? 12/8 Bailie AMPS 18 +3 18.8

Any thoughts I’m so confused and very sad what’s going on? He had an afternoon reading if 7.4 yesterday I don’t understand what’s happening .I’m so worried.
Hi Nancy, if you have a question and want anyone to know you have a question please put a? In your title and maybe ask something like dose question or something like that so that an admin knows you need help:)
 
Hi Nancy, if you have a question and want anyone to know you have a question please put a? In your title and maybe ask something like dose question or something like that so that an admin knows you need help:)
Oh boy I cant figure out how to edit the title ?
 
Any thoughts I’m so confused and very sad what’s going on? He had an afternoon reading if 7.4 yesterday I don’t understand what’s happening .I’m so worried.
Hi Nancy it looks to me that Bailie is bouncing from the blue BG yesterday. It's very common in newly diagnosed kitties :bighug:
Bouncing is explained as
Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).​
 
Hi Nancy it looks to me that Bailie is bouncing from the blue BG yesterday. It's very common in newly diagnosed kitties :bighug:
Bouncing is explained as
Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).​
Thank you does this current dose look to be working at all ? Thanks for responding to my question by the way .
 
A couple of questions. What dosing method are you following? If you're feeding any dry food, even the Dr. Elseys dry, then SLGS method is what you will follow. With SLGS, you hold the dose for 7 days unless the BG drops under 90, then perform a curve.
I have to run out for a bit, but I will be back later with some links.
 
A couple of questions. What dosing method are you following? If you're feeding any dry food, even the Dr. Elseys dry, then SLGS method is what you will follow. With SLGS, you hold the dose for 7 days unless the BG drops under 90, then perform a curve.
I have to run out for a bit, but I will be back later with some links.
Thanks, Angela, you’re the best!! @Angela & Cleo
 
A couple of questions. What dosing method are you following? If you're feeding any dry food, even the Dr. Elseys dry, then SLGS method is what you will follow. With SLGS, you hold the dose for 7 days unless the BG drops under 90, then perform a curve.
I have to run out for a bit, but I will be back later with some links.

She’s actually dosing custom dosing because of a needed dental and her vet. Nancy please write custom in your signature so people don’t keep asking you. If you are going to follow one of our methods it would be SLGS. As Chris and I have mentioned it’s hard for us to give dosing advice without following a method.
 
A couple of questions. What dosing method are you following? If you're feeding any dry food, even the Dr. Elseys dry, then SLGS method is what you will follow. With SLGS, you hold the dose for 7 days unless the BG drops under 90, then perform a curve.
I have to run out for a bit, but I will be back later with some links.
Yes I’m sorry to say he hates wet food I am trying my best to get him to eat wet food and it’s costing me a fortune lol I don’t care though because I love him so much I would sell my house for him if I had too. But he is eating Dr.Elseys dry. And he has a very small amount of seafood wet ,when I say small amount I mean it .I wish he would eat more
 
She’s actually dosing custom dosing because of a needed dental and her vet. Nancy please write custom in your signature so people don’t keep asking you. If you are going to follow one of our methods it would be SLGS. As Chris and I have mentioned it’s hard for us to give dosing advice without following a method.
I already have custom done on my signature.☺️
 
She’s actually dosing custom dosing because of a needed dental and her vet. Nancy please write custom in your signature so people don’t keep asking you. If you are going to follow one of our methods it would be SLGS. As Chris and I have mentioned it’s hard for us to give dosing advice without following a method.
So by his numbers do you think I need a change ? It will be 7 days on Monday .
 
We need to see the numbers up to Monday. You had a nadir under 150 so far which would mean you hold the dose but if the nadirs are over 150 the next few days you could increase. Let’s evaluate Sunday or Monday.
 
We need to see the numbers up to Monday. You had a nadir under 150 so far which would mean you hold the dose but if the nadirs are over 150 the next few days you could increase. Let’s evaluate Sunday or Monday.
OK, thank you so much for the response. I really appreciate it.
 
Back
Top