12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 12/9 Vet update

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeysMom

Member Since 2011
We're off to the vet this afternoon to see if we can figure out Mikey's crazy early BG drops post-shot. Hopefully we can figure out some combination of insulin and food that regulates his BG without dropping into hypo numbers within 2 hours....
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 Vet visit today

My cat has managed to completely confuse three different vets, including the internal medicine specialist. A big part of the problem might be the glucometer I have (Relion Confirm). We tested it on two different samples, Mikey's and a non-FD cat. My meter read 23 on the one cat's that was 65 on the office machine. It also read 161 on Mikey when the office machine read 253. So it could be that he was dropping to normal numbers, not truly hypo. But it also means that his PS numbers should have been higher... I don't know what to think.

If anyone has a suggestion on a better glucometer with strips that I can maybe afford, let me know.

On the bright side, the vet thinks he *might* be headed for remission. On my meter, he was at 220 this morning, after 24 hours with no insulin. At 5 PM, he was at 261 on the same meter, with no insulin for almost 36 hours. Still a bit high, but the vet said if a non-FD cat that stressed as much as Mikey does (as in shaking, panting, cowering, throwing himself around the carrier) threw a 253 on their meter they wouldn't consider the cat a diabetic or starting insulin at that point. So...we wait, and go back tomorrow for another test, and either restart insulin, or test on Saturday...

Personally, I think it's awfully soon for remission, and 253 sounds high to me to be only due to stress stress. But maybe we are headed in the right direction...
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

Wow, I don't know what to say about the meter issue. I'm sure there are Beans here who use the Relion Confirm. I use the Relion Micro as a back-up to my Alpha Trak meter, and the strips and meter both are inexpensive. Let's see what others say about the meter. It sounds like Mikey was really stressed at the Vet, so that adds to the numbers. Has he calmed down since being home? Hugs to you both.
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

I use a Confirm, and while I've never tested it against the vet's meter, I have tested it against my OT Ultra Mini. In lower numbers, it reads lower than the OT - although not drastically so. In higher numbers it seems to read pretty close to the OT. Not sure if that info is of any great use to you, but it does seem to be consistent for us.
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

was your vet using a meter calibrated for felines? because if so, those generally post numbers slightly higher (about 30) than the human-calibrated meters. that's why we ask people to make a note in their posts if they are using an Alpha-Trak meter.

so that could be one factor. we've talked about meters a ton lately and a second point to know is that meters are allowed to have a 20% variance rate. at a BG measurement of 30, 20% would be a range of 24-36 - and all would be considered ok within the meter regulations. at 250, the 20% variance would allow the numbers to be between 200-300, and again, that would meet the "accuracy" rate allowed by the government.

in general we try to stick to one meter - the Relion Confirm is considered a relatively accurate meter and it is the cheapest to use of the accurate ones - and look at overall trends in numbers instead of particular individual numbers.

what is most important is that a cat not go too low, so the accuracy at the lowest numbers matters most.
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

I've been using a Bayer Contour (not the one with the USB connection) since Gabby was diagnosed. I've got 3 of them so they are also my back-up. Marje and MJ also used the Contour. The strips run about $25 for 50 if you buy them on-line. I've gotten them for as low as $19 on EBay but they were near expiration.
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

Should it be off by almost 100 points, though? That's like a 60% variance between the two meters. Even at the lower numbers, there was a 36% difference between the two. The vet said they used both the Alpha Trak and the office blood machine (can't remember what it's called) and those numbers were very close to each other...and way off from my meter. I'm not sure what to think. If mine read 23 and the 65 was correct, I could be treating hypo when there is none. When we initially tested the two meters at the vet's office 2 weeks ago, there was about a 10% variance, but now it's huge, even at low numbers.

So, now I don't know what to think...

Maybe I should get another Relion and test them against each other?

IDK...I was so hoping that was the issue. Damn.
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

And...if he is high at the vet tomorrow, we're going to start him back on Lantus...but the vet wants to start him at .5U and advises against splitting feedings up. I'm just not sure about that on either level. Does anyone have any good info that I can send her on that?
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

I don't know of any written materials about feeding schedules. I'd encourage you to ask the vet for her rationale. You've been doing it her way and it's not working in an optimal way. Most vets know very little about nutrition. One thing to keep in mind is that feeding a full meal all at once can overwhelm a pancreas that's still healing. Small, frequent meals put less stress on the pancreas.

