12/7 Tommy The Cat AMPS~431, +6 336

Status
Not open for further replies.

karenkarma

Member Since 2013
I know that my monitoring isn't exactly "tight" but I am working on it.
I am very stressed out with the new plan and it seems like I am getting advice from everywhere and it's not all computing so I am not putting too much pressure on myself yet.
(I also have diabetes and have to take quite a few shots a day for mine and I feel kind of like my whole life is needles right now.)

I have been getting a lot more readings from Tommy. He doesn't need to be burrito'd now to have his sugar tested anymore so we are working on getting more. Now that he is kind of over the "OMG WOMAN WHAT ARE YOU DOING?" stage I am going to do his curve.

I have found a good new vet too. It turns out he has this respiratory problem with a really long name that he has to have something put up his nose for and instead of being allergic to his teeth, which have almost no plaque on them at all, he has kitty herpes. We are treating that with the Lysine stuff. At least that explains his gums. He used to wheeze sometimes and it seems to be stopping!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!!

The start of the learning curve is completely overwhelming so chances are, you're exactly where you're supposed be in terms of the emotional aspect of managing Tommy's diabetes.

One very quick question, though. Your signature line indicates that you're using ProZinc. You're spreadsheet indicates that you're now using Lantus. I'm going to assume the spreadsheet is correct.

I'm not sure what insulin you use so if some of this info is a reflection of my pedantic nature, sorry!!

Lantus is different than ProZinc. With Lantus, dosing is primarily based on the nadir. You're doing a good job of testing given that it sounds like Tommy was not clued in to the rule book! We encourage you to get at minimum, 4 tests per day -- your two pre-shot tests and at least one test during each cycle. When you see a number like that 65, I would have really tried to get another test in 30 min. to make sure where Tommy's numbers were heading.

You're going to want to hold this dose for 5 - 7 days unless Tommy's numbers indicate that a dose reduction is needed. The initial dose is held a bit longer to allow the insulin depot to stabilize.

With Lantus, the dose is reduced if numbers drop below 50 in a cat within a year of diagnosis. The dosing protocol we follow is in the Tight Regulation Protoco sticky at the top of the board. There is a ton of information in those starred, sticky notes and they are a great place to get started.

Please don't hesitate to ask questions. The people here are very generous with their time and knowledge and we're all here to help.
 
Thank you!
I had forgotten to change my sig. He was on Prozinc for the first week, but somehow it didn't seem to be doing much for him.
I will go fix that now.
 
just want to add my welcome, karen.

everybody is overwhelmed at the beginning, but it really does get easier! people will help you learn - just ask away with whatever you need.

i'm looking forward to getting to know you and Tommy The Cat! :-D
 
Hi Karen ....u & Tommy r definitely in the right place for getting your questions answered.

LL saved my Kitty Monet's life and actually got him off insulin after only about 1 month !!! Please listen to the advise they give u ...they know what they r talking about ;-)
 
Hi Karen,

It's Barbara....I'm the one who helped you over on FB & sent you to PZI since you were using Pro Zinc at that point. The best thing to do for you & Tommy is to post here on Lantus every day & take their advice. These ladies know what they are doing & will help you get him straight. I would suggest to not bother with the FB group...lots of different opinions & arguments over there....it's not gonna help you at all. Good luck!

Barbara
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top