12/7 Michelangelo AMPS 245, +6/261 - Cat Sitter?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

I ended up using the ReliOn Prime almost exclusively yesterday, so I subtracted 10 from his AM +3 (the only test I used the ReliOn Nano on).

Yes, I know it wasn't wise that I didn't test again last night after his +5 was 84! (More like around 94 with my old glucometers.) I fed him a full 3oz can of FF and then completely just passed out! :o He didn't wake me, so I know he was fine through the night. Back before I first started BG testing and he'd go borderline hypo at night, he'd wake me up every time. I'd feed him and then fall back asleep. I didn't know it at the time, but that is probably what kept him from going trip-to-the-ER-hypo those first two weeks!

ecurie said:
Hi
Will you take Michelangelo along with you to meet the prospective new member?
hugs to you and Mikey..
mary and oliver

Probably not because the stress of the car ride would make it difficult to gauge how happy Mikey might really be with the prospective new member. :lol: I didn't get to pick my siblings so neither does he! haha_smiley He'll just have to learn to share.
 
Re: 12/7 Michelangelo AMPS 245, +6/261

I got in another argument with my brother about my treatment with Michelangelo's diabetes. :YMSIGH: I forgot to set up his food this morning for throughout the day so I texted my brother who was at home still, asking if he could please feed Mikey so I wouldn't have to drive home at lunch and, if he felt up to it and had enough time, to also test him. He replied back that Mikey refused to come out from under the couch, even when offered treats and was swiping at him and drew blood. So, thinking he might be irritable because his blood sugar was too low, I ended up driving home at lunch anyway.

Then, once I got there, my brother proceeded to tell me that Michelangelo hides around everyone else when I'm not around and takes swipes at people and bites people and is not a nice cat. He said if I can't take care of him 24/7/365 because I have to travel for work then I shouldn't expect someone else take care of him (namely our mutual friend who I "trained" on Monday) because it "isn't normal" to have such an anti-social cat and that when you add on the diabetes, I should just get rid of him and get myself a new cat without any of the problems. :cry: Sometimes I wonder how we even came from the same parents!

I wasn't around when my friend tested Mikey on Monday because my brother said that it was more difficult for someone else to test him when I was around so I went in the backyard and waited as my brother walked our friend through the testing process. But, I guess something must have happened with my friend when she was testing his blood, like he swiped at her or bit her or something. She never said anything to me and this was the first I'd heard of it.

Either way, what this all means is that now I have to find a cat sitter in a week. Does anyone have any recommendations for where I should start looking and what I need to ask about? (I'm in Orange County.)

I'd honestly feel more comfortable just not having anyone give him shots while I'm gone so I don't have to worry about blood testing or hypos or them giving the wrong dose or him injuring anyone. Then, all I'd have to worry about is that they remember to feed him, which is easy enough. How fast can a DKA (or any other hyperglycemic event) happen? He'd only miss 4 shots: first day, it'd be only the PMS; second day, both AMS/PMS; and the third day's AMS shot.
 
There's really no way to know how quickly a cat can develop DKA. The last thing you'd want is to come home to a cat that's critically ill.

I found my catsitter's through my vet. I asked if any of the techs do any catsitting. There were several. My suggestion would be to start there. Alternatively, check on Yelp.

As for your brother... Cats react they way he described when they are scared or defending their territory. I have 2 cats. Gizmo is outgoing and loves everyone. Gabby is shy and will interact with people on her own terms because she's timid. If you want to get scratched and have a yowling cat in your face, try to pick her up. I'm the only one who can. My catsitter, who's an experienced vet tech, can't test her. Rather than stress Gabby out, she doesn't test but she is able to give an injection. They seem to have an understanding. You brother is clueless about cats, or at least so it seems. It sounds like he thinks cats are like dogs. Cats are not pack animals and do not thrive on praise. They are independent, territorial, and have an attitude. Perhaps you should suggest that he never get sick because given his disposition and his thoughts about how creatures should be cared for, there will be no one who will be there for him should he become ill.
 
Hi,
As per usual, Sienne gets right to the kernel of the thought and has the answer. We also found our sitter through our vet. You might also try getting them to meet Mikey with you at home before you leave. I'd be betting that if Mikey felt safe with you and met a new person who played with his mouse with him, or talked softly to him, there'd be a better chance for a good outcome.
I know you will find just the right person.
take good care and all the luck in the world.
mary and oliver
 
Sorry to hear about your troubles with your brother and Michelangelo. I have three cats, they are all great with DH and I and have their own personalities. Cookie is shy and nervous and hides from all strangers. Tiggy was super friendly to everyone when he was a kitten, went through puberty and now wont let anyone near him - growls and smacks at them. Bailey is friendly and loves everyone. But the important thing is how they are with us, and they are great so we don't care how they are with strangers!.

Now when we went away for two weeks this summer I was really worried. Tiggy and Bailey both needed tested and shots. So I spoke to my vet who recommended a pet sitter ( well not recommended so much as "a lot of our clients use them"). I met with them within a day and explained the issue - Bailey would be fine to test and shoot but Tiggy I was really worried about if he would let anyone near him. The pet sitter said she is used to difficult cats though - and true enough she managed to shoot him - however we didnt ask her to test. We arranged to give him a smaller dose just to be careful of hypos. She fed and shot at the same time to keep him distracted while she was giving the shot.

Our backup plan in case she couldnt get near him was that we warned our vet, who also has boarding facilities , and had it been an issue, she would drive Tiggy to the vet and leave him there instead.

So..
1. Find a sitter - Ask your vet... I saw lots in Orange County when I googled. Get them to come over and try testing Mikey asap - and give you a level of comfort with them.
2. Find out if your vet boards - that might be the easiest solution - although not cheap.. and its a good backup plan if the sitter has issues.
3. Invite more friends round to try and socialise Mikey - lot of playing and treats and interaction to get him used to people while he is still young -google some sites on how to do this. Its a process.
 
… because my brother said that it was more difficult for someone else to test him when I was around
:roll: Of course you should have been there, Mikey was scared and defensive, he would have felt safe w/ you there. I really think it is your brother who should not have been around. He is clearly antagonistic towards Mikey and probably made things worse w/ your friend. Did you actually hear from your friend that she won't do it or just via dear bro? You should talk to her yourself.

If you can't find someone to test a reduced shot will at least keep Mikey from doing too badly. I think a vet tech is a great way to go and do be sure to give your vet a heads up just in case.
 
Kazi is incredibly easy for me to test and shoot - it's rare for her to act up and not let me do what needs to be done without a fuss. It isn't the same story when it is someone she doesn't know very well - she tolerates it but is much more difficult (tries to get away). I think it's a level of trust - we test via paw pad so there is a flipping of the kitty involved. ;-) I would ask your friend how things went - if he was a punk maybe check with your vet as the others suggested. I know it is stressful to find someone you trust... I always slim down Kazi's dose a good deal when I leave her. Gives me some peace of mind that she won't hypo but also keeps her BG from going to the moon. I wouldn't suggest skipping shots entirely if you can help it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top