12/6 Twice PMPS 70 +2 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim & Twice

Member Since 2013
On way to work so no real condo yet but question. his +11 83 AMPS 74. I shot it but I'm nervous as I never got his nadir and this may be the lowest number and still dropping a bit. Was this a bad move and should I take the day off?

Yesterday

ETA
OK condo time. Twice decided to do his yeowl early last night, 10:30pm so after that I had a nice uneventful sleep :-D He was wild most of the night, and then this morning, his eyes were normal. I can't explain it, but I have mentioned it in the past, that his eyes seem overly dilated all the time. Almost crazed looking, but he's happy. Well today they were just eyes. He was the same Twice he has been these last weeks, but the eyes were relaxed and pupil size looks normal. I miss those eyes and got tears in my own when I seen this. I was thinking he might be high blues or yellow this morning, but he was sporting an 83 at +11. I'm praying for a safe surf today. I should be home by +10 which seems like forever away. His number dipped to 74 at AMPS so I left him two cans of his lc. One that he will hoover back (fishy) and one that I'm hoping helps him surf (beef). He still has the room to himself, well the whole upstairs when we are at work (Rubber gets put in the laundry room for the day).

Hope everyone has a wonderful TGIF :-D Sending good dental vines to Zener and calming vines to the beans. Vetty vines to Shadow today as well! Health vines to all in need!
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

The 83 and 74 makes me think he's surfing right now. Did you leave extra food out for him?

ETA: I know Furball can surf safely in the 50s. Do you know what safe surf numbers are for Twice?
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

On the 1st you gave him 0.50 and he was 83 at +11 and 70 at +12 and he did okay that cycle.
I think he'll surf along. Sending nice safe surf vines to Twice for today.

When I had neighbors that I could bug, I would ask them to look in on J.D. when I was worried when leaving for work. Do you have anyone that can look in on Twice and ease your mind?
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

Morning Kim,

Maybe leave out some extra MC food? Is Twice still in a room by himself where no other kitties can eat his food?
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

Thanks Dyana. Nobody close to us to look in on pets unfortunately. Praying its a surf. I just have a funny feeling after yesterday and he does like to sometimes keep dropping, other times its just a dip.
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

Hi Carla. Just noticed your edit.. He has beenpretty safe in most numbers but he likes to drop a bomb here and there so I'm not sure.
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

Since you gave no shot yesterday AM, shouldn't his shed be a little on the low side, so his numbers shouldn't dip much? And you left extra food out for him. Hopefully he will just surf the day away :smile:

Surf safely for your momma, Twice!
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

Morning Kim ~O) ~O) ~O) Surf well Twice. I suspect he will surf this, seems to be the pattern. It's good there is food, he will eat if need be. I do understand the worry - it was there for me all the time with Mannie when I was working, as I was out the door at +1, not home until his PM PS.

Enjoy your day today. I hope it is a good one. And Twice - you be a good kitty. :-D
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

Kim, I should have posted again instead of editing. I forget to do that sometimes.

I hope Twice surfs safely today while you're at tbp.
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

Thank you everyone for your visits and encouragement :-D I do feel more relaxed (which is good as I am now trapped :lol: ). I'm working on upgrading our internet and telephone systems today, so get a shop day at work. Perfect way to end a work week :-D
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

Yo Twice, Surf SAFE, buddy! I'll be keeping an eye on you from the shore.
~ Rusty, LagoonMeister


Hi Kim,
Interesting about the eyes. Were you giving any medications that could have caused them to dilate? Anyway, I'm so glad he seems normal today. Have a good day while your kitty surfs safely.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

Ella- No nothing other than insulin and they were like that from the get go. I told Terry it looks like he's on narcotics (and he kinda acts like it some days with his crazy kitten behavior). It's very strange and we have no explanation, except that maybe it's a weird reaction to the insulin??? Anyone ever heard of that? The best I can describe it, he looks like a cat that's had TOO much nip!
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

