12/7 Sarge AMPS 379 +1.5 359 PMPS 381

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alison & Sarge

Member Since 2014
Sarge is pink this morning but can't complain since we were up half the night eating high carb food. Yup, another no go on anything 2.5. Even if it's skinny. After a 41 last night on S2.5U we decreased to 2.25U again. I think we will end up back at F2.25U and I hope it works better this go around. Not sure what to do when next dose up is too much but the fat dose below it doesn't seem to do it. I guess I could tinker with the carb value of the food he eats? We will see what he does the next few cycles back on 2.25U. Sarge is pulling my hair as I type this. He must want attention. He already had food and treats! Happy Sunday LL friends :)
 
Re: 12/7 Sarge AMPS 379

Alison:

I have a slightly different suggestion providing you can get a +2 test. One strategy I found helpful with Gabby was to use food to try to prevent a dose reduction. The rationale for holding the dose as long as possible is that it can help to flatten out the curve. It looks like Sarge likes to bounce. Last night, for example, if you had gotten a test a bit earlier than your +5.25, you could have been giving some carbs, prevented quite so steep of a drop and kept the curve flatter. You also wouldn't necessarily have needed to reduce the dose.

If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see that I intervene pretty early with HC food. Over time, Gabby has been much less bouncy.
 
Re: 12/7 Sarge AMPS 379

What Sienne suggests you try is exactly what has helped Max since he has tended to fail reductions. It was also suggested to shoot through the bounce next time I feel I need to try a reduction and see if that will keep enough depot to help him hold the reduction. Good luck.
 
Re: 12/7 Sarge AMPS 379

I hadn't thought of feeding carbs that early. Seems like it really works for bouncers. Sarge's +2 are usually pretty high. Is it still safe to feed higher carb when you are in the 300's already? He won't go red or black on me will he? I guess we are building a depot at the same time too. I am running out of split doses to try so this just might be the ticket :)
 
I only feed the higher carbs when Max is dropping too fast or getting low too soon in the cycle and I suspect he will earn a reduction. I wouldn't feed the higher carbs when he is at 300. For example on 11/29 I would have given some 9% after the night reading of 122. Last night when you got a yellow pmps I would not have waited as long as you did to test. I always get a +2.5 or +3, especially if the pre-test is lower than it has been. Tonight wit Max I waited 1 1/2 hours to test after the 92 and only fed 3% because I didn't expect him to drop. I should have fed 9%.
 
Ok, I think I've got it. I wil work him on this new plan this week. I might have to change his shot scheudle a little to ensure I am still home at +2 but that's do able. If we can head off the bounces I think everything will look better. Thanks guys :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top