12/6 Silver - OTJ Trial Day 5 - Looking good so far

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/2 Silver - AMPS 77.4 - THIRD morning no shot - whoo h

RobinCot said:
HI HO SILVER!!!!

Let's see if this kitty can give us another OTJ party! Alska loves to party....

You are doing a great job being so attentive.

Is Alska your avatar? Pretty cat!
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - AMPS 124.2 Second morning no dose

If he bounces, I'd see if he'll come down on his own.
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - AMPS 124.2 Second morning no dose

Ok....sounds real good to me - I might just have an early night tonight.
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - AMPS 124.2 Second morning no dose

I have a button which states:

"Sleep is for wimps. Happy, healthy, well-rested wimps, but wimps nonetheless."

... I confess to being a wimp!
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - AMPS 124.2 Second morning no dose

Yup, then I'm a wimp too... Silver has a habit of waking me up at 4am for TLC. As his neuropathy is so bad he cant jump on the bed anymore he scratches on the side of it til I wake up and lift him.

Now, he sleeps in the cat carrier beside my bed (only place his sister will give him peace). and in the mornings, he will jump on top of the carrier as a stepping stone to my bed....but I still get woken with head butts and he rams his head into my hand until I pet him. Having stayed up with him til midnight last night - this mommy is having a hard time at work today. Its 2:30pm and I am just getting my lunch :-(

Roll on bedtime for this wimp....... I-) I-) I-)
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - AMPS 124.2 Second morning no dose

Jill & Alex (GA) said:
fwiw, my 2 cents: leave it vague and deal with starting an OTJ trial on a cat to cat basis. my reasoning: obviously we want to set kitty up for a strong remission, but some newly diagnosed kitties are very clear about telling us when they're done with shots. otoh, there are many kitties who have been on insulin for quite awhile and are still throwing high numbers during a cycle despite dropping below 90 mg/dL on 0.25 unit. those are the kitties who would probably benefit from dropping to a 0.1u dose before withholding insulin to begin an OTJ trial.

This quote is from Think Tank but I wanted opinion just to underscore re Silver and his dose - which do you think applies here - should I try an OTJ trial - in which case, please someone post what I do in a trial - just no insulin - for how long?
and if he is in the second category - as he does bounce pretty high into the reds when he decides he's going to bounce - should I give the 0.1u?

Please let me know .....

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - AMPS 124.2 Second morning no dose

With Silver it is an either or situation since he is still considered newly diagnosed (less than a year on insulin) Autumn is one of those that falls into the second category as she has been on insulin for over 2 years and went just about a year after she was diagnosed without treatment.

Personally, if he was mine I would try an OTJ trial with him because of the way he drops so hard and fast early on. With my guy that has been in remission 4+ years I never shot less than .5 and that was only one shot before trying an OTJ trial with him which he passed with flying colors and has never looked back since. Cassanova took a couple tries at it before he passed and Autumn, well she is just Autumn and will or won't come off completely but she'll do it by her own rules.

The worst thing that happens if they fail an OTJ trial is you put them back on insulin again.

But an OTJ trial is testing as normal just not giving insulin. If the cat can stay in normal range for 14 days without insulin and most of those numbers in the double digits, then they are officially OTJ and we throw a party.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - AMPS 124.2 Second morning no dose

Ok...so I test at AMPS and PMPS and don't shoot no matter what I see....okay, I can handle that. And am sure Silver's ears will be glad of the break. I KNOW he was getting frustrated last night with the hourly testing.

Double digits? For me you mean below 6 right?
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - AMPS 124.2 Second morning no dose

double digits would be 2.2 to 5.5 for you. Sorry I keep forgetting to convert.

The only exception to the rule is if he goes above 200 and just keeps going up or goes into high numbers and stays there for more than a couple days.

But we will walk you through that if it comes to that. Just keep testing and posting the numbers and we'll try to catch the red flags if the OTJ trial needs to be aborted and he needs to go back on insulin. And as always when withholding insulin, get those ketone checks in as often as possible. Even a trace on the ketone strips its back on the juice for the little guy.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - AMPS 124.2 Second morning no dose

MommaOfMuse said:
But we will walk you through that if it comes to that. Just keep testing and posting the numbers and we'll try to catch the red flags if the OTJ trial needs to be aborted and he needs to go back on insulin. And as always when withholding insulin, get those ketone checks in as often as possible. Even a trace on the ketone strips its back on the juice for the little guy.

Mel and The Fur Gang

I dunno if I am doing the ketone testing right....I tried using different litter for him (non-absorbent) so I could grab a test and no chance....he used the puppy pad on the floor.

