12/8 Errol PMPS 295, (+5) 70

Status
Not open for further replies.
You don't have to start a new thread until AMPS. Just remember that your last condo has 2 pages. We should post there so noone gets confused :-D
 
so glad to see you! we get attached to cats and their people and worry sometimes! i'm also glad Kim was giving you a hand.

she's absolutely right that when you see a number significantly lower at either +1 or +2, it's a red flag that the cat might be diving. some cats do - and feeding carbs can slow the drop down.

it's in the middle of the night for you, isn't it. well, i'm just glad everything was ok.

when i suggested dropping him to 0.25u, i meant it to stay there, rather than just a one time change. it's best for errol if we can get to a dose where he's getting the same amount twice a day. that'll help him flatten out and he'll feel better with it. the pmps you saw tonight was not indicative of not enough insulin. Lantus dosing is based upon the lowest point of the cycle rather than the highest. so to a certain extent, we don't worry about the highs - for dosing, we focus on the lows.

just for his safety, do you mind returning to the 0.25u dose and holding it there for the next 6 doses unless he gets below 50. after changing doses we can see wonky numbers. Think of it as throwing a stone in still water - there are ripples from dose changes and we wait for the ripples to settle down before we change the dose - unless he gets low.

so glad to see you - thanks for posting! and very glad everything is ok!
 
Oh dear I'm sorry I worried you all, and started a new post unncessarily. Also sorry I did not understand the change in dosage. I confirm I will keep Errol at .25 from Mon AM to Wed PM.

You guys are just fantastic, we both appreciate it. I'm in the spare room with Errol so I don't keep waking everyone up. How often should I test him now and until he rises to what #? Thanks again.
 
if he came up on his own to 70, ie, you didn't give him syrup to get him up, you probably don't need to retest him now before the next shot.

if you did give him carbs, you should retest in 1/2 hr and make sure he's holding the numbers up. what we say is 2 tests in a row, about 1/2 hr apart, with the numbers holding steady about 60 or 70 or rising, and past the low point of the cycle before leaving him.

don't freak if you see a high number at his next shot time. that wouldn't be a surprise. he dropped fast and that can result in high numbers.
 
Welcome, Michele and Errol

I was asked to check in with you guys about cat food available in South Africa (thanks, Wendy/Tiggy and Dyana/J.D.). We feed home-made raw food, with half free-range chicken and half free-range ostrich for muscle meat, and chicken livers, chicken bones, skin etc., made according to Dr. Lisa Pierson's recipe on her amazing webpages on feline nutrition and other topics - I imagine you've already been pointed in that direction.

In addition, we feed cans of low-carb Fancy Feast varieties. In South Africa, you'll find Fancy Feast at Pick 'n Pay and Checkers mostly, though Woolworths has picked it up now too and carries a few flavours. The available low-carb flavours we've found in these shops are:

- Tender Liver & Chicken
- Chunky Chicken
- Turkey & Giblets
- Gourmet Seafood
- Cod, Sole & Shrimp
- Savory Salmon
- Ocean Whitefish
- Kitten Ocean Whitefish
- Flaked Tuna & Whitefish
- Flaked Chicken & Tuna
- Flaked Tuna & Mackerel

There are several of the medium- and high-carb flavours available too. Since we never feed those, I don't know them off the top of my head, but I can look them up if you need some for your hypo toolbox.

Hope this helps. I'll try to check back in.
Jane
 
Thanks Jane, that's very helpful. I'm glad to see so many FF are low carb. I like the idea of 1/2 chicken 1/2 ostrich.
Where do you obtain the supplements to add in as that's been my biggest concern.
 
Clicks pharmacies and the larger Wellness Warehouse stores generally stock the supplements. They also have salmon oil in bottles rather than gel capsules (the latter are rather messy to try any empty). Depending in where in SA you are, I can probably tell you specific stores to try. You can PM me your location, if you'd like that. (I was actually told you already had PM'ed me, but I never got a message from you. If you need help with the PMs, just say and we'll help you.)

Jane
 
Thanks a lot, I'll PM you right now :)

The PM seems to be sitting in my 'Outbox' despite me clicking 'Submit'. How do I actually send it?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top