FWIW, my feeling is this. If you start at a microdose (0.1u), you can always increase the dose. I suspect starting at a small dose will be easier on your nerves. (Also, most vets are not used to the small doses we use since most people don't do that and the syringes are marked in half units. Likewise, whenever someone is trying a new feeding schedule, you want to keep very good notes about what you're doing. That way, if it's not working you know exactly what you did.

What the vet says and what you do is your decision. Remember, the vet is working for you.
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

Hi Amy,
I test my meters on myself. Since I don't have diabetes, the bg readings I get are always in the lower range (i.e., normal) and my Relion Micro, Relion Confirm, and FreeStyle Lite meters are within 10 points of each other every time I have tested. The recent posts on the Lantus forum about meter accuracy seem to indicate that with higher bg numbers the various meters can differ greatly from one another. With lower numbers, not so much. The low numbers are of concern for hypoglycemia; in my opinion it is good to have a meter that tends to read a bit low in the lower range. Low blood sugar can kill, so it is best to err on the low side than to have a meter that reads too high in the lower range and that might lull you into thinking that your kitty is safe (hypo symptoms may not present themselves, so we really have to rely on the meter).
The meters calibrated for felines (e.g., Alpha Trak) read about 30 points higher than the human meters most of us use; the protocol gives reference numbers for both types of meters.

In general, pick a meter and stick with it except for an occasional check. If you continually check meters against each other, you will go mad!! The trends will be apparent regardless of the individual numbers.

I hope that you will be able to stabilize Mikey on a consistent dose soon. I know how frustrating this is for you.

Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I just read Sienne's post. She always makes thoughtful observations based on lots of experience with FD.
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

MikeysMom said:
And...if he is high at the vet tomorrow, we're going to start him back on Lantus...but the vet wants to start him at .5U and advises against splitting feedings up. I'm just not sure about that on either level. Does anyone have any good info that I can send her on that?

i agree with Sienne...given where you were with Mikey's numbers the last few days...
.1 unit seems much safer than .5 unit.
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

I have the altraktrak ( vet meter) and the relion confirm and ever since my freestyle lite issues I test the A trak once a day against my relion and its always very close ( within 20 points) was wondering what they used for the comparison at your vet ( meter or more advanced bloodwork machine like idexx or heska??
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

There just seems to me to be a HUGE difference between each reading. To me, reading a little low would be 65 vs. 50, not 65 vs. 23! And I'm afraid that if he's really at 65 or higher, and I'm feeding him and sending his BG up unnecessarily when I shouldn't be.

I don't know. I know there's some variance, but those just seem HUGE to me. I don't know which ones to believe are accurate.

Also, the sample that tested 161 on my meter tested 183 when I rechecked with another strip. While that's within the variance, it doesn't do a lot for my confidence, which is pretty shot by now anyway. I tested it on me and it was in the normal range (though now I'm paranoid that it's reading me low, lol), so I really don't know what to make of it all. My brain is pretty overloaded this week.

Lisa, they used both the machine and the Alphatrak. I didn't see the printout but the vet said they were very close to each other.
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: I know how frustrating this is for you, but on the bright side Mikey probably was not in as much danger as you thought he was.

I too would start lower, as others have said you can always raise it. If you start too high it is easy to miss the right dose. Sometimes too high a dose can result in high BG readings.

I don't see your vets reasoning on not splitting up the meals. Cats catch a mouse, eat it and go on the hunt again. They don't catch all they need at once, so their meals are naturally spread out through the day.

I would go to Walmart w/ the meter, I'm not sure if customer service or the pharmacy would be better, and tell them that the meter is way out of range compared to the tests at the vet. They may just give you a new meter. The pharmacy should have a control solution available for the Relion confirm, hopefully you can get it at the Walmart pharmacy. It is a solution that should read within a certain range on the bottle. Just test a drop the way you would a drop of blood. You should get a reading according to the range printed on the bottle.

I have a few other things to think about:
  • How old is your meter?
    How old are the strips?
    Have you tried a different box of strips? preferably w/ a different batch number.
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

i was thinking it could be your strips too. i like ann's suggestion of going back to the pharmacy with the meter. probably my first tactic would be to try a different batch of strips.

i would also start with the lower dose of 0.1unit. you've had enough experience with the low numbers at +2 and you hate it and find it very upsetting. seems to me like a .5u dose is a guarantee of you going through that again, so i'm not sure why you would want to even consider doing that. we know from all of your testing data that mikey barely needs any insulin. regardless of the meter question, even at the vet's with no insulin on board, the numbers weren't that high, especially considering the stress you described.

