12/7 Blackie AMPS 127 +8 45 + 8.5 113

Sherry and Blackie

Member Since 2019
Hi All,
I think Blackie's looking good today. Did he earn a reduction with the 45? Would I take that this evening. Hope all kitties are safe and happy today!
 
Good catch Sherry! Yes, with a number under 90 and following SLGS Blackie has earned a reduction (and actually since he is under 50, that's a reduction with TR too). Congrats on the reducie. You don't want him hanging out here under 50, time to feed a little MC. Up you go Blackie. As a side note, you might want to think about some earlier tests, today a +2 or +3 might have shown you what Blackie had in mind. He had come down all night after your preshot of 307 last night.

Yes, reduce at tonight's shot, but let's see where he is at for preshot. On that note, can you please test again in 30 mins? We want to see he is up.
 
Good catch Sherry! Yes, with a number under 90 and following SLGS Blackie has earned a reduction (and actually since he is under 50, that's a reduction with TR too). Congrats on the reducie. You don't want him hanging out here under 50, time to feed a little MC. Up you go Blackie. As a side note, you might want to think about some earlier tests, today a +2 or +3 might have shown you what Blackie had in mind. He had come down all night after your preshot of 307 last night.
Hi! Thanks ! I meant to get an earlier test but we had the grandkids over and we're running around all day until just now . Tomorrow is day of rest , so I hope to test more. Yeah he can down a lot from last night. I'm thinking he's cleared where I skipped that shot. I think he's come a long way .
 
I'm tagging on to Christie's info, this is the link on how to manage low numbers.

One consideration is that with your AMPS, you might have wanted to grab an early test (e.g., a +2 or +3) so you have a sense of where Blackie's numbers might have been heading.
So +2 or +3 will tell where they are headed? Can you explain that more. Like if he was lower or didn't go up much that would mean a low day??? I haven't grasped that concept yet.
 
For most cats, Lantus onset begins at around +2 or +3. Usually there's a bit of a food spike that influences these early numbers. However, if the early test numbers are at or below your pre-shot number, there's a good chance that numbers are going to keep dropping. Getting those numbers can be a bit of an early warning system. It's not a failsafe but it can be a useful tool in trying to figure out how your kitty may be responding.
 
Back
Top