't eating well...good that you got something into him.
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +11.75~68+12~74---QUESTION!??

Keri I am not comfortable telling you to shoot this number. What time will you be home. Looking at your SS I see you shot .75 the last few days and he did not rise too much. Can you test again in 15 minutes? See you then.
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +11.75~68+12~74---QUESTION!??

no, no i was feeling bad myself for sleeping through the two alarms...i wanted to get a couple more numbers just to see what was what..
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +11.75~68+12~74+12.25~76---QUESTION!??

Not what I would consider rising numbers. Almost the same. See you in a few minutes.
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +11.75~68+12~74+12.25~76---QUESTION!??

Ok, keep stalling and testing. You know the drill, right? ;-)

Barbara, just FYI...Mowgli has a history of ketones.
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +11.75~68+12~74+12.25~76---QUESTION!??

Ya but, when do i try to feed him?
considering he is the only one (of course) not running to the food bowls each time i walk down the hall...
I would like some time to try and feed him and maybe test before heading out..
obviously i don't feel comfortable shooting anything at these numbers...
le sigh

P.s "trace" ketones noted only twice at the beginning of his sugardancing..
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +11.75~68+12~74+12.25~76---QUESTION!??

I know he does not want to eat and the last am shots of .75 have not given much of a bounce. I would retest and see if he is rising. Hang in there.
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +12~74+12.25~76+12.5~81+12.75~79---QUESTION!

gonna try and feed him now, i just got your response laurie..so his +12.75 was without food
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +12~74+12.25~76+12.5~81+12.75~79---QUESTION!

so i am at my witts end..i have to leave in ten minutes or so...
and he won't eat...force feed?
should i try and get an appointment at the vet today?

i am just not keen on him getting any kind of appetite stimulant..
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +12~74+12.25~76+12.5~81+12.75~79

I would try to give him what worked last night...tuna with gravy, wasn't it? The point is to get some food into him, not worrying about what his BG will do...within reason, of course! If you have to assist feed, yes.

Yes on seeing the vet...if he needs an appetite stimulant, I would do that...not eating is a BIG problem if it continues, especially with a history of ketones.
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +12~74+12.25~76+12.5~81+12.75~79+13~76

okay well he is eatting the tuna with gravy again....
he will EAT, i am just wondering if he is THAT picky?? right now?
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +12~74+12.25~76+12.5~81+12.75~79+13~76

I would get Mowgli checked out. Has he always been a picky eater or is this a change? It's quite possible that now that Mowgli's BG is in a better range, his appetite is reduced.

What have you tried to get him to eat? If you've not tried it, see if you can pick up a few packets of FortiFlora from your vet. It's a probiotic. My vet refers to it as "kitty crack." If this works, you can order it online -- it's not a prescription.

There are a lot of other appetite enticements but rather than running through the list, it's easier to know what you've tried.
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +12~74+12.25~76+12.5~81+12.75~79+13~76

NO before he was on insulin he would eat anything and everything! He is who I call my indoor dog!
I have tried
chicken dust/liver dust (worked for awhile)
i have tried parmasan cheese (worked for awhile)
i have tried 6 different foods..generally works the first feeding then not so much..
He likes temptations but i know those are slow acting and not the first resort.
he will eat human tuna but i know thats not ideal.
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli +12~74+12.25~76+12.5~81+12.75~79+13~76

so maybe he had changed his appetite, maybe this is normal, cause my one civvie is sleeping through breakfast..
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli+12.25~76+12.5~81+12.75~79+13~76+13.25~85

How much did he eat, a decent amount? I would give him a BCS shot, maybe 0.25u or 0.5u...what do you think?
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli+12.25~76+12.5~81+12.75~79+13~76+13.25~85

Yes, if you are comfortable with 0.25u, that's fine. I would give him something more to eat too...leave food out, maybe give him some temptations if he will eat that.

I would call the vet too...get him checked out like Sienne said, and get some fortiflora.
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli+12.25~76+12.5~81+12.75~79+13~76+13.25~85

You can try the liquid from human tuna. All the smell and none of the fish!!

One thing that Gabby adores are the allergy formula of Pill Pockets. They don't contain any corn syrup so are FD friendly. They are duck and pea so are OK for allergy prone cats and are very smelly. If she's being fussy, I break one into her food.

If Mowgli likes people food, some cooked chicken breast may be an option. Many cats are very fond of rotisserie chicken.

Warming his food may help -- the smellier the better.
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli+12.25~76+12.5~81+12.75~79+13~76+13.25~85

I have cooked chicken for him, he was liking it for awhile, now ~meh~
The tuna juice is great, he licks it off everything....
have tried warming his food too....

