12-7-10 Casanova PMPS 268 +4 193

Status
Not open for further replies.

casanovasmom

Member Since 2010
Good morning everyone. With Casanova's low numbers last night we thought it best to skip the pm shot and get on an earlier schedule so I can monitor it for the first couple of hours. This morning he just tested at BG 388 and now the question is what to shoot. Yesterday he did quite well with 8 units given and yesterday there was talk about going to either 4 or 5 which I'm willing to try. What does anyone think?

Thanks,
Laura and Casanova
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova AMPS -388 What to Shoot?

I'm going with 4 units. Plan to test each hour for the next three hours then off to work. So wish I was home again today to monitor. nailbite_smile

Thanks!
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova AMPS -388 What to Shoot?

hi Laura

welcome to Lantus Land!

good luck with the new dose, remember, plenty of food on board, your early numbers may reflect the food spike, so don't panic on that,that is ok!
and leave some before you leave for the day too.
Food, especially canned food, is your friend, oh and your meter too ;-)
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova AMPS -388 What to Shoot?

Laurie I moved this over from your other thread so it would not get confusing. You can ask all of your questions in your daily thread.


casanovasmom said:
I've been trying to get Casanova off dry which is going okay. Yesterday I only fed him canned 0% carb until late when we were trying to get his BG up because he was testing so low and we mixed some of my high carb with 0% carb. Anyway, my question is do you all just feed 0% carb or do you feed some low carb too?

Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova AMPS -388 What to Shoot?

I tried to feed Tuffy 5% or less. I could not use HC when she went low because she was very sensitive to carbs (HC) and would bounce from it. Trial and error is the only way you will know his reaction to the carbs.
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova AMPS -388 What to Shoot?

To now answer your question.....ECID (every cat is different). It depends on how carb sensitive Cassanova is. I only feed Putty foods that are no more than 4% carbs because he is a spiker. Some can feed higher and be fine. It is best to feed less than 10% but I would try to keep it to less than 6%. You do not only have to feed flavors with 0%.

Did you see Janet and Binky's food list? It is in the stickies at the top of the page. If you have trouble finding it please post and I will give you the link.
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova AMPS -388 What to Shoot?

When I was trying to switch Curry at the beginning (4 months ago), I was feeding her the 0% EVO canned and then if she was diving too quickly..I would add FF gravy to the EVO. Or the Karo only if I had to. I tried to keep the offerings simple w/o too much variety. Then Curry got tired of the EVO (i was having to hand feed her that stuff sometimes) I gave her the FF chopped grill feast which was 2%. She loves it and the 2% seemed OK w/her. She once got some kibble 6% and that didn't seem to impact her too much...but then got another food at 4% and her glucose went up.

So for now I just stick w/FF 2%......and if needed the gravy (HC) on top of the FF. Had to do that last night.

But every cat is so different. You can play around w/the food. Might be good to give only one kind as an experiment so you can see the impact on Casanova. After I stopped the dry completely and when to canned, I noticed a big change in her glucose.....it seemed to take a couple of weeks for the change. But again, every cat is different.

You are asking great questions and do a wonderful job.
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova AMPS -388 What to Shoot?

casanovasmom wrote:I've been trying to get Casanova off dry which is going okay. Yesterday I only fed him canned 0% carb until late when we were trying to get his BG up because he was testing so low and we mixed some of my high carb with 0% carb. Anyway, my question is do you all just feed 0% carb or do you feed some low carb too?

Thanks,
Laura

Hi Laura, I'm so glad you were able to get some help yesterday. Food is a huge tool in helping manage diabetes.

I am still trying to figure out Attie's food regime after 3 months!! Add onto that Attie has an allergy to canned foods ...so he get raw. Feeding him even HC gravies etc. is a potential trigger for him to have bowel issues. So, if he is going low I often add drops of karo to his raw rabbit/chicken. See my yesterday's condo where I added a whole tsp., it was probably a bit too much...but as you can see I wasn't going to be home...and Attie tends to have a knack for drama-drops and "flash" drops. Then ...rebound for days. We know a lower dose of lantus isn't his answer...it's the 'flash drops' and liver training he needs. Not all cats are like Attie.

I think you will find most of us keep a wide variety of foods on hand from 0% carb to high carb stuff. Some kitties need to have some carbs in their diet or they are just to spikey up and down in their numbers. Others can't handle them at all!

