12/7 Cinco PMPS 196 +2 153 +4 102

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
12/6 Recap:
1.0 units bid
AMPS: 256
AM+4: 104
AM+6: 174
PMPS: 301
PM+3.5: 260
PM+6: 224

Yesterday's Wine Soaked Condo

Thank you to Amy, Liz and Elise for visiting us last night/this morning and offering words of comfort and advice. :YMHUG:

Quiet morning around here so far. Everyone ate breakfast, even Harvey. He got about a 60/40 mixture this morning, and at first it seemed like he managed to eat the Splash Dance and leave the z/d, but eventually he polished off everything. :-D We'll try for 70/30 tonight. I used up all the Splash Dance on the other kitties and didn't want to open another can, so I gave Sasha all z/d and she ate every bite, without any garnish!!! :o :-D Maybe I need to be feeding her that from now on! It's got to be good for her. It's not as high in calories as some foods, but if she'll eat a lot of it, that's the ticket. Minka ate all her Splash Dance and turned down a serving of z/d. I put the plate down for Harvey, and after initial hesitation, he ate it all! :-D :-D :-D Progress? (anti-jinx).

Not sure where Cinco is headed today. +6 check coming up. So far I'm liking his numbers. He's demanded two back rubs already today. They've been a little scarce lately, with everything else going on, so I'm trying to respond to his demands as much as I can. He is such a good kitty.

I spoke to Dawn, the pet sitter extraordinaire, today. She's all set for my three babies, and I gave her the heads up that Harvey might join the party if he gets worse. Paws crossed that won't be necessary. Aside from his doing better at home, I like the idea of having someone coming and going to keep the house safe.

Amy, you asked about giving his meds transdermally. Right now he's only on pepcid and Azodyl. I don't thing that would be an option. The battle last night was over a Zyrtec, because he was sniffling so much. I just may have to ask DH to hold Harvey's head when I pill him. It was his thrashing around that resulted in the scratched nose. He is a very, very strong cat, even when in the cat sack. It looks fine this morning.

ETA: I'm liking that +6! Time to get back to candy making. Almond bark and cashew bark on the agenda for today.

Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG: Prayers for Amy's DF, Lyresa's DF, Lisa's DF and Elise's DM. Thinking of Chris.
 
Re: 12/7 Cinco AMPS 225 +4 134 +6 108

I'm glad all the kitties are eating some, even if it is a bit of a juggling act. Nice slide for Cinco. Sending more prayers.
 
Re: 12/7 Cinco AMPS 225 +4 134 +6 108

Hi Tricia,
I'm really impressed that you can keep track of all of those food mixtures! Very glad to hear that the kitties are eating and we're continuing to send lots of eat yer fuds vines.

Wow, you are making candy!! Carry on!

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/7 Cinco AMPS 225 +4 134 +6 108

I hope you're having a better day today, Tricia. I'm glad you've got some good eating going on, and that things are well-planned with Dawn. Nice slow slide for Cinco!!

You could still look into compounded options for Harvey...you never know. My vet told me that nowadays pharmacies can compound two meds into one pill (like pepcid and amlodipine) to simplify medicating our pets, so maybe it is possible that Harvey's meds could be made in transdermal form.

You have me inspired to make candy cane bark this year! I love Trader Joe's Candy Cane Joe Joe's because of the candy cane crunch, so why not take it to the next level? Actually, I worked in a chocolate store for 14 years....my favorite job ever.

Have a great evening, Tricia!
 
Re: 12/7 Cinco AMPS 225 +4 134 +6 108

I'd be careful with transdermals as most don't work. They one for hyper-t is the exception. Pecid does come in injectable though and I had it for Tiffany. It's easy and doesn't sting but has a limited shelf life as I recall. I'd check into that.
 
Re: 12/7 Cinco PMPS 196 +2 153

Thanks for stopping by, Carla, Ella, Amy and Elise.

Looks like we have a blue surf going on tonight. No complaints from me.

Much to my surprise, I got a response to the e-mail that I sent Dr. Davis last night about Cinco. She apologized and said the student was supposed to send me the BW results on Friday (poor Caroline. She tries so hard, but she doesn't have a lot of confidence. I'm not sure she's going to make it.). She said again that she felt I should follow the internist's instructions to lower the dose to .75 and do a curve two weeks later to take to the IM appointment. I wrote back that I would be happy to meet with an IM and asked if Dr. Nelson sees patients. I also mentioned Dr. B, the IM treating Harvey. I liked her a lot. I ignored the dosing advice. ;-)
She said she had written me a prescription for a 28 day supply of Lantus ( confused_cat ), which I could pick up at the pharmacy, and to let her know if I'd still rather do the pen (I thought I'd made that clear), as she'd have to write a script for an outside pharmacy. I responded that I do, indeed, want a script for the pen. :YMSIGH:

She sent me all the lab results as a PDF. Is there a way to attach them to my spreadsheet without typing everything in? I'd appreciate the guidance on that.

