12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welcome!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Well here goes nothing. Since everything else I have tried as failed so far, I'm giving split dosing a try to see if I can even her out a little bit.

My plan at least for today is to split her 1u between .5 at her normal shot time and .5u at +2 and see where that gets us.

So here is the tale of the tape as we progress today:

Amps#1 ~ 250 .5u given & fed
amps#2 ~ 297 .5u given
+4 ~ 165 (+s are # of hours since first ps)
+6 ~ 74
+8 ~ 133
+10 ~ 251
pmps#1 ~ 341
pmps#2 ` 309
+4 ~ 211
---------------------------------------------------------
Average for today: 225.6

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

I just went through your SS with a fine tooth comb and something popped out at me that you might be interested in. Muse seems "reactive" to Lantus, in other words, she gets good numbers and then next preshot she's high again. This all at a low dose, and this has been her pattern all along. I would expect to see this in a newly dx cat starting on Lantus - not one this far into treatment. So... my lead-in brings me to this: I'd recommend Levemir. It's a bit more gentle PH-wise and we have found many cats who bounce this much on low doses of Lantus may do better on Levemir.

Just food for thought :)
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

I could add that Shadoe does better on Levemir than on Lantus. I don't know why, but Shadoe acted more tense on Lantus which I did not notice until switching her to Lev and noticing her relax.

I was wondering if it may help for you to record the type and amount of food/snacks given so that some who have used food to manipulate can help as well.
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

Thanks Ladies,

Yep insulin change is one thing that I have thought about. But right now Lantus is what I have to work with and she is a DCIN sponsored cat. Venita is the one that suggest trying the split dosing with her to see if we could smooth her peaks and valleys out some. And I agree she is highly reactive to Lantus. I don't know if this matters or not but she is also a DKA survivor before I adopted her, but so far I have not seen even a trace of Ketones with her and I do test her as often as I can catch her in the litter box. Which is fairly often since her litter box is in our bathroom and she seems to be a 'social' pee-er...She likes to join me in the bathroom in the morning :roll:

As far as food goes that one is easy, she eats what the other 12 eat. Friskies pate-style canned food. She gets 1/4 of a 5.5 oz. can 4 times a day, she is fed at her amps 6:30cst, then again at +6 or 1pm cst, then again at her pmps or 6:30 cst, then again right before I retire for the night at around +3ish or right around 10pm.

Currently I am cycling through different flavors of Friskies to that I can keep all the cats happy. Today's menu is Mariner's Catch at 7% carbs according to Binky's list. All the flavors I use are between 6-7% carbs. I have tried limiting her to a single flavor with flies for about 2 days max and then she refuses to eat until something else is served, the same with both her dining companions Maxwell and Lady Jane Grey. If I don't rotate I have cats not eating.

Where I live and the diets of the other 12 cats limits me to what I can and can not feed. My basic choices here are 9-lives, Friskies and when I can get them all to eat it Special Kitty. The high quality canned foods are not available here, and ordering online is not cost effective when feeding 13, nor is something like Fancy Feast...3 0z. cans just don't happen here with as many mouths to feed as I have and a single income. I also have to take into consideration that I have 1 civie allergic to corn & wheat, and 2 with a slight allergy to chicken ( with them I do still feed chicken but try to limit it to once a week like fish).

As far as snacks/treats she gets plain cooked turkey or chicken. What I normally do for treats for all the cats and the dog is buy up whole chickens or turkeys when on sale, cook them then strip the meat, cut into bite-size pieces and package up so each package last me a couple of days and freeze the rest.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

MommaOfMuse said:
Thanks Ladies,

Yep insulin change is one thing that I have thought about. But right now Lantus is what I have to work with and she is a DCIN sponsored cat.

Good! Levemir is cheaper LOL They might be happy to hear you're considering change :D
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

I also have two partly used pens of Levermir sitting in my frig right now that are some of my mom's leftovers, that she gave me awhile back just in case Musette's Lantus didn't get here before I ran out of what I had on hand for her. Fortunately or maybe unfortunately the Lantus did arrive before I needed to break out Mom's Levermir. But right now I also have the one pen that I'm using and 5 others of Lantus, since we are now starting winter here, shipping insulin out here would not be ideal. Current temp is a whopping 27 and it feels like a heat wave after yesterday's high of 10, our nights are starting to dip into the single digits and below zero.

Although I will say after just starting the split dosing with her today I can't complain about her numbers, just have to see how the rest of the day goes.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

Not exactly sure what you hope to achieve with the split dosing. I'm sure Venita has shared her experience with you. Splitting 2 hours apart is going to extend duration. Is that what you're aiming for?

