12/6 Smokey AMPS 94 +3 155 +7 55 +9 48 now kidney prob :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Smokey

Member Since 2010
She just keeps dropping so we can't keep a dose steady for anything. I gave her a token dose this morning because she wasn't eating and in hopes to give her a rest from all the poking. And again we hit the 40s

Had an appt already since we had her welness exam scheduled. She's full of poop again, which could be attributing to not eating. But all 3 of her kidney values are elevated. The BUN has went up on dehydration, but come back down. Now Creatinine and Phosph are both up too. We've only been on the higher levels of Lasix for a month and a half :( We go in tomorrow to go over the sub-Q fluids again, we did them with Peanut, but only once, in a panic, 2 years ago. We just can't seem to win for my girl.

I just have no idea how to dose the insulin anymore. Its not good to be all over the place with the dose, but I can't give more when she's not eating and hitting 40s and 50s and not coming up much even with high carb food and caro.

Off to Sam's to get her a chicken and PetSmart to see if they have any Avoderm, her favorite low phosph food.

last post viewtopic.php?f=9&t=84436
 
Re: AMPS 94 +3 155 +5 106 +7 55 +9 48 now kidney prob :(

Marje is very familiar with kidney issues and has a video on giving sub-q fluids at home. However, sub-qs in a cat with CHF can be tricky.

FWIW, kidney issues can effect appetite.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top