12/8 - Gen, AMPS 394, PMPS >400 Libre

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

Getting a late start to posting because we had a vet follow-up this morning. It went well overall--Gen is generally pretty well-behaved at the vet--but I'm belatedly rather concerned. They did a blood test, and told me his BG was over 400 (Edit: it was 427). I couldn't do a comparison with the Libre at the time, because like a genius, I left "Gen's" phone (the one connected to the Libre) at home. But I was backfilling the data into my spreadsheet when I realized that it was significantly different. I don't know exactly what time the blood test was done, but we were there from roughly +1 - +3, and the numbers I have for that time are from the mid-300s, steadily dropping into the upper 200s.

I'm a bit concerned about such a big accuracy gap. I've emailed my vet asking her to take another look at the results and let me know, if possible, the timing of the test, but. Yikes?

PXL_20251208_152454442.jpg

(Hanging out in the exam room.)
 
Last edited:
It is relatively common for their BG to be elevated at the vet due to stress. I'm less familiar with libres so not sure how big the difference between those measurements and the meter or lab they did is, but I would probably trust your at home results.
 
Yeah, I wasn't surprised by the number when she gave it to me! He's pretty chill about being at the vet (or honestly, in new places generally), but I assumed it was stress all the same. (He was vocally displeased about going into his carrier this morning, and he is not a fan of car rides!)

What I'm concerned about is the fact that it's not reflected in the sensor data at all. (While the sensor wasn't connected to the app at the time, it can hold data--up to 8 hours' worth--and transfer it over to the app after the fact, so I have an uninterrupted report.) The sensor shows his BG going pretty steadily downwards the whole time. (He had his AM shot about half an hour before we left home.)
 
@Staci & Ivy - I know you do some poking as well as using the Libre. You wouldn't happen to have any thoughts on the big difference between the vet's measurement and the sensor's, would you?
Was that a poke they did and what glucometer were they using?
If they use an Alpha Track, it's a higher BG number.

Yes, there is a discrepancy.
Last week when Ivy had labs done her report said glucose was 374 (it was sent out, they didn't test her with an ear poke).
When I looked at my Libre (around the time the blood would have been taken it said 220.

So that's a big difference as well.

Here's how I view it. If they are high, we know we want to bring that number down. So we keep trying to get them to a better range and the numbers we work with are the lows (nadirs) when deciding on increases or decreases..
We want them as comfortably low as we can get them to a safe range, without putting them in any danger.
So if you can work to get Gen down into the 200's then 100's on his Libre (without going under 90 with SLGS) then that's the goal.

Then if you can get lower, under 100 (Libre) without any nadirs under 90, great!

That will take time.

When Ivy bounces (after she's been under 100 on a handheld meter from a poke) then I try to ignore the higher numbers. I wait for her to come back down again. She's a big bouncer.
It's when she's just hanging out in 200's on a Libre with no Libre greens that I start to consider an increase.

I hope this helps a little.

I am so glad he did well at the vet today! What a good boy (can he speak with Ivy about proper vet behavior?)
:bighug: :bighug:
 
Was that a poke they did and what glucometer were they using?
If they use an Alpha Track, it's a higher BG number.
She just got back to me, and indeed, they use an Alpha Track. She's aware of the difference and told me she wasn't concerned about the Libre's accuracy, which is a relief! We seem to have consensus.

Thank you thank you as always for your input! ❤️

When Ivy bounces (after she's been under 100 on a handheld meter from a poke) then I try to ignore the higher numbers. I wait for her to come back down again. She's a big bouncer.
It's when she's just hanging out in 200's on a Libre with no Libre greens that I start to consider an increase.

I hope this helps a little.
Thanks, it does! I'm dithering a little, because my vet would like me to go back to .75u. She was worried about how high his number was, although I did bring up bouncing. (She said that it takes 1-2 weeks for any dose changes to really show effects, which is a little longer than the FDMB resources say.)

I trust her quite a lot, and she got Gen through his last round with diabetes. But that said, I think I will at least give it another couple of cycles on the .5u to see how that goes, especially as he seems to be trending downwards again (somewhat - he's back up high a bit faster than I would have anticipated today, based on other cycles).

I take both the board's recommendations and hers seriously, so there may be some compromising as we figure these things out together? It's all so complicated.

I am so glad he did well at the vet today! What a good boy (can he speak with Ivy about proper vet behavior?)
:bighug: :bighug:
Hah, I mean, I don't know how well that's likely to work, especially since he doesn't necessarily show me such proper behavior. And Ivy could influence him in the other direction! She's so impressive and queenly. 😘
 
340, 400, 427 - to me, all those numbers just say "high blood sugar". It doesn't matter what they are exactly. We don't do anything different with the dosing methods if the numbers are any one of those three, or even as low as 151, when following SLGS. The good news is that the various meters will be a lot closer together in the lower numbers when it is important.

Regarding his dose, this is only cycle 4 of the bounce. I agree with you that I'd wait 2-3 cycles yet to see what happens when he breaks the bounce.
 
340, 400, 427 - to me, all those numbers just say "high blood sugar". It doesn't matter what they are exactly. We don't do anything different with the dosing methods if the numbers are any one of those three, or even as low as 151, when following SLGS. The good news is that the various meters will be a lot closer together in the lower numbers when it is important.

Regarding his dose, this is only cycle 4 of the bounce. I agree with you that I'd wait 2-3 cycles yet to see what happens when he breaks the bounce.
Thanks; that's what I've decided to do. I'll definitely be looking for input ... I have no idea what to expect, since this bounce looks pretty nearly the same as where he was before he took that big downward curve Friday night/Saturday (earning the reduction)! And I feel like I don't have the hang of this from watching others here yet (not that there's a predictable path, I know, and ECID). But looking at the spreadsheet makes those blues and greens look like a fluke right now. I'm really looking forward to (hopefully) finding out by example that they are, in fact, not a fluke. 🤞
 
Back
Top