12/7 Herman amps 135 +3 88 +7 76 pmps 76

Ever since our "episode" of aggression (possibly from a low BG but unconfirmed) the other day Herman has grown wary of testing. I know why - I tried mighty hard to get a test during that episode and while failing to get a test I think I lost some of his trust. :( As such, our shots have been a bit hairy, too. Herman is running out of patience. Don't really blame him. I am so scared that I will not be able treat him at all if we continue down this path.

Simultaneously, due to "life" (sigh) Herman has actually had a significant break in testing over the past couple days where I gave some skinny doses (where he not surprisingly ran high - I do also think he was bouncing as well). I am home most of today so gave regular dose - but at +3 he has had enough of me already :oops:.

If this trend continues and testing and shots become increasingly difficult (I will ofcourse keep trying to get amps pmps and a few mid day whenever he allows)...I find myself wondering if I must switch to SLGS. Would I try maybe a modified version? For instance I just got a +88 but I don't think I should reduce...

Feeling worried - I welcome input.
 
How's Herman doing? Any more aggression? How are you? :bighug::bighug:
I just posted as you sent that - things aren't getting a whole lot better on any front. Contemplating SLGS if this continues and tests become increasingly difficult to obtain. I feel like I am failing him - and we were doing so well :oops:
 
You still are doing so well! Those blues and greens are great numbers to have! I know the more anxious I am with testing and shots the more Cleo fights me on them. The calmer and quieter I am, the less she resists. I think she's confused that for a few minutes Mommy is Quiet since my mouth is always running :p. I also started a mini play session shortly after testing in addition to the test treat. Sometimes it's the laser pointer sometimes it's the crinkle ball and sometimes I let her hunt me. As long as I get down on the ground with her for 5 mins she seems to allow more handling. That's not saying much because she does not allow much handling :rolleyes: but it's something.
For shots, I started the pinch and tent her skin during snack time with no needle. It is a work in progress but has helped with giving the shots at shot time. I picked that up as part of a counterconditioning training. If She's REALLY fighting the shot, then I resort to a little MC gravy on the top of the food.

As far as switching to SLGS, it's a choice which fits into your lifestyle. Just like Herman, CGs need a break.
You've made such GREAT progress and whatever you decide IS the right decision. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I think I should also point out that as we go into our first winter with Diabetes....Herman is naturally less content in the winter - he is so much happier in the summer spending most of his day outside
You still are doing so well! Those blues and greens are great numbers to have! I know the more anxious I am with testing and shots the more Cleo fights me on them. The calmer and quieter I am, the less she resists. I think she's confused that for a few minutes Mommy is Quiet since my mouth is always running :p. I also started a mini play session shortly after testing in addition to the test treat. Sometimes it's the laser pointer sometimes it's the crinkle ball and sometimes I let her hunt me. As long as I get down on the ground with her for 5 mins she seems to allow more handling. That's not saying much because she does not allow much handling :rolleyes: but it's something.
For shots, I started the pinch and tent her skin during snack time with no needle. It is a work in progress but has helped with giving the shots at shot time. I picked that up as part of a counterconditioning training. If She's REALLY fighting the shot, then I resort to a little MC gravy on the top of the food.

As far as switching to SLGS, it's a choice which fits into your lifestyle. Just like Herman, CGs need a break.
You've made such GREAT progress and whatever you decide IS the right decision. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Angela - this means alot. :bighug: One day at a time - he was good for our +7 poke, I think we are good till pmps now. :oops:
 
You ARE doing great — amazing, actually, considering where you started. Giving yourself and him a break with a switch to SLGS wouldn’t be the end of your progress. Remember, you can always switch back when circumstances improve. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Karen. It's true - I can go back to TR when things settle. I might put the question to some of the gurus and see what they say - I am a little confused by the reduction point, because that would mean today Herman earned a reduction (to what I assume would be 0.1units) but I'm quite certain that won't hold him. Hmmm.
 
Sorry you are going through this Amy! I’ve seen some people set a custom reduction point using SLGS like 70 or 80. You could try something like Felliway to see if that will help Herman? There are also a lot of environmental enhancements you could set up for him? I put several bird feeders in front of windows were I had cat trees and platforms for Simon. He loved that and it kept him very occupied. There is also gabapentin if you think he might be in pain or something like CBD? Anyway I hope Herman feels better soon. :smuggrin:
 