Twice, let's find some curls in the safe part of the lagoon today, K? ~Neko

Do Twice's eyes go to slits in bright light? There is an age where it seems cat's eyes change a bit, it's sometime after 10 years. Vets can look at eyes and guesstimate a cat's age. Just wondering if it's a natural aging thing.
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

Thank you everyone for stopping in! Twice must have surfed as you all encouraged him too because he is at +11 76. He did eat both cans of food...that's pretty normal over the course of a cycle. He is playful and purry and very upset that I won't feed him :lol:
He accidentally took several chunks outta daddybean while they where playing with his 'prey'. Silly kitty :-D :-D
He is staying in his room for a couple hours. We had to let some of the strays in. They were 'puss-n-boots'ing us from the garden doors :roll: It is awfully cold out there...brrrr


Wendy- His entire eyeball has been black. But they do adjust in bright light, just default back to entirely black otherwise. Now he has light proportioned blacks :-D
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

Whoo hoo on a safe :mrgreen: :mrgreen: surf for Twice today :-D Several chunks!? DH must be tasty :lol: :lol:

Have a great night Kim!
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

Nice surf today for Twice!!

Kim, China's eyes have that same look. Like she's on some kind of narcotic with hardly any white showing most of the time. I hadn't seen anyone else say their cats did this so figured it was just a quirk China had. At least I know she's not the only one!
 
Re: 12/6 Twice AMPS 74

Chris-Whew! And yes, looks like narcotics. And no, there are none in our house he could have gotten into :lol:
Have hers always been like that since dx? As far as I can remember, Twice's were and it was part of the reason I thought something was wrong with him...
 
Yes, I noticed it soon after diagnosis, and they've pretty much stayed that way ever since.

I know they didn't use to be dilated like that except when it was appropriate, but since the diabetes, they're always dilated to some degree but never the little slits you think they should be
 
Looks like a nice surf going on here Twice :mrgreen:
Sorry about the chunks DH :o
Also sounds like a good time for a nap Twice while you are in solitaire :roll: :lol:
Have a great night Kim!
 
curious. punkin's eyes were dilated, but it was because the tumor in his pituitary gland that caused the acromegaly pressed on top of his optic tracks. i wonder what's the cause in your kitters. i don't think i've heard others mention that symptom, but maybe it just never came up.
 
I have no idea what the cause could be. It's a very 'round' look and like Chris said, not the slitty look you expect. I think it makes him look crazed. And now he acts crazed :roll: I'm not sure if it's a worrysome thing. I assumed his madness is from feeling so good. He seems like a very happy little fellow. Exactly like an older kitten would act.
Chris-did China's personality change at all? More playful or rough?
Julie-same question :-D

Now there are 3 of us...I'm curious how many other people have seen this and if they would have insight (pun slightly intended) into this...
 
Actually, Trix's eyes are often very big and round, too, now that you mention it. Proportional to her face, her eyes are very big to begin with, but they do tend to rarely be little slits. I honestly never thought about it before, because her eyes are so big and round overall anyway. Curious....

Nice surf for Twice!!!

ETA - she's pretty mellow, though...generally doesn't act crazed!
 
Actually, yes Kim...but I thought the reason she'd returned to more active and playful was because she was feeling better

I'm not going to go looking for a problem though...I'd think if it was anything serious, that by now (over 6 months) there'd be some other "symptom" if there was something wrong (I HOPE!!)
 
Nice looking day for Twice :mrgreen: Hope the DH is okay from the rough play :? Are you as cold as we are right now? -37C, with a windchill of -44C, blech. I'm glad I don't have to go anywhere this weekend (knock on wood!). It's been like this for 3 days now :shock: Have a nice night!
 
Chris- I'm with you. Not looking for a problem, just curious :-D

Rachel- You win. We were only -28C with -38C windchill :lol:

Marje-We are pretty excited to see him spending time in the healing zone! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top