I think right now with Cassanova we don't know how he is going to be reacting yet...as the data is just not there yet.
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova AMPS -388 +2 415

Good morning guys! I see another pink kitty this morning ... not to bad considering there was no PM shot last night .. this +2 is probably just a food spike .. lots of good advice here on the food questions ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova AMPS -388 +2 415

Settle down now Cassanova....everyone is trying to help you and your Mama is doing such a great job! It will be okay...just relax yourself ....you are doing great too! Those greens might have been scary to you Cassanova. but you will get used to them one day soon... :razz:
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova AMPS -388 +2:45 346

Just tested again at +2:45-gotta go to work and make some money to pay for all these test strips :lol: ! The number is coming down and I hope it continues. Just gave my DH a pep talk about doing the tests and I'm hoping he'll come through with a few tests during the day so I can have some numbers. We'll see.
Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova AMPS -388 +2:45 346

I posted this in your other thread but it looks like the response is here.

Actually, I think a topical question as a separate issue is OK. You may also want to post your question (or cross post) on Health to get a broader response since the question isn't specific to Lantus. Also, there's a possibility that Dr. Lisa Pierson who's a vet with interests in feline nutrition will see your post. I think she commented in your condo previously about the food your vet had suggested (or didn't object to).

Cats are obligate carnivores. What that means is there is fundamentally no need for carbs in their diet. If they were living in the wild, the carbs they would get would be courtesy of what was in the digestive tracks of other animals and those carbs would be semi-digested. I feed a mostly raw diet -- it's about 1% carb -- with some Wellness that's in the 4 - 5% range.

Some cats are very carb sensitive. Jill's Alex is a cat that can eat a piece of chicken and have a food spike. Other cats can tolerate higher carbs with no effect whatsoever. As with many things, every cat is different (ECID) and you need to determine what is right for your cat. We encourage feeding under 10% carb. I think if you asked for a vote, most of us feed under or around 5% carb because that allows greater variety in choices of foods.
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova AMPS -388 +8 236

DH came through with a +8 number. He was at 236 which isn't as low as yesterday but not bad for only giving 4 units. What does anyone think?
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova AMPS -388 +8 236

I think that sounds a lot more workable than the 8u dose. Remember that the shed is depleted from skipping shots, so you may see more action from this dose going forward...ie: the next shot, etc. Will you be able to monitor tonight?
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova AMPS -388 +8 236

I think he is probably bouncing from the lows yesterday. They sometimes take a while to clear. See how the rest of the cycle goes. I'm glad you reduced his dose.
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova AMPS -388 +8 236

That's good Laura. It is really a guessing game at this point on the dosing, we're just trying to find a dose that is low enough to be able to keep shooting BID without pushing his numbers too low, then you can work back up if it is too low. It's much easier to start lower and work up than to start too high and try to work down, because of the shed. It's also safer if you are not able to monitor closely.

You never know, he may need a higher dose, but you want to get there safely if so.
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova PMPS +268

Just got home and tested and got +268. Time to shoot. What dosage do you think would be good. I gave him 4 units this morning.
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova PMPS +268

Okay. I just gave 4 units. Will post back in about an hour once I test again. Thanks again.
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova PMPS +268

hey, Laura and the romantic cat!

just dropping in to say hello...

celi & binks
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova PMPS +268 +1 359

Just tested and +1 was 359. According to DH he didn't eat much at all today but he is eating now. I guess that coupled with getting the shot caused the higher number?? Oh well, I'm going to try to get a few more tests in tonight and will have to see what people think I should shoot in the AM.
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova PMPS +268 +1 359

Probably should keep it at the 4 units - change too many variables at once and you can't tell what the heck is going on. Give it a few cycles and see if his numbers land in a happier place.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova PMPS 268 +3 261

That's excellent! You're doing just fine, Laura. Keep it nice and steady for a few days and let everything settle in. Casanova looks good.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12-7-10 Casanova PMPS 268 +3 261

You guys are doing great, Laura. Hooray for having a DH who is on board with testing. Mine is very helpful and has practically taken over testing (his ear prick is far more perfected...and I'm not even pretending to not be so great). Love Casanova's name, btw.
 
Just tested at +4 and got 193. Pretty good number. I think I will definitely shoot 4 units again tomorrow unless someone suggests otherwise. Thanks again for all the support. Finally got the avatar up! Used photobucket and it was a snap. Now everyone can see my sweet chubby boy :-D
 
So far this dose looks good, Laura! I agree with MJ and Ella, hold the 4.0u unless he goes very low. You're doing great, please don't hesitate to ask questions...we like questions! Great that you have DH helping out...mine helps too, but it took a while to get him up to speed. He's not much on the medical stuff! ;-)

What a handsome boy Casanova is! I love the pic.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top