12/7 Yoyo AMPS 54, No AM Shot given, PMPS 276,+2 194,+3.75 139,

Debra and Yoyo

Member Since 2018
Yesteday 12/6 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-6-yoyo-amps-109-1-146-2-115.222577/

Day 12 @ 2.37 Units Lantus, (No AM dosage given)

Good Morning.....I did not give Yoyo his AM insulin as his numbers were dropping and I chickened out:nailbiting:
I stalled for about a half hour and he went to 55. I was afraid that if I gave him his dosage that he would go very low and I chose No Shot for this AM. Any input is welcomed as usual.....

If he comes up after eating, (2 hr wait), can I give him his dosage late? ANd then at what time would I give him his PM dosage?
 
Good Morning!

I can't tell you weather or not to shoot but, If you did give a shot late then you would just work it back on time 15 mins per cycle. I have shot 1 1/2 late and then worked it back.

Have a great day!
 
There's not problem with skipping if you thought he'd keep dropping. Safety first. If you shoot later, his PM shot should be 12 hours from whatever time you shoot and tomorrow you would start working the shot back to normal shot time.
 
There's not problem with skipping if you thought he'd keep dropping. Safety first. If you shoot later, his PM shot should be 12 hours from whatever time you shoot and tomorrow you would start working the shot back to normal shot time.
So in your opinion, should I just wait for his next 12 hour shot? (I feel bad that I chickened out and now he is going up high:()
 
If you shoot late this morning, you don't want to shoot early tonight. You should wait until tomorrow morning to shoot early. If you skip, you can shoot early tonight and that will depend on what his numbers are. Normally we only say shoot 30 min. early, but if he goes really high, and you have skipped the AM shot, you may be able to shoot an hour early.
 
If you shoot late this morning, you don't want to shoot early tonight. You should wait until tomorrow morning to shoot early. If you skip, you can shoot early tonight and that will depend on what his numbers are. Normally we only say shoot 30 min. early, but if he goes really high, and you have skipped the AM shot, you may be able to shoot an hour early.
Thank you very much for answering all my questions. I am very grateful for your experience and for you being here with me now :bighug:
If he is high, which I expect him to be, I will shoot an hour early tonight. Tomorrow.....can I shoot normal time?
 
Will an hour early tonight make your AM shot tomorrow 12 hours? If not, you'll need to work your way back starting in the morning.
 
Even though you didn't shoot...it's not a wasted opportunity! You can collect data to see what Yoyo does w/o insulin and see how quickly his #'s go up. It can provide comfort, when you face another low PS #, that at +2 Yoyo goes up to 120(for example) and you're shooting that #, not the PS.
I know exactly how you feel Debra. I balked on a PS of 72 with Ittle. I finally mustered the courage, with Moey, to shoot the low PS. I got it in my head that I control the cycle. As long as I test frequently and pay attention to Moey's behavior I can steer it high or low with food and karo if needed. This may be a wrong way of thinking but, it helps me shoot the low #s.
Good luck with data collection today. It's a great opportunity!!!
Yoyo be good for mom and show her how you can work the diminishing juice!:D
Have a wonderful day Debra!
 
Even though you didn't shoot...it's not a wasted opportunity! You can collect data to see what Yoyo does w/o insulin and see how quickly his #'s go up. It can provide comfort, when you face another low PS #, that at +2 Yoyo goes up to 120(for example) and you're shooting that #, not the PS.
I know exactly how you feel Debra. I balked on a PS of 72 with Ittle. I finally mustered the courage, with Moey, to shoot the low PS. I got it in my head that I control the cycle. As long as I test frequently and pay attention to Moey's behavior I can steer it high or low with food and karo if needed. This may be a wrong way of thinking but, it helps me shoot the low #s.
Good luck with data collection today. It's a great opportunity!!!
Yoyo be good for mom and show her how you can work the diminishing juice!:D
Have a wonderful day Debra!
Thank you....it makes lots of sense....thank you!
 
If you shoot late this morning, you don't want to shoot early tonight. You should wait until tomorrow morning to shoot early. If you skip, you can shoot early tonight and that will depend on what his numbers are. Normally we only say shoot 30 min. early, but if he goes really high, and you have skipped the AM shot, you may be able to shoot an hour early.
In actuality, an experienced member like Debra with lots of data and who knows their cat and how to handle the numbers can shoot up to two hours early after a skipped shot especially if the BG is on the rise.

@Debra and Yoyo Normally we advise members to wait two hours after feeding to shoot if they forget while they are stalling at a PS and feed. However, for someone as experienced as you with all the data you have and you know how to manage his curve with food, as long as you fed him LC at his AMBG, if you saw the numbers rising by +1, you could have shot. This is not any criticism of what you did but just for the “next time”.

Also....it’s absolutely fine for you to shoot at your regular time in the morning even though it will likely be at +13. You do not need to shoot 12 hours from when you shot tonight because you will be shooting late tomorrow, not early. While shooting late “can” act like a dose reduction, it will unlikely affect Yoyo at all. You aren’t new at this so it’s not a big deal to shoot an hour late so you can be back on your regular shot time.

Note to all: this last bit of advice I gave Debra is for Yoyo because I have worked with Debra long enough that I know she understands what she’s doing, she has a complete knowledge of Yoyo and his patterns, and she knows how to manage his curve with food.

I’m sure he will get back on track fast!
 
Back
Top