12/7 Dusty PMPS 271 +3 280

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Dusty

Member Since 2012
Another day, another test and shot. Today went fine - Dusty seemed a bit resigned to it all, and I think she's starting to associate food with the shot.

I'm tired and would love to snuggle and watch some TV. But, alas, work calls! I can't believe that at this time last week, I was getting Dusty ready for her trip to the vet which led to the diagnosis. I'm terribly proud of how well she's doing in just under a week. (And, in fact, I think her week-a-versary calls for a special treat during tonight's test and dose! Will have to think of something...)
 
Re: 12/7 Dusty AMPS 292, +2 242

She is doing incredibly well already. Great job to you both. :thumbup

dustysmama said:
Well if yesterday was kittens and sunshine in testing and dosing then today was rainclouds and grumbles. Actually, the testing went fairly fine but Dusty did not want to be dosed. Kept sitting down and then, when I'd sit down next to her with the needle, would get up and start to walk away. She's not a lap cat and is unhappy being confined, so I tried to avoid it but eventually had to do a little cat wranglin' to get her still enough to get the insulin in her. I'm not sure whether it's the pain of the needle or just the fact that she doesn't like me trying to corner her and get her to do something. (She's at a 29 gauge needle. I've got this contraption here: http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.co ... s_2279.htm )

When are you giving her her shot? I usually give Mikey his shot while he's busy chowing down on his food. He rarely even notices and when he does, it's more of a "mamma, y u disruptin mah eatz?" than anything else. It's his BG testing that he gives me the runaround! :lol:

(Also, the link doesn't seem to work. Could you repost?)
 
Re: 12/7 Dusty AMPS 292, +2 242

I'm giving her shot right after the test, before the food. I tried that the first couple of times giving it to her while she was eating but couldn't get a proper hold of her skin in order to give a good injection (the way she sits while eating made getting her scruff difficult), so instead gave up. Now that I'm a tiny bit more comfortable with the process, I should probably try again.

Sorry about the broken link! I think when I try to edit an entry the link breaks? Anyways, here it is: http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.co ... s_2278.htm

It is listed as: UltiGuard UltiCare U-100 Pet Insulin Syringes 29G 3/10cc 1/2" 100/bx

The thing I really like about it is that it has a built in sharps container at the top. Since I got it from the vet, they said that the cost of disposing of the used syringes is included in the box. I plan to ask my vet about it the next time I see her, since they charged me about $40 for the kit and it costs less than half of that at ADW.

I hope you and Michelangelo are both doing well!
 
Re: 12/7 Dusty AMPS 292, +2 242, +5 224

You might also want to check which way the bevel is facing and make sure it's UP, otherwise, this can cause pain.

Mikey and I are learning how to manage. :-D He keeps growing on me so it's really hard to keep up with the right dosage for him. He'll have one day of beautiful numbers and then pinks and yellows till I increase his dose again. :YMSIGH: It's a work in progress.
 
Re: 12/7 Dusty AMPS 292, +2 242, +5 224, +9 284

Great tip! Thanks! I had not given a single thought to how the bevel is placed when I inject her. Mostly I think I've been worried about just getting it in her. :smile: I'll definitely pay attention to this in her evening's shot.

I can't imagine testing and dosing a wee kitten with all that energy! I am deeply, deeply impressed.
 
Re: 12/7 Dusty AMPS 292, +2 242, +5 224, +9 284

Hi Dusty & Michelle,

You might want to try a smaller gauge syringe. It will be much less painful. We use 31-gauge Terumo syringes and buy them at ADW:
http://www.americandiabeteswholesal...ro-insulin-syringe_5891.htm?source=SiteSearch
There is no reason why you should have to use veterinary syringes: U-100 is U-100. The Terumos are inexpensive and pretty accurate (much more accurate than veterinary syringes, I have heard). They have 1/2-unit markings. As far as I know, there is no "official" way to discard sharps. You don't need a special sharps container. Any old plastic bottle will do (I use old dishwashing-liquid bottles). If you are required by law to identify the contents as "sharps", you can write "sharps" on the bottle with a magic marker. (I don't know anyone who does this!)

In any event, give the smaller gauge syringes a try. The Terumos have a short needle, but it is a somewhat "longer" short needle than most syringes labeled "short needle". If you want the "standard" short needle, try Monoject 31-gauge syringes, also available at ADW:
http://www.americandiabeteswholesal...t-ultra-comfort-insulin-syringes_2552_178.htm

It is great that Dusty is doing so well. Good luck with the shots!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/7 Dusty AMPS 292, +2 242, +5 224, +9 284

Thanks, Ella (and Rusty!). I've bookmarked the site and will look into getting these once I'm finished with the syringes that I've got. (Because of all of the costs of the diagnosis and starting to test, coupled with the holiday season, means that finances are quite tight at the moment.)

I hope you are well this Friday evening!
--Michelle
 
Re: 12/7 Dusty PMPS 271

Dusty has been nothing but steady, today! Looking forward to Sunday's curve to get a better sense of what is going on in that little furry love-a-bug.

AMPS 292 (Was fed at this point)
+2 242
+5 224 (Was fed at this point)
+9 284
PMPS 271 (Was fed at this point)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top