I am about to kick off my shoes lay on the "psych" couch and pour my heart out....so please do not say you haven't been warned...
I just don't know where else to vent..
So I am 35, I live alone roughly 45 minutes away from the city i work in and all my friends live in.. (that is one way)
So in essence, my day now consists of...
Going to work, and getting home in time for Mowgli..NO time to socialize after work...
My friends are being harsh...Calling me a "freak" a "loser" and telling me that if Mowgli died from a hypo maybe that would be for the best and that isn't the worst way an animal can go.. (yes, i question just what kind of "friends" these people actually are) I mean c'mon people it is diabetes, it is NOT a death sentence!
I feel very alone, and now I am....My friends never have come out to visit me (too far you know, is in the country, too many animals on the roads etc etc) My only socialization always made sense that it would occur after work..
I have now been late for work, more than ever in my life.... i don't sleep very well if at all at night.....I now have to refuse some shifts with my p/t job because they interfere with Mowglis schedule.
I wish there was a medium...something that will work for both mowg and i...
I just cannot turn a blind eye to mowglis health, and i cannot be ignorant to his needs...in the same respect, am I neglecting my own life and now living for mowgli only?
~sigh~
i wish i lived in the city..and that is my goal, if i lived in the city this wouldn't be that much of an issue...would be barely an issue at all...but as my one friend says, BUT YOU DON'T LIVE IN THE CITY right now....
anyway....i dunno....i guess i am just feeling very.....down......
shitty morning......sorry for sharing too much...
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli AMPS 86

PS when i left, i did leave extra food out...always do.....
but i also gave him 10 temptaions which he gobbled up..
i love my critters my fluffers and my droolers
(my mental note, shot given at 740 this AM)
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli AMPS 86

things will get better....your frustration is his lack of appetite...as if he was eating he would be more stable with his BG i think...i'm not an expert...
it's ok to vent...we all have our issues...and yes i do understand when people say about animals....when Rocket was first dx with CRF i dropped out of one course i was taking as i wanted to give him all my attention to get him stabilized...only to be told by one guy in my class to put him down...i turned around and said "do your kids ever get sick?" when he said yes...i said "they i suggest you put them down".....the look he gave me....

no worries about venting....we are here to hear ya!
IMHO, Mowgli needs to see the vet...they need to get to the bottom of his lack of appetite....because he is not eating he is not regulated...once he is on track it will get better...for you and for him...

is he drooling? cause if he is drooling could mean either a bad tooth or tummy problems...

i find that the less you tell other people about your pets the better it is...as people really don't get it...so it's good to find a support group (HERE) that will let you vent and will totally understand your devotion for your fur-kids....yes it is tough in the beginning but it will get better...

you are doing a good job and you are a good mom to them...don't doubt that...
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli AMPS 86

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Keri. I know that particularly the last several days have been very hard with Mowgli, it will not always be that way. His insulin needs appear to have decreased drastically since the infection/inflamation is clearing up, so the dose needs to be adjusted downward, and that can be very stressful! You have gotten little sleep, and you've been a very devoted bean to Mowgli!

I'm sorry that your friends are not understanding about Mowgli, honestly I've gotten some of the same sort of reaction from people, and I bet many others here will say the same thing! I dismiss those people's comments, because I know that they don't understand, and they never will...their views on pets are much different than mine. I just don't talk about it with those people.

I know it can be tough to work social time in, particularly because you work so much...but you need to do that too! I think you need to take an evening and go out with your friends....shoot a reduced dose if you need to do that for your comfort level, and get out of the house. Take a break...you've earned it and you deserve it! You are right, you need a happy medium!

I already told you what I thought about the vet, so...yes, take him.

It's ok to vent, Keri, we understand...hang in there, ok?
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli AMPS 86

Thank you all for the kind words of support...
I have another message into Doug, and I have an appointment for this evening at 540...
should i bring along mowglis insulin and BGmeter incase the appointment runs late?
Already behind on schedule for his dose, would rather try to get him back to normal time or closer to than later...

RE: "friends"
I use the comments referencing their kids too, and they just simply give the "its not the same"
or i proceede with, I don't tell you or judge you on how you take care of your pets, and I am asking you merely to support my decisions, not do them for me...
I try to explain to them, (my close most judgemental friends, because as they put it "they care about me") that he is not always going to be this much of a commitment..I am working on finding a dose for him, and that involves monitoring..but as you all know..they don't get it..no matter how much i can explain what the process is, and why...

