12/8 Crushy amps 380 weird symptoms

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=109577&p=1157690#p1157690

the last few days he has seemed so much better, more alert, purry, etc. HIs numbers were flatter and not bouncing from low to crazy high.

Last night right before PS I noticed him doing this weird shiver thing. Almost like a tremor/shiver thing would come over him briefly then go away, then come back Shiver, pause...shiver, pause....shiver/pause. He wasnt cold, he was cuddling and purring on my lap.

He ate his pmPS meal with no problems (pmps bg was 258) then he missed his +1 meal which is very unlike him. I showed it to him and he ate it. It was close to +2 so I went ahead and tested him and he had shot up to 402. Then about 10 minutes or so later he started looking like he didnt feel good and puked up both the ps and +1 meals.

I gave him some fluids and watched him closely. He looked like he felt really bad. At first he tried to get away from us and go into the closet but then he came back out and lied at the foot of the bed. He started stretching and looking more comfortable and about an hour or so later he licked a little coconut oil off my finger, then my DH got him to eat a few small pieces of chicken. At about +6 I heard him eating the food we left out for him, and at +8 I fed him some more.

His appetite is back this morning and he seems a lot better than he did last night. BG is still high though.

Anybody have any idea what that was all about? Could that have been pancreatitis? His #s lately have been so much lower than what he is used to I also wondered if his body was adjusting? It just seemed a little dramatic if it was an adjustment. And why did his #s skyrocket?

the only time I noticed the shiver thing was before PS last night...I dont see it today
 
i saw that in your notes on the ss last night. not sure what it might've been, but i guess i'd just wait and see if it happens again. i've never heard of that as a symptom of pancreatitis. punkin meatloafed when he had pancreatitis. it was very obvious something was wrong.

i think your overall flatness is from the success of the feeding schedule. that's exactly the goal you were reaching for - to stop the diving so the bouncing stopped. now the overall range needs to come down. i do think he needs a dose increase to try to achieve that.
 
thanks Julie
I noticed him clearing bounces faster and flatter curves immediately after he got off antibiotics and I stopped using R. (I think the R was setting him up to dive low, and the AB were raising his BG somehow)

I was thinking that the dental really did have an impact but that I wasnt seeing it because of the AB and the R.

I guess it could be because of the feeding schedule (that he started quite a while ago) but it would be kind of a coincidence, no?

I was thinking of increasing the dose but I didnt want him to start diving and bouncing again. I thought maybe a little time in blue and yellow #s with no dramatic ups and downs would be healing.

I kind of dont know what is going on now though.....

btw when he was on 2 units it was crazy hard for me to keep him from going too low....(it took 3 cans of fancy feast plus karo one day to keep him above 50) so that is adding to my hesitation to raise the dose back up to 2 units. Those hard dives could have been from the R though so it might be worth considering.
 
If it were me, I'd wait a little bit to make sure things settle down before raising the dose.

Is there anything in the house that Crushy could have gotten into? Tinsel, poinsettias, etc? It sounds like he felt better after he vomited.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
If it were me, I'd wait a little bit to make sure things settle down before raising the dose.

Is there anything in the house that Crushy could have gotten into? Tinsel, poinsettias, etc? It sounds like he felt better after he vomited.

no we havent decorated yet. And I didnt see anything in the vomit other than food. Vomiting did seem to help him though

He has a dental follow up appt with the vet tomorrow morning so if I do raise the dose Ill probably wait until after that anyway. Also, his pattern for breaking his bounces has changed so its a little trickier than usual to figure a good time to raise the dose so its not when he's breaking a bounce too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top