And I will third the recommendation to switch to Levemir. What are the expirations and the amount left in those pens you have from your mom?
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

Yes, I'm trying to extend her duration somewhat so she doesn't take off so fast after her nadir, as well as try to smooth out some of her rapid rises and drops.

The pens of Levermir I have right now exp. date 9/13 one pen has right around 10 units left in it and the other is around 60 units left. Mom is on a very high dose of Lev so I would guess without talking to her that she has only used each one a couple of times. Last I knew mom was taking 80 units a day, so judging by what is left in each she has maybe used them once or twice max.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

This sounds like a win-win for you if you decide to try it! :)
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

Here's her data popped into an Excel 2003 format spreadsheet and graphed.

Thought you might like a visual look at it.
 

Attachments

Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

Thanks BJ,

Unfortunately my computer is too stupid to open xls files. :sad:

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

HI Princess FuzzyButt! It's SURF silly, lose the diving boards and ladders!

Mel - will this change really show up this fast with Lantus? I would expect it with Humulin but I thought it took Lantus more time to see the change.

Hugs, you're gonna break this toy yet.... ;-)
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

MommaOfMuse said:
Thanks BJ,

Unfortunately my computer is too stupid to open xls files. :sad:

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang


OK. uploaded to google Docs! Musette
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

MommaOfMuse said:
Yes, I'm trying to extend her duration somewhat so she doesn't take off so fast after her nadir, as well as try to smooth out some of her rapid rises and drops.

The pens of Levermir I have right now exp. date 9/13 one pen has right around 10 units left in it and the other is around 60 units left. Mom is on a very high dose of Lev so I would guess without talking to her that she has only used each one a couple of times. Last I knew mom was taking 80 units a day, so judging by what is left in each she has maybe used them once or twice max.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.

The pen with 10U in it won't be very usable, as it becomes almost impossible to pull doses below that out of it. The one with 60U in it would last about a month, plenty of time for you to decide if Levemir is for her. I know we can't ship insulin in the winter time, but can your mom get a pen for you? She could say she lost one ;-)
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

Not a clue how fast it will take to take full effect, this is the first time I have even thought about playing this game. Maxwell was a textbook lantus boy...Ms. Fluffybutt not so much, she refuses to read the documentation on how it is suppose to work. She is maing up the rules all by herself to suit the way her Meowjesty wants to play the game...lol

I'm trying real hard to break my toy, but right now I would settle for regulation.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

Vicki,

I honestly don't know if she can or not, both mom and dad are in their 80s and they lost their health insurance or at least most of it when General Motors cut all the retirement benefits. Dad worked for General Motors for nearly 40 years and they have cut them off to just about all their retirement benefits. I know right now Mom can't even get them to pay for her dialysis even though she is down to 20% kidney function because she isn't quite into 'end' stage yet. <sigh> Both her and dad have all kinds of health problems and are on multiple meds most of which are coming out of their pockets, because they also don't qualify for medicade or other public assistance. Kind of a catch-22.

I almost hate to even ask her. I'm sure she would be willing to help because she is a big-time animal lover...I think I inherit it from her, but knowing how strapped she is all the way around I don't want to put her in the position to either have to say no, or give up one of her pens and then be short herself. And for Musette I'm sure she would hand over one of hers and then go without or reduce her own dose to make up for it...She is just that way when it comes to helping out critters, and she has a real soft spot for Himalayans as she use to breed them and Persians when I was growing up.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

Mel,
I'm very sorry to hear what your parents are going through. None of that is right. But we're supposed to stay a-political on the board so I will leave it at that. My best wishes to them.
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

wow...this will be VERY interesting to see the results!

Best of luck!
:-D

celi
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

I hope it goes well for you and Musette! I am going to be watching very closely. I am considering adjusting Missy's dosing schedule to every ten hours because she is not responding well, either.I will let you know how that goes, too. All I can says you are very brave and to be commended for trying something different if your current schedule is not working!! Good luck to you and Musette. :-D
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

Well not to shabby for the first day, still a little steep, but it is just the first day on what is equalivent to a new dose. It will be interesting to see where she levels out too.

I did expect her to be a little higher on tonight's pmps she saw a lot of time in the blues and greens today.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Re: 12/7 Musette 1st day of split dosing -hand holders welco

Musette passed away on May 31st 2012 She was misdiagnoised by an ER vet and was not properly treated for two weeks, by the time I was able to transfer her to my regular vet it was too late to save her from the undiagnoised anemia. She will always be missed but she is forever in my heart.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top