I plan on taking a break Friday, heading to the mountains for the day to snowboard, clear my mind and just ride the snow...but i will be back in time for mowgli....lol

my big issue...where i live......
is why it was easier to stay in the city after work, catch up with friends (since i was already in the city) instead of drive home an hour..get home, do chores, drive back to the city (an hour) not to mention the inbetween getting ready time..by then you know how it works, oh then my friends are unavailable because they have to deal with their responsibilies...
for instance...say i go to the city for the day catch a movie and dinner.. WAIT NO, I CAN'T do that....if i lived in the city, sure..see a movie, swing by the house give mowgli his insulin, head out to dinner...
not so in the boondocks....see a matinee, go home....
anyway, i am not trying throw my own pity party, so i hope it doesn't sound that way...
big point just clued in....i have always been the flexible one, working around my friends "life schedules" now I have a life schedule and I AM too difficult? ~~hmmmmm~~
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli AMPS 86

Mowgli and Keri said:
should i bring along mowglis insulin and BGmeter incase the appointment runs late?
Already behind on schedule for his dose, would rather try to get him back to normal time or closer to than later...
Yes, I would do that, just in case....good thinking ahead, Keri! Will you have time to check in on the board before you give the shot though? If not, here's what I'm thinking...

You want to decrease at least to 1.5u, but depending on his PS #, you might want to shoot a further reduced dose tonight to let his shed drain, AND so you can get some sleep. You NEED to sleep tonight, Keri..you are too tired and stressed, and you need the sleep. You've been working very hard to do all the right things for Mowgli, but you need to take care of YOU so that you can take care of Mowgli, KWIM? It will not hurt him to reduce, in fact, it may be exactly what he needs too.

I would check back before you go to the vet, give us a spot check if you can, see what others have to say...

Mowgli and Keri said:
I plan on taking a break Friday, heading to the mountains for the day to snowboard, clear my mind and just ride the snow...but i will be back in time for mowgli....lol
Great idea! :thumbup

Mowgli and Keri said:
anyway, i am not trying throw my own pity party, so i hope it doesn't sound that way...
big point just clued in....i have always been the flexible one, working around my friends "life schedules" now I have a life schedule and I AM too difficult? ~~hmmmmm~~
Nope, not a pity party, a vent, and perfectly fine. Very good that you realize that you have the right to expect some flexibility from your friends too....you should not always be the one making the sacrifices, right? I would stop trying to explain to them about Mowgli, just change the subject...it's not worth the effort, IMO.
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli AMPS 86

(((Keri)))....we are here for you to vent...we are not only a message board but a support group and WE are the only ones who understand what it takes to
take care of our sugarbabies. I think many of us feel the same way as you do...esp "newly diagnosed". I was just telling Michelle the other day that we have to figure out a way to get some balance back in our lives; my workout regimen has gone down the drain since Gracie was dxd. I either am busy monitoring her or I'm so tired that the last thing I feel like doing is jumping rope or lifting weights!!! We do try to go out to dinner occasionally still and to see friends but even when we do that, we are taking turns running back to the house at +1, +2, +3 to feed and/or test. But when I get down about it, I look at my Gracie's sweet face and I love her so much just like you do Mowgli, that I will do anything for her to get better even if "better" just means regulated where I can shoot a consistent dose and know she won't hypo on me. So we hear you and we understand and you are NOT having a pity party. My gosh....you are doing this ALONE and Mike and I have often talked about how very hard it must be for you and Celi and others who are doing it alone with no respite and no relief. You are a trooper and you love your Mowgli...and he's done so much better. And I agree with the others...to me, there's nothing more stressful than a cat that won't eat. So maybe if you get that resolved, it will put a new light on things because that is a huge stress issue esp with a sugarbaby. Hang in there..we are here for you. You know Anne always had a devil of a time getting Muffin to eat...what a battle and still is to some degree. But she got her OTJ!!!
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli AMPS 86

mmmkay,
all the support and love i am getting from you guys is making me teary...alot...and i don't cry...so stop it @-)
thank you so much, i don't even have words for how much all your support means to me!

i spoke with Doug, he thinks it would be a good idea to bring mowgli in this evening..just to take a look and see whats going on...as he thinks it would be a bit weird with five or so days left of his AB to all of a sudden be affected by the AB.
I should have time to get Mowglis BG when i get home, before I head out the door...

thank you all again...
:YMHUG:
P.S next to scully, mowgli is my lap cat, even at night he sleeps on me, or tucked inbetween my legs or side..depending how i sleep he works his way in, sometimes even under the covers, is funny how he gets under there...i call him the "abyss" sometimes cause when he is under he likes to worm his way around with his face pressed tightly to the blanket...goofball
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli AMPS 86

mowgli is my lap cat, even at night he sleeps on me, or tucked inbetween my legs or side..depending how i sleep he works his way in, sometimes even under the covers, is funny how he gets under there...i call him the "abyss" sometimes cause when he is under he likes to worm his way around with his face pressed tightly to the blanket...goofball

See...so worth it for that kind of love. Get out and get snowboarding as soon as you can and let us know what Doug says.
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli AMPS 86 +9 124

