12/6 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 5 - Looking good so far

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/3 Silver - Vet Response to Silver's Progress

Juliet,
save yourself another vet bill by teaching your other cat to let you test....

go for random times.... but get a few .... see how that cat is trending.....

if the numbers are always in the norm range....





our previous other cat turned out to have fd too.... until I changed her food. ( we don't have her now.... she had other health issues and
had to cross the bridge)
 
Re: 12/3 Silver - Vet Response to Silver's Progress

Wondering if you had a magic way to send me the spreadsheet in a format that I can use in our vet software. After downloading and managing to get it into an Excel .xls file I learned our software doesn't like that.
Then I downloaded it as a .pdf file and it is 32 pages long. Don't want that either.
Can you send me the info for Nov 2014 as a .pdf that is maybe 1-4 pages long - likely needs to be in landscape format.
Does that make sense?
Thanks kindly,


Juliet,
In Google Docs, I think that under the "file" menu, there is an option to "download as" and you can pick "PDF". And you can choose "landscape" as well.
 
Re: 12/3 Silver - Vet Response to Silver's Progress

Thanks Carl! That worked

Good idea Rhiannon. Sasha is far less likely to allow that but I'll try. I tested her once and she as mad at me but that was when I wasn't very good at it
 
Re: 12/3 Silver - AMPS 77.4; PMPS 90 - NO INSULIN!

I hope you're gaining confidence in being able to talk to your vet too!

She needs to learn that the vast majority of cats are "good boys and girls" and with a little patience (and the right bribe) will allow testing as often as the caretaker wants to...I mean look at some of us!

Congratulations on another wonderful day!
 
Re: 12/3 Silver - AMPS 77.4; PMPS 90 - NO INSULIN!

Thanks Chris....glad you and China got to your destination in one piece!
 
Re: 12/3 Silver - AMPS 77.4; PMPS 90 - NO INSULIN!

juliet . this is amazing. seems like we r going to have an OTJ party. woo hoo. dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 12/3 Silver - AMPS 77.4; PMPS 90 Lights Out 91.8

The silly boy doesn't realize he doesn't have to get as many tests. He has just been at the testing table mewing his head off for a test. So fine, I'll test you then. Still nicely in the green.
 
Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3 - Looking Good

thanks....am beginning to let my breath out thinking this is it....whoohoo Silver...best Christmas present.

:RAHCAT flip_cat :RAHCAT flip_cat :RAHCAT flip_cat
 
Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3 - Looking Good

FANTASTIC JULIET & SILVER
:RAHCAT dancing_cat :RAHCAT dancing_cat :RAHCAT
 
Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3 - Looking Good

Well I know its premature to put up the OTJ but he's had no shot for three days.....he's peeing in his litter box again and he's even attempting to run after his sister despite his neuropathy which seems to be taking FOREVER to get better. Eleven more days to go......just in time for a Christmas party at the Falls.

How often should I be testing just now? Twice a day - more? less?
 
Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3

I'd check about 2 hours after feeding, when you want to see the pancreas kicking in.
 
Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3

ok...

So much for saying he's stopped peeing on the floor....just did. Grrr. Anyways, I threw a keytostix under him and came back negative but I wish he'd use the tray more often. Hit or miss, sometimes yes, sometimes no.
 
Re: 12/4 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 3

Hi Juliet

It's great that Silver is doing so well. With regards the weakness in the legs I know I mentioned it before but when you can afford it you might want to Silver's potassium levels tested. I think it tends to be an inhouse test and may not be as expensive as some of the others. I make sure that when I go to the vet for a test they don't charge me for a consultation just for drawing some blood.

Hopefully he will continue to improve by himself and so there is no need. :-D
 
Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

Day four going well - a nice green number. I have let out my breath now. I think we are half way to the Falls.

I am actually going to see if I can go right from work to an evening meeting tonight without going home. I used to do this once a week before Silver's diagnosis and this is the first time I am trying it. Do you think I will expect a higher number as he's waiting a couple hrs longer for his food? I gave them both a bigger breakfast so they will be fine.

Juliet
 
Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

If they graze, Silver may be OK. If they eat all at once, Silver might go up.

An inexpensive option is to freeze some of the food and put out both the fresh and the frozen when you leave, so that the frozen may be eaten when it thaws.
 
Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

Day 7 will be half way to the falls. He has to go 14 days before he is officially OTJ.

Been thinking about the peeing outside the box issue. How have you been cleaning it up? If you haven't used something like Nature's Miracle or Fizzon that will kill the enzymes as well, he could be still doing it because he can smell that he has used that spot before. If it's been on carpet, you are going to need to use something like the above that you can soak all the way through the carpet and the pad under it. If you have or can get a black light that will show you if you have traces left.

Just a thought.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

MommaOfMuse said:
Day 7 will be half way to the falls. He has to go 14 days before he is officially OTJ.

Been thinking about the peeing outside the box issue. How have you been cleaning it up? If you haven't used something like Nature's Miracle or Fizzon that will kill the enzymes as well, he could be still doing it because he can smell that he has used that spot before. If it's been on carpet, you are going to need to use something like the above that you can soak all the way through the carpet and the pad under it. If you have or can get a black light that will show you if you have traces left.

Just a thought.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Yeah I know we're not halfway there yet....almost :-). My meeting got cancelled tonight BJ so no issue.

Re the peeing - he always goes to the puppy pads of which I put down two layers with a shower curtain underneath. It doesn't even soak through to the second pad. That is just my insurance to protect my landlords hardwood floor. I just lift up the pad and throw it away.
 
Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

Brilliant vid! And inspired use of a laser pointer. That black 'n' white kitty was really motoring! :cool:
 
Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

i would love to get one of those but i think it might scare my gang but how cool is that !!!
 
Re: 12/5 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 4

Thanks Chris....how did you post the video? I couldn't figure it out...

Its fun right? I think I will try and get one....Silver's mommy got inspired. Went to the gym today for the first time in years....ouch ouch!

Anyone know where I could buy a laser pointer?
 
Laser pointers should be fairly easy to pick up online, Juliet. I'd imagine that lots of pet shops stock them, too.
 
keep it up Silver.
dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top