12/7 Indy AMPS - 400+

Aw, Jessica, I'm so sorry! I know that's so frustrating! We've all had fur shots. Where are you shooting him? Maybe if you walk us through your shot process (if you want to, of course), we can offer some ideas to help keep Mr. Wiggles a bit more steady. I'm super lucky with Jude; I shoot him in the scruff as he's eating, and he hardly notices. Hang in there! Don't beat yourself up; you're doing your very best for him.
 
We were shooting him in the scruff but then read that could cause scarring etc. So we have been trying alternative spots. Most of the time hubby does it on his own and just said he has been more wiggly lately but is also wondering if we are messing up with the new syringes because their only 5/16th instead 1/2in. But I could find 1/2 in with the half unit markings. Think we are just feeling a bit overwhelmed with all of it. Trying to do the best we can and feeling like we are failing.
 
We were shooting him in the scruff but then read that could cause scarring etc. So we have been trying alternative spots. Most of the time hubby does it on his own and just said he has been more wiggly lately but is also wondering if we are messing up with the new syringes because their only 5/16th instead 1/2in. But I could find 1/2 in with the half unit markings. Think we are just feeling a bit overwhelmed with all of it. Trying to do the best we can and feeling like we are failing.
I’m going to tag someone who can help with syringes. @squeem3

I think the goal with shooting is to move the shot site frequently, and not shoot in the exact same location. Are you making sure to shoot with the bevel up? Have you tried shooting as he eats—it’s a good distraction.
 
Yesterday

Think we ended up with another fur shot last night and this morning. He just won't stop wiggling. I feel like a failure and we are overwhelmed.
Awww Jessica, we’ve all done it. It’s so frustrating when it happens.
Be kind to yourselves, it happens. Try to breathe and be kind to yourselves.
We understand.
Hold still Indy!! 😻❤️‍🩹 :bighug:
 
Needle length is preference. If the 1/2 inch ones work better, then use those :) The 5/16 ones you can fully insert into the tented skin which I would not attempt to do with 1/2 inch ones because you risk poking through the tent and into a finger🫣
 
Thanks everyone. His numbers were just doing so good and then we messed up and we are back where we started. :-( I will show hubby this stuff though. Thanks again!
 
Back
Top