Keri is your appointment still for 540? Would you like a Starbucks? I have to go out to get a prescription for my son and the vets is only 5 minutes away . I could pop in if you like.
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli AMPS 86 +9 124

HI,
So, I am home, and Mowgli is at the vet :sad: But the good news is Dr.Doug is confident that his lack of appetite is his teeth..
He said they appear to be even more sensitive than when i was in last time. Also the fact that mowgli goes to his food, smells his food, wants his food but doesn't eat....would indicate the mouth..
His blood was good, infact he said his liver appears healthier than when his blood was last ran...
So,
My baby boy is to have his dental tomorrow...
I can pick him up tomorrow after work...
So i will be sure to keep you all posted as soon as i know anything..
Dr.Doug is confident with the numbers mowgli has been getting, and was on the same page as us...Why prolong his regulation, get the mouth taken care of, and have an easier time to regulate his FD...eatting is a bigger issue right now..Can lead to worse things..



Barb, THANK YOU SO MUCH for the coffee, dinner and visits! It is so nice to have "forum support" and real friends! Was a nice surprise and made me finish my crappy day with a smile... :-D

Also...his +11.5 was taken at the vet..
 
Re: 12/8 Mowgli AMPS 86 +9 124

((((Keri))) Sorry your friends aren't more supportive.

Why are you avoiding appetite stimulants. In a cat without nausea, that has a bit of appetite on their own - they can be good.

Vets often prescribe way way way too high of an amount though. Like Cypro - 1/8th of a tablet is often enough for a lot of cats. Too much can cause bad side effects like yeowling and restlessness. If there is some nausea an appetite stimulant on top of nausea can cause food aversion. Signs of nausea in a cat include showing interest in food (Maverick raced me to the food bowl) but just licking or sniffing and walking away.

Good luck at the vets tonight.
 
Oh Keri, I'm so happy to see an update, and glad that Doug thinks the issue is his teeth, not something worse! I'm sorry that Mowgli is staying at the vet's tonight, but at least he is getting the dental out of the way, that will be good!

Now, I'm heading to bed, and please do the same....get a good night's sleep! I know I need it, and you need it more!

That's not a bad +11.5 for being at the vet's office!
 
hey, Keri-Bear...
hope you are in bed...

I am hereby removing the phrase "your support is making me teary-eyed here, so stop it" from your vocabulary.

this one will NOT be reinstated.

if we want to be supportive and care for you and the Mowgli-man...by god, we will!

hang in there, kiddo...and we'll hang in there with you...

Officer Celi of the Vocabulary Police and the little grey Kibble Gobbler

perhaps the folks who think what we do for our furkids is crazy have never experienced unconditional love...
 
This place is pretty darn amazing, isn't it? Just when you're feeling isolated and alone, Barb shows up with coffee! And it's real coffee, not virtual coffee. It made me smile, as well.

I do understand your situation. I live in the city. I live in the middle of the city -- a really big city. I have a handful of friends who are cat owners who do understand my level of commitment to Gabby and will arrange our social time around shot time. They are rare. Like Marjorie, my previous 5-day a week gym schedule is now nonexistent. I have cut travel to the absolute bare minimum because while I have someone who can shoot, Gabby won't let her test. These are the choices I have made and I don't regret them for even a split second.

There are people who learn their cat has diabetes and opt to euthanize their cat because treatment is too complicated, expensive, or just too much trouble. Stick around for a while and read lots of condos. There will be people who just don't test or don't read the protocol and shoot insulin in ways that will make your hair stand on end. Or people who describe symptoms and we scream and yell and jump up and down and they still won't take their cat to the vet until the situation is beyond critical. And then, there are those who learn of the diagnosis who step up. You've stepped up. Sometimes, being an adult and accepting the responsibility for the lives that are in your keeping is really hard work. But, I think like the rest of us, you know there are huge benefits for shouldering that responsibility. And when you get right down to it, it's Mowgli who's tucking himself up close next to you letting you know that your caring is being returned tenfold.
 
I don't think there is any of us who don't understand how you feel. I know we have all been there, me included. I think what Sienne wrote sums it up best for me. What Marjorie, all of the others, have said is so true. Hang in there. I have never regretted for a moment the choices I have made for the care of Mannie - it has been so worth it.

I am sure the dental will go well for Mowgli. Hopefully then the eating will return. I wish you the best.
 
chin up! Will keep Mowgli and you in my thoughts and prayers tomorrow....hoping that everything goes well and once he is on the mend that he starts eating and being his old self!
keep us updated once you hear from the vet tomorrow!!!!

we WANT to hear how Mowgli is doing....HERE we CARE!!! don't you forget about that! ;-)

now go to sleep and rest well I-) I-) I-) I-) I-) I-) I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top