12/8 Karamelle AMPS 458 +6 360 PMPS 275 +2 231

Hoping Karamelle gets back on track quickly after the skip yesterday. I went through something similar, and I know how upsetting it can be to see them in higher numbers and not feeling great :bighug:
 
  • Love
Reactions: JoM
Hoping Karamelle gets back on track quickly after the skip yesterday. I went through something similar, and I know how upsetting it can be to see them in higher numbers and not feeling great :bighug:
Thanks! 🩷 I see you used Levemir too. What happened with Maverick and were you able to figure out why it was happening? Is he still with us? I dont see any recent entries on the spreadsheet.
 
Thanks! 🩷 I see you used Levemir too. What happened with Maverick and were you able to figure out why it was happening? Is he still with us? I dont see any recent entries on the spreadsheet.

Yes, Maverick had been on Levemir for several years, so I know all too well those late nadir Lev cycles :rolleyes:. When I say similar, I was only comparing to the Lev cycles and what I experienced I guess with needing to skip shots, which I really had never had to do, apart from I think once early on in our FD journey.

It was around the time when the board was down for a prolonged period. We kind of got into a tailspin with too many issues going wrong all at the same time. He recovered from pancreatitis in February but his kidneys started failing pretty quickly thereafter, and there were some serious issues with anemia, complications from high potassium levels, severe kidney infection and anemia to name a few. I had him at emerg and my regular vet several times from Feb to June, and finally let him go in June, when I realized he was done fighting. He never really had that “perfect” spreadsheet, but then again that was my Mav, he liked to do the whole FD thing his way. And we had a good run at it, being 8 years diabetic. Sorry, I guess that was the long answer to your question about no recent entries.

Just my humble opinion, I think the reduction was a good idea, it will hopefully allow you to stabilize her BG patterns a little and get shots in both am and pm cycles. Otherwise you are constantly contending with no shot and bouncing combined. You’ve had a lot more than your fair share of 20s, and that just says to me, for now, she needs less insulin.
 
  • Care
Reactions: JoM
Yes, Maverick had been on Levemir for several years, so I know all too well those late nadir Lev cycles :rolleyes:. When I say similar, I was only comparing to the Lev cycles and what I experienced I guess with needing to skip shots, which I really had never had to do, apart from I think once early on in our FD journey.

It was around the time when the board was down for a prolonged period. We kind of got into a tailspin with too many issues going wrong all at the same time. He recovered from pancreatitis in February but his kidneys started failing pretty quickly thereafter, and there were some serious issues with anemia, complications from high potassium levels, severe kidney infection and anemia to name a few. I had him at emerg and my regular vet several times from Feb to June, and finally let him go in June, when I realized he was done fighting. He never really had that “perfect” spreadsheet, but then again that was my Mav, he liked to do the whole FD thing his way. And we had a good run at it, being 8 years diabetic. Sorry, I guess that was the long answer to your question about no recent entries.

Just my humble opinion, I think the reduction was a good idea, it will hopefully allow you to stabilize her BG patterns a little and get shots in both am and pm cycles. Otherwise you are constantly contending with no shot and bouncing combined. You’ve had a lot more than your fair share of 20s, and that just says to me, for now, she needs less insulin.
Thanks Christie. Yeah, Karamelle also has Pancreatitis and her numbers have been pretty wonky ever since she was diagnosed in July 2024. Im also feeling like the reduction was the right choice. We'll see how it goes. Shes coming down from her bounce. Just need to wait and see how far down she will go.
Im sorry about your boy. Wow 8 years!! . I hope Karamelle lives a long time. Ive pretty much gotten used to having no night life anymore. Shes only 12 and fortunately so far her kidneys are fine.
 
Back
Top