12/8 - Maverick AMPS 90 PMPS 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31552
Recap:
AMPS 74
+4.2: 77
+7: 85
PMPS: 77
+3: 67
+6: 72
+7.75: 79

Maverick slept the whole day away yesterday and last night. Wish I was so lucky :mrgreen:

Laurie I know you suggested a dose decrease today but I chickened out. Someone the other day said I can't count the blue's as part of the 14 straight cycles. So today he got a .75. If tonight is a green it would be 14 cycles if I can count that 101 as a green. His eating yesterday and last night was a bit off. He hardly ate a thing yesterday and not as much as normal through the night. He's got a bit of nasal congestion going on that we are trouble shooting too.

I also wonder if Maverick would count as a newly diagnosed kitty. Is this a cat that has never been on insulin? He was diagnosed as diabetic with a fructosamine test in Dec/January of last year (lower end) and managed with food until September, started on insulin in October. Would this mean a 40 would earn him a dose reduction or a 50?
 
Re: 12/8 - Maverick AMPS 90 - dose decrease?

So do we try a dose decrease? I won't be home all day tomorrow or Friday - away for about three hours mid day both days.
 
Re: 12/8 - Maverick AMPS 90 - dose decrease?

Karrie

wow...his SS is looking so great!!! You've done awesome with him and got him to that "snap". Can't give dose advice but I'll give you a bump. I also really appreciate that incredibly sweet post you left on our condo last night after we had gone Ni Ni. You are a very special part of LL and we appreciate how you always check in and keep up the positive vibes. Sorry I haven't been around to condos lately...TBP so interferes :lol: :lol:

Have a great day and good luck with the dosecrease if you go that route.
 
Re: 12/8 - Maverick AMPS 90 - dose decrease?

Karrie, his SS is great, a couple of low blues is not a reason to hold off on the decrease...his numbers overall are in the normal range, and he's ready for the decrease IMO. So yes, decrease...tonight would be great! You don't need to be home to monitor all day for a decrease. Maybe others will chime in with their opinion.

As far as the newly diagnosed question, I would still consider Maverick newly diagnosed at this point. If you know his official diagnosis date, it usually is one year from that date that we consider them not newly dx anymore. I really don't think it will matter in Maverick's case, because he has yet to earn a reduction by going low. ;-)

Re: the nasal congestion...that could be causing him to not want to eat because he can't smell the food as well...maybe try heating up the food a little to make it smellier, or add some tuna water?
 
Re: 12/8 - Maverick AMPS 90 - dose decrease?

Cool. I will decrease him tonight then :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Its amazing that a dose decrease works. It just goes against logic ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 12/8 - Maverick AMPS 90 - dose decrease?

Thanks Marjorie. I love LL and I'm so thankful that I found it every day. I don't have the brain capacity to read all the condos. I do my best to read them, but can't reply to them all and feel bad. I wish there was a pawprint stamp *Maverick was here*. I learn so much from reading the condo's and looking at all the spreadsheets. Sometimes I'm sooo confused too ;)
 
Re: 12/8 - Maverick AMPS 90 Flovent????

Whats that about diabetes and flovent? (in Curry's condo).

Maverick is on flovent - 25mcg twice a day. I think Curry if I remember correctly is on like 400 or higher twice a day though.
 
Re: 12/8 - Maverick AMPS 90 Flovent????

I suspect the question was raised because Flovent is an inhaied steroid and steroids can raise BG. However, this is another case of ECID. Steroids do not effect every cat or every human in the same way. Maverick's numbers are gorgeous. Like Laurie said, one or two low blues are permissible withing a week that's a sea of green.
 
Re: 12/8 - Maverick AMPS 90 Flovent????

And to add to Sienne's post...it was just a rhetorical question from my vet just because she knows how SOME cats react with BG and steroids. So don't worry, Karrie....like Sienne said...ECID. You are doing great!!!
 
Re: 12/8 - Maverick AMPS 90 Flovent????

*sigh of relief* thanks guys!!! We are going to do a .50 tonight. I admit I'm nervous. Not sure why.
 
We did it. Down to .50 tonight. Kicking myself for not testing mid day though. He's never had a low and I thought I was low on strips. Turns out I have a tube of 50 left. ohmygod_smile

It took me like five minutes to be confident in my .50 on the syringe. I have a reference one on top of the stove in case I second guess myself tomorrow.

He ate well today. Unlike yesterday when he ate nothing. He is sleeping a lot though. I found a source of l-lysine locally for his stuffy nose. I don't believe he has herpes but its worth a shot.

So, nervous about what the dose decrease will mean. It will be the second one in like a week and a half.
 
Hi Karrie, Don't worry about the dose decrease. If it doesn't hold, you can simply go right back up to your old dose. (You don't have to "hold" a dose decrease for a specified number of cycles, the way you do a dose increase.) You're doing great!
Have a nice evening and don't worry. Maverick will be fine.

Ella & Rusty
 
Ella's right - if it doesn't work, go right back up. You're really just giving his pancreas a boost right now, kind of like having training wheels on a bike. He may wobble a bit but he's doing really great. I hope his sniffles clear up, I'm sure that will help his appetite.
 
Re: 12/8 - Maverick AMPS 90 Flovent????

Karrie and Maverick said:
Whats that about diabetes and flovent? (in Curry's condo).

Maverick is on flovent - 25mcg twice a day. I think Curry if I remember correctly is on like 400 or higher twice a day though.

Hi Karrie...Maverick is doing so well. You are doing an awesome job w/him.

Yeah, Curry is on the max dose of the flovent. My vet said that there isn't any data on cats regarding increase in glucose due to flovent. But he said in Curry's case, since she was on so much there may be a chance its impacting her numbers. He also said there is a good chance that its not impacting her numbers.

I wouldn't worry about Maverick since he's on such a small dose of the flovent and his numbers are fantastic. Keep up the good work!!!!
 
good luck with the reduction!

I like Nina's analogy to training wheels. I also think of learning to ride a bike, when the parent runs alongside the bicycle holding onto the seat and then pulls her hand off the seat for a few seconds and the kid keeps on going. If you sneak your hand off for a few seconds at a time, the kid won't realize he is flying solo and will eventually be riding on his own. In this case, you sneak the insulin down a little at a time, so he hopefully won't even realize that he has had reduction after reduction after reduction. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top