Sorry you are going through this Amy! I’ve seen some people set a custom reduction point using SLGS like 70 or 80. You could try something like Felliway to see if that will help Herman? There are also a lot of environmental enhancements you could set up for him? I put several bird feeders in front of windows were I had cat trees and platforms for Simon. He loved that and it kept him very occupied. There is also gabapentin if you think he might be in pain or something like CBD? Anyway I hope Herman feels better soon. :smuggrin:
Yes - that would make more sense I think - reducing at 70 might be the ticket. I will put together a post and see what input I get. I do have feliway - and I do think it helps - he was just so far gone the other day and we are feeling residual affects now of his mistrust of me from trying to get that damn test. He has bird feeders, window seats, a cat flap, escorted visits to the barn - he has the life! I researched a bit about aggression in low bg numbers - it seems to be fairly documented in humans and that some people are more sensitive than other and can become "delusional and aggressively violent" and can also stem from rapidly dropping numbers. I wish I had taken a video of Herman - he was like a possessed demon. He loves our dog Stanley - I have never seen him act out towards him before - but at one point during the episode Stanley merely walked by and Herman hissed and snorted so aggressively Herman threw up in the process. I need to trust my gut that the behavior was at least in part due to low bg and he certainly doesn't always react badly - but when he does its really bad and he bounces big. It also seems so bizarre to me that 3 hours later he would be calmly sleeping in my arms coasting a low blue bg. As with anything - I don't think I can point 100% to one thing, meaning - the episode may have started with a low bg crankiness then escalated with failed test attempts, my subsequent nerves, etc, but I am positive it was a factor.
 
Shot full dose at 76 - feeling a little anxious but now that I have said my fears out loud he might go a little higher than I'd like to prove me wrong :rolleyes:, on a positive note the shot went reasonably well - may need to do BCS in the morning as I won't be around as much as usual to monitor.
 
Yes - that would make more sense I think - reducing at 70 might be the ticket. I will put together a post and see what input I get. I do have feliway - and I do think it helps - he was just so far gone the other day and we are feeling residual affects now of his mistrust of me from trying to get that damn test. He has bird feeders, window seats, a cat flap, escorted visits to the barn - he has the life! I researched a bit about aggression in low bg numbers - it seems to be fairly documented in humans and that some people are more sensitive than other and can become "delusional and aggressively violent" and can also stem from rapidly dropping numbers. I wish I had taken a video of Herman - he was like a possessed demon. He loves our dog Stanley - I have never seen him act out towards him before - but at one point during the episode Stanley merely walked by and Herman hissed and snorted so aggressively Herman threw up in the process. I need to trust my gut that the behavior was at least in part due to low bg and he certainly doesn't always react badly - but when he does its really bad and he bounces big. It also seems so bizarre to me that 3 hours later he would be calmly sleeping in my arms coasting a low blue bg. As with anything - I don't think I can point 100% to one thing, meaning - the episode may have started with a low bg crankiness then escalated with failed test attempts, my subsequent nerves, etc, but I am positive it was a factor.
Yes that definitely sounds like hypoglycemia and not something felliway or bird feeders could address :confused: I had a neighbor in grad school who was diabetic and he would get very aggressive and violent at times. People would call the cops on him and the cops would give him a glass of orange juice! I felt so bad for him- he couldn’t regulate his blood sugar and it had a huge negative impact on his life. I’m so glad Herman has you to watch out for him :bighug:
 
I wish I had taken a video of Herman - he was like a possessed demon. He loves our dog Stanley - I have never seen him act out towards him before - but at one point during the episode Stanley merely walked by and Herman hissed and snorted so aggressively Herman threw up in the process. I need to trust my gut that the behavior was at least in part due to low bg and he certainly doesn't always react badly - but when he does its really bad and he bounces big. It also seems so bizarre to me that 3 hours later he would be calmly sleeping in my arms coasting a low blue bg.
Oh poor baby ... how upsetting for him AND you, and probably Stanley too. It hurts just to think about it.
I had a neighbor in grad school who was diabetic and he would get very aggressive and violent at times. People would call the cops on him and the cops would give him a glass of orange juice! I felt so bad for him- he couldn’t regulate his blood sugar and it had a huge negative impact on his life. I’m so glad Herman has you to watch out for him :bighug:
Kyle's tale is a real eye-opener for me -- I had no idea that could happen to people. Thank God the cops were aware of the situation and knew what to do. And yes, Herman is a very lucky guy to have you on his side. :bighug:
 
It might help to look at other SLGS folks spreadsheets who have gotten kitties into remission like @eva eva did to get Phoebe into remission. I can’t think of who else but there are definitely a few out there. Especially since you’ve gotten Herman this far I think he might just coast through SLGS into remission but I’m sure others can give you better advice. What I wonder about is whether the bounces would be bigger with SLGS. I’m sorry poor Herm had such a rough go the other day. That would worry me and also make me very leery. :bighug:
 
Yes that definitely sounds like hypoglycemia and not something felliway or bird feeders could address :confused: I had a neighbor in grad school who was diabetic and he would get very aggressive and violent at times. People would call the cops on him and the cops would give him a glass of orange juice! I felt so bad for him- he couldn’t regulate his blood sugar and it had a huge negative impact on his life. I’m so glad Herman has you to watch out for him :bighug:
Wow that’s interesting. Yes I believe this is what’s going on with herm.
 
It might help to look at other SLGS folks spreadsheets who have gotten kitties into remission like @eva eva did to get Phoebe into remission. I can’t think of who else but there are definitely a few out there. Especially since you’ve gotten Herman this far I think he might just coast through SLGS into remission but I’m sure others can give you better advice. What I wonder about is whether the bounces would be bigger with SLGS. I’m sorry poor Herm had such a rough go the other day. That would worry me and also make me very leery. :bighug:
Thanks I will go down the SLGS rabbit hole!
 
Back
Top