12/8 Jackson AMPS 445 +4 310 +6 285 +11 210 +12.5 154 +13 205 +14 207 PMPS 267(@+15) +2 283 +4 356

Skye & Jackson

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-412-4-334-6-318-pmps-423-2-370-6-309.271582/

Another red day… he didn’t really drop much after the shot either. o_O I do fear that something is suddenly wrong, but what? He’s acting normal (for him). But the reds just won’t stop. I can’t believe he was reducing on less than this dose a couple of weeks ago. I mean, he’s not even in “dose not working yet” pinks and yellows… it’s almost as many red hours as pink ones!
 
Last edited:
Finally. 210 @ +11, 172 @ +11.75

My cousin is feeding me numbers, I’m at work for the next three hours. She’s feeding, delaying a little (per SLGS basic guidelines), and will give the shot when he comes back above 200. If I were home I might give a smaller dose on time instead, but she’s not confident in her ability to either adjust what I’ve drawn up or to draw a new one. So, waiting.

Happy that he finally came down! And praying he doesn’t drop too low later tonight and then bounce for the next three days afterward, again. Heheh.
 
Last edited:
207 at +14, cousin continues to hold shot. It sounds like Jackson is vacillating from just below 200 to just above, and back again repeatedly, kind of a shallow bouncing. He continues munching his food in small servings of his own control.
 
She’s feeding, delaying a little (per SLGS basic guidelines), and will give the shot when he comes back above 200.
The no shot under 200 is for people brand new to SLGS, which team Jackson is not. You've shot as low as 149 before, and have loads of data on what happens when you shoot lower numbers. Thanks to the Libre. I'm just a little worried about the no shot and ketones creeping up, though still in a good range. Shooting late also acts a bit like a reduced dose.
 
If I were home I’d have given the shot. But she’s afraid to give it. (Because he does tend to get down to the 40-50 range which is stressful for us all when I’ve shot low before.) I know it’s not ideal. I should be home in about 45 minutes, I’ll give it for sure when I get home. I’m not skipping it… just gonna be late.

Thank you for chiming in though! I appreciate the care/attention! :cat:
 
Most of what I said is for next time. Knowing that you'd be home in time for onset (when the action might start), it should be easier to give the shot before you get home. I did the same with my DH plenty of times.
 
Yeah… I suggested that and got panic. But I will certainly try again next time. Thankfully I only work second shift one week every month… so most of the time I can control it better and make decisions myself.

But ce la vie; I figure a late dose is better than either none, or having a text/phone battle about it while at work. I just figure I’m going to document everything for later review and look-back if needed.

I’m actually just really glad that he responded to the dose! Finally!! Even if the nadir is very late.
 
Last edited:
Question though: Since I’ll be giving his shot about three hours late, in your experience should I adjust anything about either tonight’s or tomorrow morning’s doses or time?
 
Shooting 3 hours late poses an issue for most caregivers, since you’d be off on your am shot by quite a lot, and tends to be harder to recover. You’d not want to shoot usual time since that likely will act like a dose increase. That said, if you have some flexibility on your schedule tomorrow and for the next few days, and there is a concern about skipping due to history of DKA and ketones, then:

Here is a post on adjusting shot times to get back to usual times.
Getting back on shot schedule
 
Thanks for the link!

I’m not totally sure I’ll be able to take 6 days to get back on schedule... But I can say that I know I’ve been off by up to an hour before, so at least as long as Jack is in higher numbers I have a little safety room built in. I will have to see how he bounces; I may feel safe being aggressive (method C) and shooting a hour earlier tomorrow and maybe even the next day as long as he stays in the bounce. (Not if he’s hinting at coming out of it, of course.) And then one of the other methods as needed to get back to his normal evening time of 6:15 to 6:30 (it’s not been able to be any more precise than that anyway.)
 
Well, he’s not on a steady climb like I thought, after all… back down to 229 at +0.5. Doubting myself a bit now… I know I’ve shot at 149 before, but I still wonder if I should have given a decreased dose… guess I’ll find out, it’s in him now. :confused: Gonna be up a while tonight watching just in case. :bookworm:

He, however, is bouncy and happy. No urine ketones. I think that’s as good as I’m getting tonight; I know by his energy level that I probably better not try to get a blood test just now, unless I want a battle. Sigh.
 
3 hours late, it was the equivalent of a decreased dose. Behave Jackson!

The method C isn't something you do back to back. So you can do it one day, then use method A or B the other days. Still, gets you there a bit faster.
 
Gotcha.

Well, he’s definitely coming back up. By +6 he’s solidly back in the pinks. I just hope he doesn’t go all red again. He might… if it acts as a decreased dose. Sigh. Oh well. Good news: the dose works! He spent a good chunk of his day in yellows, might have gone to blues if his shot had been on time. Also I don’t think he went low enough to really bounce much (I hope) so we might get another try at finding out sometime before three days later…

Also, even just coming down that far for a while seems to have made him feel better. He’s lively tonight. :)
 
Last edited:
Okay… I’ve got it planned out on his spreadsheet - as long as his numbers are high in the morning, I’ll start with an hour, then work down in 15 minute increments. (If not real high, then maybe 30 minutes “early” tomorrow morning… we will see.)

I’m actually glad that if this had to happen, it happened when it did. I’m on day shifts next week, so having one more evening shift and then the weekend to work back to a time I can actually shoot just before leaving for work Monday AM is a Godsend.
 
Back
Top