12/8 Lincoln AMPS 317, +5 290, +9 306, PMPS 313, +2.5 248, +5.5 205, +9 281

Status
Not open for further replies.
I hope Lincoln decides to work the juice today. Normally I'd recommend you increase tonight if you don't see low blue or green but it's important you have the needed quality time with your brother this weekend so I'd hold the dose for now.

Sending vines and prayers.
 
Still running flat... hoping tonight is when he drops for me so i dont have to call off baking tomorrow... but just in case got 8 kinds of mini cheesecakes baked today... and can always bump to monday for more baking with mom
 
Lincoln really likes pink and yellow! It does look like something is causing insulin resistance. Usually when kitties get over 6 units of insulin, we recommend testing for acromegaly and IAA. It's a blood draw by your vet and the blood has to be send to Michigan State University, which is the only place in North America that does those tests. One in four diabetic cats has acromegaly, so it's not uncommon. Knowing what's causing resistance may modify how you do dosing.

Sending lots of vines for your brother's surgery. :bighug: It's fine to delay the increase so you can be with your brother.
 
I agree that there is most likely another reason for his high need of insulin... i have my vet looking into how much it will cost to do the test and send it all the way to Michigan... but right now putting the insulin first till DHs job is a little more secure... i wonder if his need for so much insulin is because he was is such high numbers for 1.5 years cause i wasnt home testing, he was eating crunchies, and just doing the fructosimine test... wondering if it could cause really high glucose toxicity??
 
From what I have seen here, over six units means something else at play. Your circumstances are not unique. Kathy's TiTi has a similar story. But there is a dose out there for Lincoln, you will get there. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top