Re: 12/7 Mikey AMPS 240 +2 60 +2.5 46 Here we go again...
I don't know what to think at this point. I talked to my vet, who is going to talk to an internal medicine specialist who has lots of experience. She doesn't have much experience with FD, but has been amazing. She has spent her days off researching and consulting for Mikey. It seems as though, even for vets, the research is often conflicting! One vet in the practice read to shoot a dose, no matter what, for a week, to see if he stabilizes, which on one level does make sense with the way Lantus works. I am wondering if we should try that with like a drop at each shot and see if it stabilizes over a few days, but I still worry about the constant low-feed-bounce that we're going through.
I guess that at this point, a huge part of our problem is that because of the lows, we don't have a true curve with a nadir. We know the insulin is kicking in immediately and having a huge effect, but later in the cycle is being effected by the fact that I have to give him carbs to counteract the hypo. The scariest part for me is that he doesn't show any symptoms when he does go low, not even in the 30's or 40's. It has been suggested to shoot and watch for symptoms without constant testing, in order to give him a chance to get through a couple of cycles, but that scares me a lot. He's already very mildly neuro (unrelated to FD), so he'd have to be worse than that to show, and by then, it's pretty scary, especially with the nearest E-vet a half hour away with no traffic. I do know a couple of people who use insulin and never hometest and their cats seem fine no matter what their numbers might be, but that's really scary.
My vet is waiting on her internist consult and is going to call me back in a couple of hours. I'm going to ask about doing a drop at each shot and going from there, though so far a .75 reduction has made zero difference.