Harvey had a snack today that was 100% z/d :o His dinner was z/d with a very little Evo 95% chicken and turkey smeared across the top. He clean both plates. :-D :-D :-D

Amy, I'm honored to have inspired you to make candy. How do you make your bark? I melt white chocolate and grind up candy canes, mix the two together and spread them on a cookie sheet. Pretty simple, but it's popular. I'd say it's idiot proof, but the last batch I did last night didn't have enough candy cane in it. :roll: I can mess anything up! :lol:

Wow, Elise. I did not know you could get pepcid in an injectible form. If Harvey stays on that, I will ask the vet about it. Giving him a shot wouldn't be easy, but I'll bet it would be easier than the pilling. Thanks for the info.
 
Re: 12/7 Cinco PMPS 196

Great day for Cinco! Interesting that your vet would correspond on a weekend. Good job avoiding the dosing advice. Pretty bizarre about the presecription, though. How hard is it to just write a script for a pack of 5-3ml lantus Solostar pens? Mine writes the script for a year of refills. She would do longer but AZ state law requires that you see a doctor/vet once a year if you are getting prescriptions so they can't give refillable scripts for longer than a year.

The pdfs can be difficult to read. You could download it to Photobucket or picasa and then link it. I know it's a pain to type it in, but that is the easiest way to see it. Also, I can send you a copy of the lab sheet already set up on MS xcel that you could copy and paste onto an extra sheet on his SS. The normal values are already there but you'd have to just check and adjust them if your vet uses IDEXX instead of Antech.

Sorry about the wine yesterday! wow....what a fiasco, huh? BTW, some people do have basements here but you are correct that the caliche makes it very difficult. In fact, whenever I add plants in the back, my landscaper has to have a jack hammer here to dig the holes :roll:
 
Marje, it really is interesting, since the vet is at UCD and they only do emergencies on the weekends. Based on the comments made by the student when we were there, I'm guessing their pharmacy dispenses insulin, rather than just selling it in the original container. Doesn't sound like a good idea to me.

I would appreciate if you would send me the copy of the lab sheet. Thanks! The report is three pages long. Looks like they did everything!

The good thing about the wine fiasco is that the glass didn't break, in spite of flying across the room and landing on the wood laminate floor. Also, the wine came out of my shirt, using Wine Away. Love the stuff.

I know some of the older houses there have basements. Some of the houses built in the foothills have "lower levels', too. When we first moved to Tucson when I was in the second grade, it was the first house I had ever lived in that didn't have a basement. I thought it was weird.

Cinco's got his toe in the lagoon. Now we'll see if he wades in a little further.
 
Tricia, the injectable pepcid is a sub-q one so I doubt you will have trouble giving it to Harvey and it doesn't sting. Looks like you might be joining our pj party.
 
Neko's just one point away at her +4 - looks like the lagoon might be jamming later tonight.

Love the artful dodge on the dosing advice. :-D I wonder if the 28 days is for a vial which of course is only good for 28 days out of the fridge. I'd definitely go with a written prescription. You can always use the excuse that you'd prefer to deal with a pharmacy closer to your house.

Thanks goodness you got the wine out of your news kitty Christmas shirt! I've never heard of Wine Away before.
 
I do bark a couple different ways. If I'm using something "big" like full-sized nuts or fruit (raspberries or blueberries), I spread a thin layer of "candy bar" sized melted chocolate onto the parchment paper, then place the nuts or fruit on top, and drizzle a pretty thick layer of chocolate on top. I try to "lock" the nuts or fruit in place while still leaving a little bit exposed because it looks pretty to see them.

When I do smaller things, like crushed up nuts, I do like you do with the candy canes - mix them into the melted chocolate and spread the candy bar sized pieces on the parchment paper. I usually sprinkle a little bit of the same crushed up nuts on top for "decoration".

I've never done candy canes before, though...I don't know why - I love crunchy bits of stuff in my chocolate! I'm going to use dark chocolate since I currently don't have any vegan white chocolate on hand....I think I need to place an order soon, though!

Another favorite of mine is "Pretzel Joys"...break up the super thin little pretzel sticks, mix them into melted white chocolate, and scoop them on to the parchment - they are clusters as opposed to bark. And they are yummy.

Sometimes I really miss working in the chocolate store!

I would definitely NOT go with the "28 day supply" of insulin. Gosh, they are acting like you've never even given insulin before!
 
I keep missing you i the evenings! :oops: :oops: Good grief on the wine fiasco! I'm glad that you got it out of your shirt!

I wouldn't go for the "288 day" supply either.I like Wendy's excuse of saying you want to use a pharmacy close to home.

Have you ever made Aplets? It's an apple version of Turkish Delight and very yummy. I have another recipe that uses apple sauce, but we had extra apple juice I wanted to use. (p.s. I add a little vanilla extract when I take it off the heat.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top