sienne said that to me too, about the vet working for you. it's something that made me pause - i ultimately have ended up switching vets. although i loved my vet, he didn't know much about feline diabetes and without the info i learned here, i truly don't think punkin would be alive today. in fact, i feel pretty certain about that because punkin has some unusual stuff. i've tried to educate myself as much as possible and i think of the vet as working for me and my goals for punkin now.
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

Ummm.... I wouldn't tell customer service at Walmart that you're using the meter for a cat. Say it's giving wonky reading compared to the tests at the pediatrician's office when they test your kid.
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

Try getting the meter replaced and a new batch of strips. If you just want to try a different meter and can buy strips online, the Accuchek Aviva is a good meter. Strips bought otc are expensive - around $70/50strips for me, but I get them on eBay for around $22/50. Mine runs very close to my vet's.
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

I'll see if I can get a new meter tomorrow. I'm so confused. I really thought the meter was going to be the issue and we could finally get this whole mess cleaned up and Mikey pointed in the right direction.

How would you have the conversation with your vet, who obviously believes that there is only one right way to go about this. She totally discounts the advice that I've gotten here, because it's different than what the internal medicine specialist told her, and he's board certified. I do think that the advice on here and the advice of a vet need to be weighed and balanced. She's young and inexperienced with FD, so I can see why she is taking his word. But how to tell her, "no, I'm going to do what I'm comfortable with on both injecting and feeding" I want us on the same page, but it has to be a page I'm ok with, and right now, hers isn't.

A different vet isn't an option right now, because I have a monthly-paid health plan with this one, so office visits etc. are free. I can't afford another vet.

Hey, on the bright side, his BG dropped 60 points on the same meter from AM to PM today after 36 hours with no insulin. Hopefully that means his pancreas is thinking about this.
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

i would take in mikey's spreadsheet and show her the response to 0.5u, and just tell her that was far too stressful. given the numbers even off of insulin, you're going to give him less and you can always go up later if the DATA (i'd emphasize that) that you gather on 0.1 shows that he needs more after 3 days on the 0.1u.

alternatively, what some people do who feel like they simply can't disagree with their vet and don't have another option (and hey, what a great thing you've got going - wish i could get that!) - nod your head and say OK, then do what you want. your hand is on the syringe. you're doing the testing and you have the data.

good luck - honestly, when i very gently asked my vet about his error that was pointed out on here, after that point i didn't have to say much. he really is a great guy and it was honestly simply his lack of experience with FD.

you can also print out the Rand/Roomp Protocol (see the sticky that says Tight Regulation Protocol) and give it to your vet. Tell her this is the established protocol for using Lantus/Levemir on cats and it has great success, and that you want to follow it. it says in there to maintain some insulin until numbers are constantly in non-diabetic cat numbers (50-120).

you have data and research on your side. just gotta be confident and know you're on the right track. perhaps you doing this will help your vet learn about FD for the next cat that comes along!
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

FWIW, before I came here, the IM vet who cared for Gabby when she was on the ICU was also board certified. He started Gabby on Humulin N and had me feeding DM. He had be driving an hour to go back to him for curves. (Gabby doesn't travel well.) After a month on N with lousy results and my doing reading, I saw my vet and we agreed to switch Gabby to Lantus. My vet's comment about N was that it's good for dogs -- not so much for cats. So much for the expertise of an IM vet.

Think about internal medicine for humans. Its primary care medicine. There are tons of subspecialties -- cardiology, pulmonary medicine, oncology, gastroenterology, and endocrinology to name a few. The IM vet may not be an expert in FD.

More importantly, Mikey is your cat. You see him day to day. It's your gut that tells you when somethings wrong. Trust your gut.
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

I will bring copies of the TR protocol with me (though I'm still scared of it...shooting that low the way he reacts may never be possible.). I am NOT comfortable with a .5U dose and will tell her that I will start at a level I'm ok with and increase as necessary. I still worry about DKA, but hypo can be just as fatal, so....
 
Re: 12/8 Mikey AMBG 220 +11 161 Saw Vet...Still seeking answ

I gave my vet the TR links. We're still in a holding pattern. She wants to get one or two more levels before starting him back on insulin. He was 245 at the vet's today, not bad for a major stresser and lower than yesterday, and so she wants a little more data. He's doing well at home, not sucking every water bowl dry and playing and preening like he used to before he was diagnosed. So those are good signs. Personally, I'd like to see him a bit lower, even at the vet's. We're seeing the other vet tomorrow, so I'll see what he has to say. I don't think we're at remission yet, but I do think his pancreas is trying to get back in on the action. It's frustrating for sure, but I want to start him back on insulin correctly, so I'm willing to get the data.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top