On Saturday I caught him on the puppy pad so I immediately grabbed a stick, threw it into the soaked pad and soaked the strip. It didn't change color. So does that mean no ketones?? I have only done this twice and both times it stayed the same color.
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - AMPS 124.2 Second morning no dose

Yep if it doesn't change color then no ketones...There should be a color chart on the bottle that tells you by color if you have them and to what degree. The tricky part with ketostixs is they have to be read right at the 15 second mark. They will sometimes darker or fade after that mark, so you want whatever color it is right at 15 seconds. So what I do, and now my two are easy they use the box and aren't shy about it, When I hear someone peeing I race in with the stick in hand and stick under their butts into the urine stream, pull it back, count to 15 and check against the color code on the bottle.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - AMPS 124.2 Second morning no dose

Yeah none of mine will pee if I am in the room!! Yup waited the 15 seconds and have got the color chart. I guess we are good then.

Yup that's me. I wish I had a bigger house!
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    38.6 KB · Views: 356
Re: 12/2 Silver - HOLDING - 399.6...do I shoot??

Sorry for the 911 but need speedy reply - do I shoot or keep to the OTJ trial plan. Came home to huge bounce.
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - HOLDING - 399.6...do I shoot??

Also, I think you're probably already pretty late and I know your schedule doesn't have much leeway, so by not shooting late tonight, if the general consensus is to start insulin again, we won't have to worry about whether it's been 12 hours or not

OK now Silver...here's your chance to have your pancreas show us what it can do!!
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - HOLDING - 399.6...do I shoot??

Ok..yeah its snowing hard outside so I'm half an hour late getting home. I was sooo disappointed to see that high number :-Q :sad:
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - HOLDING - 399.6...do I shoot??

Soooo - if he is high tomorrow morning and I havent seen him come down much tonight - what if anything, do I shoot in the morning. I am up and out the house by 6:30 am EST so I rarely see anyone online to ask at that point so need some guidelines tonight if someone can chip in and advise please.

Juliet and Silver.
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - HOLDING - 399.6...do I shoot??

Thanks Nadine but Silver just wont use any other litter and as right now, he is often using the puppy pads on the floor, I dont want to do anything that might discourage him using his tray.

Also - I live in Canada so ADW doesn't ship here.
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - HOLDING - 399.6...do I shoot??

Sorry was testing and feeding the herd here.

If he is still above 300 (16.6) tomorrow morning go ahead and shoot but only that .1

Since you don't have half unit markings on your syringes, you are going to want just a sliver of light between the bottom of the plunger and the needle end of the barrel.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - HOLDING - 399.6...do I shoot??

Ok..Thanks Mel. Oh and I do have half unit syringes now. So I'm giving one drop?
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - HOLDING - 399.6...do I shoot??

You're giving a fat zero. A drop is even smaller.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - HOLDING - 399.6...do I shoot??

Juliet,
I might have missed if you said already, but did you retest that 399 to make sure it wasn't just a bad test?
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - HOLDING - 399.6...do I shoot??

Carl & Polly said:
Juliet,
I might have missed if you said already, but did you retest that 399 to make sure it wasn't just a bad test?

No I didn't think of that. Going to do a test in about ten mins (three hours since food) to see if he has come down on his own. (Carl - I posted you a message in Grief I hope you have seen it)

Mel -not sure then what a fat zero is. Last night I filled a syringe to one unit. Squeezed out the drops and consistently got 6 large drops to one unit. I then squeezed out four drops and gave Silver the rest. Would that be considered a fat zero or too much?

I know I shouldn't but I fill the morning syringe the night beforehand. My eyes aren't so good and first thing when I'm tired I can't see to fill micro doses so I need to get this fat zero down tonight.
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - HOLDING - 399.6...do I shoot??

Yes Juliet, I saw what you posted in Grief and thank you for your kind words.

I retested Bob a few times when I saw a really unexpected number. Sometimes I got disappointed with a number close to the original. But there were times when the first test turned out to be wrong. I wrote if off as a bad strip or too large a blood sample.
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - Lights Out after no shot - 304.2

Carl & Polly said:
I retested Bob a few times when I saw a really unexpected number. Sometimes I got disappointed with a number close to the original. But there were times when the first test turned out to be wrong. I wrote if off as a bad strip or too large a blood sample.

I kind of did expect a bounce though - just was expecting it this morning after his low last night.

I just tested after 3 hrs since his food - he came down to 304.2. Still high but from red to pink with no insulin must be a good sign right?
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - HOLDING - 399.6...do I shoot??

Carl

I'm on my phone atm, computer is doing a disc scan so can't access to grab a link. Can you link Juliet the photos of the different micro doses?

