12/6 Yoyo AMPS 275,+2 228,+4 163,+5 146,+6 123,+7 144,+11 198, PMPS 236,+2 173,+3 103,+4 97,+5 105,

I hope Yoyo slides down and surfs today. You'll drive yourself crazy comparing numbers. I'd pick on meter and stick with it.
 
Nice start Yoyo! With a start like this, you have to give us some green.

I'm considering trying out Pet Advocate meter. Reviews on Amazon say it's right on target with the AT meter. I'll let you know how it goes.
 
Nice start Yoyo! With a start like this, you have to give us some green.

I'm considering trying out Pet Advocate meter. Reviews on Amazon say it's right on target with the AT meter. I'll let you know how it goes.
I looked into that also. I think Sue told me about it. The test strips are expensive! Let me know what you find out.
 
I hope Yoyo slides down and surfs today. You'll drive yourself crazy comparing numbers. I'd pick on meter and stick with it.
I know you are right, but you know when you trust one thing or you start with one thing; it is so hard to change to something else and have the trust that the numbers will be correct.
 
The test strips are expensive!
I want to try to buy 2, get one free, which brings the price down. I also like that the strips are individually wrapped so if I get lucky, those strips could last me straight into 2020. I'll only use the PetAdvocate strips for very low numbers.
For day to day, I plan on continuing the Prime meter, or possibly switching to OneDrop. I am looking at how many strips I use to see if I can save money with OneDrop's unlimited plan.
Good luck on your meter quest. You do have to choose one, but I agree, it's best to thoroughly research so that you are confident with whatever you are using and you can stick with it.
 
I want to try to buy 2, get one free, which brings the price down. I also like that the strips are individually wrapped so if I get lucky, those strips could last me straight into 2020. I'll only use the PetAdvocate strips for very low numbers.
For day to day, I plan on continuing the Prime meter, or possibly switching to OneDrop. I am looking at how many strips I use to see if I can save money with OneDrop's unlimited plan.
Good luck on your meter quest. You do have to choose one, but I agree, it's best to thoroughly research so that you are confident with whatever you are using and you can stick with it.
Hi,
I just checked Yoyo at +11 and he is 198. Is this too low to shoot if he is still at that number in about 50 minutes? He i due for insulin at 7:10pm. Please advise.
 
I know you are right, but you know when you trust one thing or you start with one thing; it is so hard to change to something else and have the trust that the numbers will be correct.
I hope Yoyo slides down and surfs today. You'll drive yourself crazy comparing numbers. I'd pick on meter and stick with it.
Hi Carla, just tested Yoyo at 6:15pm and his +11 is 198. He is due for insulin at 7:10pm, if he is still at 198, do I give him his insulin or wait until he goes over 200? Please advise.
 
Hi Debra,
For the most part, 198 is considered the same as 200 due to the 20% variation. I will be here, and I can help you, but I would feel more comfortable if one of the more experienced members responds though so that they can provide better guidance. The first question is are you prepared with supplies should he go low tonight? Medium and high carb foods, karo syrup or honey, printed instructions for reference in case internet access is lost, etc.

Tagging some experts that I see online now.
@Bobbie And Bubba @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Here are the SLGS guidelines. I notice they don't mention stalling, but that is an option. Stall with no food to see if he comes up above 200.


Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
 
I
Here are the SLGS guidelines. I notice they don't mention stalling, but that is an option. Stall with no food to see if he comes up above 200.


Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
I'll check him soon. But what would be a reduced dose for Yoyo? 10-25% of usual dose would =?
 
Mathematically, it comes out to .1875. I'm guessing in practice you could try .25.
He's doing so well, though, I'd hate to have you give him so little. Still hoping someone weighs in.

Maybe change your title to say "Need help-dosing for PMPS" so people know it's more time sensitive?
 
Mathematically, it comes out to .1875. I'm guessing in practice you could try .25.
He's doing so well, though, I'd hate to have you give him so little. Still hoping someone weighs in.

Maybe change your title to say "Need help-dosing for PMPS" so people know it's more time sensitive?
Just tested 236 so I fed him and I will give him his normal dosage of .75 as long as you agree with me. Let me know...ok?
 
Yes, you are good.
I think you should leave the question mark up, and hopefully someone will give you advice in case this comes up again in AMPS.
 
Good to see you are shooting this PMPS. FYI, there are two sections in the SLGS Sticky Note section on handling low preshots. The first one, which Rosie quoted, starts “in the beginning”. The second section starts “with experience...” As you gather data, and tonight will be another opportunity, you can gradually lower the number you shoot. Even with newbies, we suggest it’s OK to shoot snything over 200. Eventually, when you have the data to do so, you will be able shoot anything over 90.
 
I wasn't on the board earlier. I'm glad Rosie was able to help you. Good job shooting. I hope Yoyo keeps surfing safely tonight.
 
Good to see you are shooting this PMPS. FYI, there are two sections in the SLGS Sticky Note section on handling low preshots. The first one, which Rosie quoted, starts “in the beginning”. The second section starts “with experience...” As you gather data, and tonight will be another opportunity, you can gradually lower the number you shoot. Even with newbies, we suggest it’s OK to shoot snything over 200. Eventually, when you have the data to do so, you will be able shoot anything over 90.
Hi Wendy, I just checked Yoyo's +2 @ 173. I have started to monitor his food intake more and have noticed if he has his bulk of food before +2 that his numbers go lower and he surfs more. With that being said, tonight he is at his lowest I believe for a +2 @ 173. Should I give him some food, 1/6 can or more so that he doesn't drop too fast?
 
Good luck! Glad he's such a good patient.

He's progressing so nicely!
I just fed Yo 1/6 can @+3 103. My thought process is that the food will slow him down a little so that his numbers don't get too low since I really don't know how he is going to react. I'll retest again at +3.5
 
I just fed Yo 1/6 can @+3 103. My thought process is that the food will slow him down a little so that his numbers don't get too low since I really don't know how he is going to react. I'll retest again at +3.5
Sorry I missed these updates. You are doing well. Yes, test again at +3.5
 
Back
Top