12/7 Sooty PMPS 269 +3 266

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry and Sooty

Member Since 2010
A bit late checking in today... here's yesterday...

Today: AMPS 277 +2 249 +4 250 +8 250 PMPS 269 +3 266

Per advice / dosing thoughts, from Libby and Gayle, we're holding him at 11.0u for at least another 2 cycles, to see what happens. So far so good, not too bad numbers, to start today and Cathy tells me he's not being quite such a foodaholic, so far this morning...

So, we watch and wait... see how it goes today!

Hope you all have a good Chewsday, LL peeps!
 
Re: 12/7 Sooty AMPS 277 +2 249 +4 250

And sometimes I think they do it on purpose! THEY watch US and make plans to disrupt our plans. I wish I knew how come some seem to be slower to take notice of changes; all we can do it watch.
Do some squinting at Sooty's ss and see how it looks to you, how long does he take on average to react.
Those 200's look pretty nice though; alot better than the 300s!
 
Re: 12/7 Sooty AMPS 277 +2 249 +4 250

Hi Perry and Sooty! My kitteh, Madison, had acromegaly, too. I just wanted to stop by to say hi. I looked at your SS, and I agree with Libby about holding the dose for 6 cycles. I like that Sooty's SS has barely any pink and no red. I think you're closing in on a break-through point for Sooty. (Like others have said, be careful of what you wish for! Shooting over 10u to a blue number takes some BOS. You might have to work up to it. ) :smile:
 
Re: 12/7 Sooty AMPS 277 +2 249 +4 250

Hi Perry, I forgot to mention one thing.
Others look on blues as ok but aim for greens.
With acro, I look at blues as being my greens, and my yellows as my blues.
I know it may seem odd, but I am happy when Ollie has all the yellows, and Sooty too.
Those yellows look fine.
 
Re: 12/7 Sooty AMPS 277 +2 249 +4 250

Gayle and Shadoe said:
Hi Perry, I forgot to mention one thing.
Others look on blues as ok but aim for greens.
With acro, I look at blues as being my greens, and my yellows as my blues.
I know it may seem odd, but I am happy when Ollie has all the yellows, and Sooty too.
Those yellows look fine.

OK I hear that ans it makes me think that maybe, we have to seriously rethink the goals for Sooty, then - as I don't quite know why, but I had it in mind, that we should be able to get him into <200s (mid to high 100s) on a fairly consistent basis...???

Add to that the knowledge that we obtained back in October, when we stopped giving him insulin altogether and he cruised along at the same old numbers (~250s - and showed FAR less appetite issues then too!) and it makes me wonder if we should even keep on trying to fight this with insulin at all???

What is really achieveable then - and at what cost? Can Acrocats be pulled down into the mid to high 100s? Are we chasing our (& Sooty's!) tail ??
 
Re: 12/7 Sooty AMPS 277 +2 249 +4 250 +8 250

I can only speak from my experience, all 5 months of acro experience :lol: but there are a lot of acro cats who are well regulated in blue. They get there in different ways. Jazzy is doing well, and she would do better if I was home more and could raise her dose more aggressively or shoot a bit lower. So far (again, limited experience, I haven't experienced any of the dramatic acro rev up or rev down phases yet), I have found her to be easier to regulate than most diabetic cats. She is so flat that I just have to work on getting her flat into a range that I like. I think she is almost there. Sooty's spreadsheet looks fairly similar to Jazzy's so far.

Here are a couple of other acro spreadsheets I like to study:

Buckwheat (be sure to take a look at her other tabs, she has saved some good information)
KB he is running kind of yellow right now, but scroll back and you'll see lots of blue
Chika
Porscha who wouldn't want this spreadsheet?

There are others, of course, but these are a few that popped to mind and are people who you probably haven't "met" here yet.
 
Re: 12/7 Sooty AMPS 277 +2 249 +4 250 +8 250

this condo is the learning channel of the forum.

i love it!
 
Re: 12/7 Sooty AMPS 277 +2 249 +4 250 +8 250

Sienne and Gabby said:
I really like Gayle's point. It puts all of those yellows in perspective.

I understand but the BG is just one piece of this, the rest is his general well-being, there's also the Polyphagia and Polydypsia, which are showing no real sign of being controlled yet. This is hard to understand since we know from experience, that although the BG tale showed almost no change, he seemed to do a lot better while he was suspended from lantus altogether and getting no insulin at all (back in October).

Anyhow we haven't come this far down the road to turn back just yet, so tomorrow we'll go to 12.0u and on we go...

One thing I do think we maybe ought to think about now might be adding 'R' to the picture?
 
Oh something just caught my eye!
You switched from Lantus to Lev recently.... OK I can tell you that on Lantus, Shadoe had frequent urine problems and did not seem as 'at ease' on Lantus as she is with Lev.

As soon as Shadoe was on Lev, urine issues are few and far between now. Now, it's only if she has a big change in BG at some point - I can tell she has gone low, eaten like mad, and had her expected piddle accident. Not so on Lev. Subtle things and yes a lesser dose on Lev too.

Watch Sooty closely for signs of change. Ollie is not one to get high numbers, but it's taking 22u to keep him in those nice yellows and some blues.

Whatever you decide to do, you want to be sure that your plan is one that keeps Sooty below that 240 mark. Stopping insulin and being satisfied with higher yellows will be hard on Sooty, so maybe Lev just needs a bit more time to settle in.
 
Gayle and Shadoe said:
Oh something just caught my eye!
You switched from Lantus to Lev recently.... OK I can tell you that on Lantus, Shadoe had frequent urine problems and did not seem as 'at ease' on Lantus as she is with Lev.

As soon as Shadoe was on Lev, urine issues are few and far between now. Now, it's only if she has a big change in BG at some point - I can tell she has gone low, eaten like mad, and had her expected piddle accident. Not so on Lev. Subtle things and yes a lesser dose on Lev too.

Watch Sooty closely for signs of change. Ollie is not one to get high numbers, but it's taking 22u to keep him in those nice yellows and some blues.

Whatever you decide to do, you want to be sure that your plan is one that keeps Sooty below that 240 mark. Stopping insulin and being satisfied with higher yellows will be hard on Sooty, so maybe Lev just needs a bit more time to settle in.

Yes I agree!!! Thanks Gayle - your thoughts on this are ALWAYS more than welcome!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top