The ones I'm thinking of are in the Stickies in the Lev ISG. But should be I think in TR as well. Steve & Jock did them if that helps tracking them down. Pretty Please?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - Lights Out after no shot - 304.2

Sorry guys, I'm beat...am heading to bed.

Let's hope I don't have to shoot at all tomorrow but if I do, I will allow myself enough time to check see if there is a instruction post here....if not, will give the 2 drops that I gave last night...at least I'm pretty sure it was 2 drops. These micro doses are so hard to do when you're in a rush. Even practicing is hard as its different every time. Anyone got any easy ways of doing this fat zero thingy?

Goodnight all - hoping for a nice yellow or blue number in the morning so no shot required.

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - Lights Out after no shot - 304.2

Thanks bunches Carl. < blows kisses> You're a Peach. And still my favorite no L using visitor :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - Lights Out after no shot - 304.2

MommaOfMuse said:
Thanks bunches Carl. < blows kisses> You're a Peach. And still my favorite no L using visitor :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang

haha_smiley

Well I think I got it...wasted a bit of insulin practicing but hey, I dont think I am going to need the whole vial he will be OTJ before it finishes. Right? :-D
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - Lights Out after no shot - 304.2

KittyMom777 said:
...Well I think I got it...wasted a bit of insulin practicing but hey, I don't think I am going to need the whole vial he will be OTJ before it finishes. Right? :-D

Absolutely right. You may be in a chasing numbers situation, as Mel does with her kitty. When its high enough, she gives a drop and otherwise, she waits.
 
Re: 12/2 Silver - Lights Out after no shot - 304.2

Yup - he surprised me this morning with a nice green number...go Silver!
 
Re: 12/3 Silver AMPS 77.4 - THIRD morning no shot

that's great Juliet. dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 12/3 Silver AMPS 77.4 - THIRD morning no shot

tibbs5 said:
that's great Juliet. dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat

I am sure hoping for a nice green number tonight too - blue would be fine also.

Here is Silver in his pre-diabetes days - sneaking into my bed with such an innocent look on his face when he got caught!
 

Attachments

  • Sleeping babies2.jpg
    Sleeping babies2.jpg
    38.1 KB · Views: 274
Re: 12/3 Silver AMPS 77.4 - THIRD morning no shot

Yep, you just enjoy yourself today, Juliet, and have a great day at work, knowing your baby's pancreas is happily chugging along. He is doing great! Remember, as Carl said, a high number can be a bad strip, or kitty has a fur ball he needs to expell, or he has his panties in a twist about something.
 
Re: 12/3 Silver AMPS 77.4 - THIRD morning no shot

LindaMS said:
Yep, you just enjoy yourself today, Juliet, and have a great day at work, knowing your baby's pancreas is happily chugging along. He is doing great! Remember, as Carl said, a high number can be a bad strip, or kitty has a fur ball he needs to expell, or he has his panties in a twist about something.

Lol! Yeah, I was disappointed with those high numbers last night but glad I didn't shoot anything.
 
Re: 12/3 Silver AMPS 77.4 - THIRD morning no shot

:-D

Go Silver Go!!!!

Hmmm wonder what your vet is going to say in another 13 days if he can maintain these numbers. ;-)

Ya sure we don't know how Lantus works in a cat around here... :lol:

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/3 Silver AMPS 77.4 - THIRD morning no shot

MommaOfMuse said:
:-D

Go Silver Go!!!!

Hmmm wonder what your vet is going to say in another 13 days if he can maintain these numbers. ;-)

Ya sure we don't know how Lantus works in a cat around here... :lol:

Mel and The Fur Gang

Uhuh....I'm remembering her comment in her response to me "It would be delightful if all cats would read the textbook and respond to the Lantus injections as outlined by Mel and The Fur Gang. Sadly they don't and they do as they wish. I will reiterate, this is not a micromanagable disease in cats." I called the vet yesterday by the way and told the receptionist I had emailed the SS and could she take a look. She didn't get back to me. I guess no-one likes admitting they were wrong. I may not hear anything.

But hmmm....as he had no insulin yesterday, I'm counting today as day 2 of his OTJ trial.
 
Re: 12/3 Silver AMPS 77.4 - THIRD morning no shot

It is Day 2 of his OTJ trial but today isn't over yet. So it is 1 day down and 13 to go.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/3 Silver AMPS 77.4 - THIRD morning no shot

:-D I'm thinking positive - the guy is going to be playing in the grass all day with maybe a dip in the lagoon later.
 
Re: 12/3 Silver AMPS 77.4 - THIRD morning no shot

This just might be the bounce.

I would wait it out and see but someone with more dosing knowledge might advise otherwise. Still looking good - Hi Ho Silver!!!
 
