12/8 Milo +11 102 AMPS 121, +1 203, + 2 262

Ava-and-Milo

Member Since 2021
Yesterday

lasy night was so strange! It’s not unheard of to get a “please try again in 10 minutes” message from the libre. Especially if Milo was laying on it or something. But “try again in 5 hours “ really spun me. I googled it and some people have received that on themselves and they said it was their sign It was going to fail them soon. I hope that doesn’t happen!

Milos +11 is 102. I wish the libre had kept track of his numbers in that time but It didn’t .
 
Got his +4 and +5 before he got it off again. I’m at a loss of how to do this I feel so unsafe not testing him. And even if it took me a week or two to finally get testing down, that’s still a week or two without reads. It’s just a **** ordeal on both ends
 
I picked up the relion premier compact today with a landing device AND I found thinner lancets so I’m going to try all of this tonight. I’ve practiced on myself so I know how the never works
 
I think I'be shared this with you before:
Chris' post on testing

In the past, when you've tried to test him, have you used a lancing device? Some cats get startled by the clicking sound.

We we can start with minimal tests. Just the minimum 4 required by TR. Of course, cycles like last night would need some more. Let's see how it goes.
 
So in the last I’ve done it.m by hand, I’ve gotten blood successfully that way before. I picked up thr device to see if it would take any of the poke hesitation on my end away. I tried it out .. didn’t get blood ( I don’t think it was out far enough from device) but he wasn’t totally scared of the noise.
 
Do you still have the thicker lancets? Till the ear learns to bleed, those might help. Maybe you need to adjust the depth setting on the lancing device. Also, when you get a drop of blood, see if you can transfer it to your nail. That will buy you time to touch the strip to it. Warming ear, treats etc may also be needed.

ETA: Are you keeping cotton/gauze under his ear as buffer/support between his ear and your hand?
 
I lost track of time and was late to PMPS shot so I didn’t have time to get blood. I tried getting while hI is eating but he started to walk away from the food so I stopped. I’m going to try again in like 15 so I can at least get start of night cycle
 
I’m taking my time right now by giving the longest warm rice sock pet down to relax him. Since he ripped his libre off he has been fussing with the sticker part that stayed and so he is rather uncomfortable and suspicious of all right now. I’m trying to calm him in hopes I can sneak in a poke soon
 
There is no rush. Since you have limited number of tests, better to get them a little later in the cycle then. Like +3 or +4.
Feed a little every hour so that he doesn't dive - in case it is an active cycle.
 
Hi Ava, just thought I'd check on you guys. I presume Milo will not let you near him to test? My civvie is like that.
 
Hi so far no. Last night was a big bust. But I’ve been doing rice sock pets for about 40 minutes now - really trying to butter him up. I just posted on FB because I think he may have just eaten the other half of the libre sticker that was still stuck on him. I’m so nervous !!

side note- new libre ordered to pick up tomorrow. I’m going to find a shirt or something to keep this on him as well as getting it up higher away from bites
 
side note- new libre ordered to pick up tomorrow. I’m going to find a shirt or something to keep this on him as well as getting it up higher away from bites
Yeah a shirt or a collar might help. I am sure more people on the FB group use a Libre. You could ask there for suggestions. Katherine had suggested the Kitty Kollar in one of your previous posts.
 
Just thought I'd check in and see how it's going?
Hi! So we were supposed to have a vet visit last week with the new vet that is very supportive of home testing .. Milo refused to get into his crate and put up a huge fight. So i immediately scheduled for a mobile vet to make his life easier lol, and they are on their way now. I am not sure on their protocols for diabetes so i am a little nervous, but since they are a home vet i have to assume they support home testing. that being said I hope they are comfortable to place a libre on him today.
 
Back
Top