12/7 Lucy PMPS=193;+1=180;+2=119;+4=106 // DOSECREASED

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Happy Saturday!

Yesterday's condo

12/6 AMPS=124; +2=148; +7=75=121
12/6 PMPS=184; +2=214; +5=196

12/7 AMPS=194; +2=220; +5=214; +9=160
12/7 dosecreased PMPS=193; +1=180; +2=119; +3=104; +4=106; +6.5=130

Well I"m getting pretty frustrated.
Lucy's been on a dosecrease ladder since the beginning of November.
Every time I up the dose, I basically see no change.
She may give me one good cycle, but that's it.
Now she is on her largest dose, and it's her 6th cycle.
Not a single green so far, and she's surfing yellow this morning. :-x

How can I change this?
How can I help her?
Am I holding the dose for too long?
I ended up holding the previous dose for 18 cycles because I couldn't tell if she was just high or bounce-high.
Or do I just need to be patient?
I don't feel like I'm doing this right, so your thoughts/suggestion will be very much appreciated!
 
Re: 12/7 Lucy AMPS=194;+2=220;+5=214 // FRUSTRATED

I'm sorry you're frustrated ((Hugs)) I get frustrated a lot, too :(
It looks like it's time for a dose increase, tonight. Do you need to borrow my patience pants?
 
Re: 12/7 Lucy AMPS=194;+2=220;+5=214 // FRUSTRATED

I'm sorry you're frustrated. I don't have any dose advice. I hope Lucy will give you some better numbers soon. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/7 Lucy AMPS=194;+2=220;+5=214 // FRUSTRATED

I can appreciate your frustration. However, when I look at Lucy's SS, I see some pretty good numbers overall. I think you may need to keep in mind that because she's on a steroid, she may need a larger dose or at the very least, you have the added challenge of having to overcome the BG raising action of the medication she needs to get her numbers lower.

That said, I'd encourage you to evaluate her dose every 3 - 5 days. If her nadir isn't where you want it, then increase the dose.
 
Re: 12/7 Lucy AMPS=194;+2=220;+5=214 // FRUSTRATED

(((Mariko)))

Sometimes it is really discouraging but try not to get attached to a dose or worry if her dose has to go up beyond what she's been on before. Look at Trixie's SS. I don't think Amy ever figured out what caused Trixie to start needing so much more insulin but she just stuck with the dose increases and then Trixie started coming back down. Earlier this year, she had to take her all the way up to 5u (way higher than Trix had ever been) and she's back down to 1.5u now and looking great. I also had to take Gracie up from .5u to 1.4u before she started coming back down.....no apparent reason.

Sometimes, they just need more insulin....I have a theory that for Gracie, at least, her insulin needs are somewhat seasonal and so I get more aggressive during certain times of the year to try and keep her doing a little better. Sienne's suggestion is a great one....what nadir do you want to see? Then start taking the dose up systematically according to protocol until you start seeing those nadirs.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: I'm truly sorry for your frustration....we all empathize and you are such an awesome mom!!!
 
Re: 12/7 Lucy AMPS=194;+2=220;+5=214;+9=160

Thank you very much, Dyana, Carla, Sienne and Marje, for your advice and encouragement.
I will try to be a little more aggressive until she starts doing a little better.

I did want to give her 10 cycles on this dose, but since I don't want the next dosecrease to happen on a work day, I will do it this weekend.
Here is my plan.
If her PMPS tonight is more than 20% lower than her +9 (160), I will hold just one more cycle.
Otherwise, I will raise her dose tonight.
I have heard of people talk about a yellow cycle before a break through, so I want to see what her PMPS will be like before I pre-set the calipers....

Ahhh... always too hopleful.... I keep thinking, maybe next cycle, maybe tomorrow, which essentially delays the needed increase....
 
Re: 12/7 Lucy AMPS=194;+2=220;+5=214;+9=160

(((Mariko))) You're doing a great job! Lucy is lucky! :-D :lol: She just may need more jooce. How are her teeth? Have a wonderful Caturday evening.
Liz
 
Re: 12/7 Lucy AMPS=194;+2=220;+5=214;+9=160

Thank you, Liz.

Lucy's teeth aren't "good".
We know she's got some tartar, and her breath smells...well interesting, but I don't smell any infection.
I talked to the vet about her dental this summer.
When she checked her mouth, her comment was "she could have a dental cleaning, but nothing urgent's going on."
And she also said that with everything else going on with Lucy (FD, IBD, pancreatitis, CKD, etc.), she didn't want to do dental on her unless the risk of not doing it becomes greater, such as abscess.
Right now, she thinks the risk of putting her under anesthesia is greater than not doing dental....
The vet saying "I don't want to do it." definitely scared me away from it.
But maybe she thinks Lucy may not have long to go thus not worth it whereas I'm thinking Lucy will live forever.....
 
Re: 12/7 Lucy AMPS=194;+2=220;+5=214;+9=160

Ah yes...Trix did take us on a wild ride earlier this year. For the most part, I think it was connected to me messing with her diet, and when I did that we really lost control, even after I removed the "offending" foods. As you saw, we were pretty aggressive with her increases...it was a bit shocking to take her up as high as she was, but we just kept plugging away until we did hit a break through. Until that point, increase after increase seemed to have no effect, so I do know how you feel...it was frustrating.

But, try to look at the big picture, too, and remember that Lucy is way more than her numbers. SOmetimes that is easier said than done, because we beans really want to fix this whole FD thing. You're doing a great job, and Lucy knows how much you love her...that's the most important stuff in this dance.

Have a great night, Mariko!
 
Re: 12/7 Lucy AMPS=194;+2=220;+5=214;+9=160

(((Mariko)))

I'm sorry that your sweet girl is giving you fits! You're doing such a good job with her and she's living a better life because of it. Keep up the good work, take deep breaths (have a glass of wine...when needed!) and keep loving on that little girl. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/7 Lucy PMPS=193 // DOSECREASED

Sorry about your frustrating day Mariko :YMHUG: Great advice on your condo today. Good luck with the dosecrease and fingers/paws crossed that this one does the trick. You are so good with Lucy, and she is a VERY lucky little girl to have you as her mamabean :-D
 
Re: 12/7 Lucy PMPS=193 // DOSECREASED

Thank you very much, Amy, Deborah and Kim, for your words of encouragement.

Lucy's went higher at PMPS, so I gave her a raise.
This way, I will at least have 3 cycles on this dose before Monday when I'll have to leave her for a hew hours during AM cycles.
 
Re: 12/7 Lucy PMPS=193;+1=180;+2=119 // DOSECREASED

Thank you, Rachel!
Lucy's +2 is already better.
She may be finally responding to a dose increase.
But I will try not to be too hopeful because I want to stay calm and not be frustrated or disappointed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top