Re: 12/3 Silver AMPS 77.4 - THIRD morning no shot

Good job Silver and Juliet :)

I had to change vet after Prop got diabetes. She didnt work with me and the dose just continued to rise. I suggested a foodchange to wet food. The vet said no. When i did anyway and numbers dropped dramatically, she refused to advise me anymore, so I changed. The best decision ever :) Prop was OTJ for more than 3 years. Just started insulin again in may and will prob. Not get OTj one more time. So i just try to keep her in safe numbers below 250, but not dropping to low. I jult like the blue number, she is safe and i can go to work not worrieng :)
 
Re: 12/3 Silver AMPS 77.4 - THIRD morning no shot

Charlotte & Prop said:
Good job Silver and Juliet :)

I had to change vet after Prop got diabetes. She didnt work with me and the dose just continued to rise. I suggested a foodchange to wet food. The vet said no.

I had never taken mine to the vet until the diabetes....so this is my first experience with the vet. They are indoor cats so I don't give them any shots except their initial shots as kittens and getting them neutered/spayed. This vet is not happy I am not using the DM Purina prescribed food either. Unfortunately with this vet experience re the diabetes I have lost all faith in vets (don't have much in doctors either mind you). She's a nice person but she was clearly wrong in her ideas.

I will have to take my other cat in soon (stalling til I have the $$). She is not losing any weight despite me having her on just one can of FF a day and one teaspoon of the Purina DM - she's a dry food addict and I am finishing off the bag I bought for Silver. Once that's done she won't get dry. I am concerned she may have hypothyroidism or something else explaining why not weight loss.

Juliet and Silver (and portly Sasha)
 
Re: 12/3 Silver AMPS 77.4 - THIRD morning no shot

Hypothyroid is extremely rare in cats. And usually only shows up after there has been a injury to the thyroid or as the result of treating hyperthyroidism with radiation. (I131)

But I can tell you that cats just loose weight very slowly. It took me nearly a year to take the weight off Cassanova, and he's still a little bit 'fluffy' around the middle..
You really don't want her to lose weight fast as it can cause other health issues. But just like with humans, its not just diet alone, it is also exercise. You got to get her up and running around. She needs to move like the cat she is, she needs to run, jump, climb, pounce and hunt. You have to get her heart-rate up and wear her out.

We ran Cass all over the house with feather wands, laser pointers, a streamer of fabric on a stick, and made him chase, and leap in the air until he would finally just quit and lay down exhausted. In short we became a bird and a mouse to chase. It's a workout for you both, but it is also a great way to bond, especially since she is a civie and right now Silver is getting all the special attention. Sasha still needs her special mommy time too. Because just like with children, cats can get very jealous if they think one of the members of the household is getting special attention and they aren't. And will pick on the favored child, when mom isn't looking.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/3 Silver AMPS 77.4 - THIRD morning no shot

MommaOfMuse said:
We ran Cass all over the house with feather wands, laser pointers, a streamer of fabric on a stick, and made him chase, and leap in the air until he would finally just quit and lay down exhausted. In short we became a bird and a mouse to chase. It's a workout for you both, but it is also a great way to bond, especially since she is a civie and right now Silver is getting all the special attention. Sasha still needs her special mommy time too. Because just like with children, cats can get very jealous if they think one of the members of the household is getting special attention and they aren't. And will pick on the favored child, when mom isn't looking.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Oh believe me I have tried. I have the wavy wand toys and I poke her trying to get her up and playing. She plays when she wants to and that's not often :-(

She gets her special time - that's when I've gone to bed - she'll come and climb in her TLC.
 
Re: 12/3 Silver AMPS 77.4 - Vet Response to Silver's Progres

Lol Mel....do you think this is a concession that yes, the forum DOES know what its talking about?? Any ideas anyone, re how to send her the spreadsheet for her files...dunno why they cant print it.

HI Juliet,
Things certainly do look like they are working well. I can't believe that he is letting you test his BG's so often. He is such a good boy.
Awesome that he will soon be OTJ.
How is his walking doing?

Wondering if you had a magic way to send me the spreadsheet in a format that I can use in our vet software. After downloading and managing to get it into an Excel .xls file I learned our software doesn't like that.
Then I downloaded it as a .pdf file and it is 32 pages long. Don't want that either.
Can you send me the info for Nov 2014 as a .pdf that is maybe 1-4 pages long - likely needs to be in landscape format.
Does that make sense?
Thanks kindly,

Dr. G.
 
Re: 12/3 Silver AMPS 77.4 - Vet Response to Silver's Progres

i'd say it's a concession. .lol congratulations
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top