12/8 Casanova PMPS 331 +6 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

casanovasmom

Member Since 2010
Hi again. Casanova's starting number is 362. Getting ready to give him 4 units. Will his AM number ever be much better? I hope to test a couple more times this morning and maybe DH will agree to test once mid day. Going to try to stop at Petsmart this morning and get a few more varieties of food. Would like to try to stick with the 0% carb but there really aren't too many choices. I worry that if I get the higher carb-will try to stay below 5%-his numbers will go up again :( Just trying to do what's best for Casanova.

Laura
 
Re: 12/8 Casanova AMPS 362

Just stopping in to say Good Morning! ~O)

Keep in mind that variety is the spice of life! Even with feeding Attie raw food I do try to mix it up a little between the rabbit, venison, chicken...and I was thinking of picking up a little trial size bag of bison for the Eve.

You also will want to have some MC (medium carb) and HC (high carb) on hand to help manage the low, low numbers. Read through some of the posts from Sienne regarding low numbers. I think they will be important to you in the near future.

Don’t Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28888

And yes, those pre-shot numbers will come down. With the help of Sienne and Laurie it appears we may have finally got my Attie to be a bit more stable. Check out his pre-shot numbers the last few days since we changed his feeding schedule. His numbers are not anything to brag about yet, but getting the "flash drops" to go away will be a huge help in how to manage his insulin needs going forward. And if he does have a "flash drop," I would need some MC or HC on hand to safely get through it.

Have a great day today!
 
Re: 12/8 Casanova AMPS 362

Good morning Laura.
AMPS is usually the last number to come down. As far as feeding I think you will be fine with some food that is not 0% as there are so few. There are many that are below 5%.
You are already doing what is best for Cassanova.....you took him off dry, lowered his dose, monitoring his bg's, and posting for advice. :mrgreen:
Have a nice day.
 
Re: 12/8 Casanova AMPS 362 +2 308

Hi Laura,
When Shadoe was first dx, I printed out Binky's list and went to Petsmart and a few other places to get a big choice of foods with carbs under 10%. I also tried a few MC and HC from the list because you never know when you will have a situation where Casanova decides to take a BG nose dive!

I did the same for Ollie after I adopted him and it was an eye opener to find out which ones they each liked.

Once you find the ones he likes the best, you're off to the races.
Have fun shopping!
 
Re: 12/8 Casanova AMPS 362 +2 308

Laura: I understand your thoughts on the 0-1% foods. I thought the same... that for Gracie, I should put her on the 0-1% foods to control the numbers and I also put her on a similar feeding schedule as many of the cats....after PS, +1, +2, +3. But we were still having some problems (huge drops) and I consulted Jill; she told me that for some cats, it's actually better to give them the foods that have 4-5% carbs in them and I should start doing +1 checks to see how Gracie reacted to the carbs AND to also start recording what we fed when so we could see. Gracie is a diver and the higher % carbs actually do work better for her. Unfortunately, some days when I've gotten her AMPS and it was high (like yesterday), I gave her a 1% food and then she dove. I'd have been better off sticking with the higher % carb food (again 4-5% which is still LC, it's just not 0-1%). ECID...I think Jill's advice is good for everyone...try different % LC foods, record it on your spreadsheet, get some +1s, and see which foods make the difference. It is still hard for me to get a pink PS and give Gracie 4-5% carbs but it helps control the drop ...like today. Her AMPS was basically the same as yesterday but today I did give her 4% and she is coming down much slower. And what we want is to get her flattened out and then see where she needs to go with the dose. Just passing on some "fud" for thought (pun intended) that has really helped us rethink our feeding.
 
Re: 12/8 Casanova PMPS 331

Just got home and tested and Casanova's BG was 331. DH refused to test today so who knows where his numbers were today :-x Anyway, should I go ahead and stick with the 4 unit dose? With no tests during the day doesn't it make it almost impossible to see what's really happening? Feeling frustrated :sad:
 
Re: 12/8 Casanova PMPS 331

I would stick with the 4.0 for a few more cycles and see what happens. He could still be bouncing. That is my opinion, see what others say.
 
Re: 12/8 Casanova PMPS 331

Yes, I would stick with 4.0u for now, gather some data tonight, ok? Don't get too frustrated with DH, it took me months to get my DH to learn how to test and shoot, but he finally did it! Encourage and praise his attempts, just like a kid...it works wonders. ;-) In the meantime, you are not the only one in that boat, just do the best you can.
 
Re: 12/8 Casanova PMPS 331 +2 234

I'm going to try to get one more test in tonight before bed. His +2 number wasn't too bad. It's only been 4 days since I changed his diet and I'm already pleased with some of the changes. There is a closet where his food is kept and before, he would always be right there when we walked by just meowing and begging for food. It just hit me tonight that he hasn't been doing that. I hope that it's because the wet food is satisfying him more. I thought it would be more of a struggle but it's going easier than I thought. I'm used to him devouring his food as soon as I put it down-like he's starving- but now he eats a little walks away and comes back later when he wants more. His water intake has gotten back to normal which is a good thing-less litter box scooping :). Will post a +3 in about 15 minutes. Thanks again for the support.
 
Re: 12/8 Casanova PMPS 331 +2 234

Laura, I'm glad to hear that the diet change is going well and Casanova's symptoms are improving. :smile:

Since his +2 number is significantly lower than his PS #, you may have an active cycle tonight. You might not want to go to bed yet....
 
Re: 12/8 Casanova PMPS 331 +2 234

With a 100 point drop by +2, I wouldn't call it a night quite yet. You are still way before nadir. Can you get a +3?

I think what you saw this morning was a bounce from the blues last night. That bounce is now breaking. You need to have a better sense of where the numbers are going before you go to sleep.
 
Re: 12/8 Casanova PMPS 331 +2 234

your last post sounds like a lot of good things are happening. :smile:

This is actually a pretty big drop for +2, so you might see some action tonight.

LOL, I see that while I was typing two others said the same thing. See you at +3.
 
Re: 12/8 Casanova PMPS 331 +4 113

Have you fed him anything since PMPS? If not, why don't you offer him a little food. I'll watch for the +5....
 
Re: 12/8 Casanova PMPS 331 +4 113

He's eaten a little. I'll give him a some food and see if he's interested.
 
Fell asleep but just did +6 and got 85. Before I konked out about 1 hour ago he ate 1/2 can of wet 1% carb food. He's sleeping with me and seems okay.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top