12/6 Zeke AMPS=104;+~3=36;+3.75=53;+4.25/+7=66

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL ~O)

Zeke had a good night last night. Here's a recap:

PMPS = 201
+ 2 = 112 (Fed)
+3 = 91
+3.75 = 75 (Fed)
+4.5 = 81
+5 = 85
+6 = 80 (Fed)
+7 = 97
+9.5 = 93 (Fed)
+11.75 = 91

The shaved 2u seems to be a good dose. Zeke's Previous Condo where there was a discussion on reductions. I posted the following question: If Zeke goes below 40 on a shaved 2u, as the mandatory immediate reduction is 0.25u, does that mean I should reduce to a shaved 1.75u?
 
Re: 12/6 Zeke AMPS 104 (stalled 15 minutes)

Yes. If you see a 40, you would earn a reduction ... to 1.75u as you phrased your question.

But for a cat in the first year after diagnosis, a reduction is in order if you see below 50... so 49 or lower ( not too much lower, Please Zeke... We like safety.)



I'm glad to see more greens on that ss, that's healing time for that pancreas. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/6 Zeke AMPS 104 (stalled 15 minutes)

Thanks Rhiannon for your post. Because Zeke has had a failed reduction in the past, I am actually taking the "drop 3 times below 50 before reducing" approach. However, as per the previous condo, there are times when an immediate 0.25u reduction is in order. I was just wanting dose reduction clarification on a shaved dose should Zeke drop below 40 drop in the future. So, if he earned a "below 40" reduction on a shaved 2u would that mean I should reduce to a shaved 1.75 instead of just 1.75?
 
Re: 12/6 Zeke AMPS 104 (stalled 15 minutes)

If you use the 3 times in the 40 - 50 range, you take the FULL 0.25u reduction after the 3rd drop. It is very aggressive to shave AND use the 3 drops into the 40s option. So to answer your question, a drop below 40 always gets a 0.25u reduction.
 
Re: 12/6 Zeke AMPS 104 (stalled 15 minutes)

also, just so you know, it's not necessary to push the cat below 50. my understanding is that under 100 is good, lower isn't necessarily better though.

if you're going to be home and willing/able to monitor, with supplies & strips, etc., i'd stop stalling and shoot.
 
Re: 12/6 Zeke AMPS 104 (stalled 15 minutes)

yikes, i just saw your 39. are you doing ok, and can you update your subject line and remove the stalled comment?

my thought is that your cat is newly diagnosed enough that the 3 times below 50 isn't really for your situation. better to take the reductions and then watch carefully - if they don't hold go back up immediately.
 
Re: 12/6 Zeke AMPS 104;+2.5=40 Need feeding advice <50

I've been feeding and testing but can't get him above 50. Didn't want to over do with the HC/syrup.

Here's a recap (feeding not exact because I keep giving him a little while waiting for the 15 minutes to pass - these are minimums):
9:16am - 39 (feed tsp 11%)
9:37am - 40 (feed 1/2 tsp 11%)
9:53am - 36 (feed 1 1/2 tsp 17% plus syrup)
10:10am - 43 (feed 1 tsp 17% plus syrup)
10:25am - 44 (feed gravy only 1/2 tsp 17% and 1/2 tsp 19% plus syrup)


Also have been letting him lick gravy off my finger throughout the whole past hour. Should I do a whole tsp syrup? He seems fine but is getting grumpy with all the testing.
 
Re: 12/6 Zeke AMPS 104;+~3=36;+3.5=44 Need feeding advice <5

Since Zeke has already DEFINITELY earned a reduction, there is nothing more to be "proved" with this cycle, so especially if he is being a bit picky, feed him whatever you need to in order to get his numbers up a bit . . . higher carb wet, gravy, syrup . . . it's good he's up from that 36 but over 50 would give you a little more room to breathe.
 
Re: 12/6 Zeke AMPS=104;+~3=36;+3.75=53 (Need Feeding Advice)

Well the dose reduction is fine but here's were it's tricky in that I'd like to keep him in greens (even 90s would be fine) for as much of the morning's cycle as possible. However, obviously I want to keep him up above 50. So, I just got a 53 at +3.75. I don't want him dropping back down below 50 but I don't want to feed him gravy/syrup/HC and have him jump to blues (or heaven forbid even higher). I think I'll wait and take a +4 and see if he continues to rise from the gravy/syrup/HC I've already given him. Sound like a good plan?
 
Re: 12/6 Zeke AMPS=104;+~3=36;+3.75=53;+4.25=66(No Spike Plz

Oh, gosh. Keeping fingers and paws crossed that I didn't over do it with the gravy/syrup/HC. Zeke, let's not spike kitty, ok? Oh, please, please, please, please. I'd prefer a nice little green surf, please.

Will take the reduction and give a shaved 1.75u tonight. Even if there's a bounce, right? Safety first (and foremost). BTW - To clarify. I am NOT proposing that Zeke get the s2.0u tonight. I'm just wanting to confirm my understanding that because he dropped below 40 he gets an immediate reduction even if there's a bounce this evening. I know I've asked a lot about reductions but I just want to make sure I understand completely. I figured newbies and others might benefit from my asking these questions (even if repeatedly).

Thank you all for your advice and support (and patience ;-) ).
 
Re: 12/6 Zeke AMPS=104;+~3=36;+3.75=53;+4.25=66;+5.5=57

Whoa - Had to test twice. First reading was a 41. Decided better double check. Got a lot bigger blood sample on the 2nd which registered a 57. Yeah, looks like the HC isn't ruining the cycle. But now this means I still have to be pricking Zekey - poor kitty - but even poorer me cat(2)_steam . I'll feed a little 4% and get a reading in an hour.
 
i'd take the reduction tonight, especially with a test in the 30's, especially because you've had him dropping under 50 3 times before reducing. refer back to that post on Reductions, or Tight Regulation Protocol sticky for reasoning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top