12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79, PMPS 126, +4 98

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday; viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31401&start=0

Good Monday, Everyone,

Woke up to the sound of the snowplow on the street. I think we'll get enough snow today so that maybe we can go snowshoeing tomorrow or Wednesday (errands to do today). Rusty had a good night sleeping peacefully and singing occasionally (I think). Ate all of the food left out for him and ate a good breakfast this morning. I needed 5 pokes to get his bg test, but--listen to this--he came over to the test site (the couch) and jumped right up!!!! And he was calm and patient in Edward's arms. The "white-trash headgear" really works, Celi. Never mind that you don't think he's the type to wear it. He doesn't "wear" it. I use it like I would use the rice sock and he doesn't mind it at all (I think it's because the plastic bag the washcloth is in is nice and smooth). Anyway, the test was OK, and while it took me a long time to "find" his skin through all that fur to do the insulin shot, I'm pretty sure the shot went in, too.
After breakfast Rusty spent some time admiring his Welcome Basket (rubbing it with his head) and he had a treat from it. Then I thought maybe he would like to play with Stu's "Big Bug" (the "Cat Dancer" toy). I got it down and, wow, did he have a great time stalking and pouncing, chasing and jumping. Stu had hardly played with it for the last few months of his life: another indication of how poor he was feeling, since he used to love this toy. Rusty's play reminded me of Stu in his prime and I was happy that this legacy was passed on. We played for about 15 vigorous minutes and then Rusty went up onto his perch, played a little more with "Red Ears" and now is lounging.
If the roads aren't too bad I may go to Plattsburgh today to the Walmart. I have plenty of strips for the Relion Ultima, but the Relion Micro is much easier to use with Rusty and I will need more strips by the end of this week. I'll stop at the Petsmart, too, to restock the Wellness.
Everyone have a good Monday,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97

Good boy Rusty....Jumping up on the test area for your beans. Very nice preshot number this morning.

Its also really nice to hear that he's enjoying himself w/the joint and individual play time.

I can't play w/Curry for the first 3-4 hours after her shot....since she nadirs so quickly and play really brings her numbers down. And she loves to play...15 minutes seem to be the max time for the kitties. Her favorite toy is a couple of long plastic binders that were on the box w/the artifical Christmas tree...my two kitties go nuts when I pull it out.

Have a great day. Stay warm....Its cold up yonder. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97

Wonderful report on rusty this morning as always Ella! That is so great that he plays so much. What a beautiful AMPS too! I have been using the micro since our switch from the Contour. I really like it a lot.
I hope you will have a good trip to the stores today....careful with that weather and the driving....
Hope you have a good one!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97

isn't it strange about that ear warmer fascination, ella? binks goes and gets his occasionally and brings it to me...so i warm it up and warm his feet, lay it across his neck, or warm up his ears during snuggles.

sometimes they take a shine to the strangest things...

nice amps!
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97

Go Rusty! Wow - isn't that great that he went to his testing spot on his own. Fantastic! Good numbers this AM too.

I love the play - what a nice legacy to pass on. :-D

Good luck with the errands - be careful out there!

Hey Rusty! I hear they have cleared your roads of that white stuff - maybe I could bring the gang for a visit? See you? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97

Maggie and I so enjoy your condo - you didn't know she could read, huh! What a special boy kitty and he seems so happy he's found his forever home with you and Edward. :smile:
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97

As usual, a delightful WCR and condo to visit. Sounds like he if really adjusting and willing to be tested. Such a lucky boy to have a forever home with 2 devoted beans at his command. Have a great day. Hope you get to walk but be careful.
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79

Rusty jumped up to the test spot again (and I got blood on the first try!). 79 at +5.25.
Off now to Plattsburgh in the snow. I might try another test when I get home in the late afternoon.

Ella
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79

Rusty is definitely home and settling into the routine and what great numbers! The "big bug" toys are the best! We will all continue remember Stu when we visit Rusty, especially when looking at Stu's name right in the middle of Rusty's.

You are making me homesick for snowy weather. I never have gotten into the same Christmas spirit since we moved out here.
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79

What a great report on Rusty, Ella! I love reading about his playing. :-D And what beautiful numbers he has, too! :mrgreen: Have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79

What a great day for Rusty!! My cats dont play very much anymore--They do clash upon close encounters with each other, Claws & stuff--He likes to scratch, but Moonie she doesnt play much,but will lay in all the catnip toys & watch the world!-
Rusty's numbers are amazing! He's liking his new home & beans--You've done wonders for him so quickly!!
Have a good rest of the day!--Bug HUGS! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79

Ahh, how nice to see that Rusty has settled into his new home, Ella, and that everyone is so happy!
Very nice number today so far! Glad playtime was so nice to see. My guys don't play much either, but when they do, it is so funny to watch. Enjoy!
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79

Great numbers!! Your WCR had me smiling. It's so great to hear how well Rusty is acclimating.

Are you sure he's part (all?) Maine Coon and not Norwegian Forest Cat? Gizmo sings and talks and chatters and even yodels. I don't know how vocal Maine Coons are but Gizmo is certainly has a lot to say.
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79

Good afternoon, Ella!!! Loved your WCR today and I bet you were very happy that Rusty jumped up onto the test spot!! His numbers look so good that I have to believe you've been getting all his juice in him. My kitties love that cat dancer toy, too. I bet you are really enjoying having him play and romp!!!
You gotta get a recording of his singing!! Be careful out there...land of ice and snow!!
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79

Hi Ella,

I'm so glad that Rusty jumped up to the testing spot! That is so great. A lot of stress must have melted away since he has started doing that. You and Edward have done an awesome job with him. And he hasn't been there that long. I knew it would fall into place for you guys. :-D

Could you show a picture of this headgear sometime? Beautiful bg's BTW.

Nice to hear that he was playing and it brought you good memories of Stu. He will never be forgotten.

Have a good night and I'm so glad that Rusty has nestled right in.

jan and sara
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79

What a great afternoon for Rusty! one happy cat. How was your trip to Plattsburgh? Not too bad out there? Have a great evening!!

Rusty - your papabean makes one terrific fire! and I think your snow kitty was the best. ~~ Mannie. pssstttt - those tuna toddy's were really good.... I may have to add them to our winter party menu. YUM!
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79, PMPS 126

just remember, jan...you did ask...

crappy pics, but here it is in its stand alone, off the rack splendor...and then binks wearin it with pride!
 

Attachments

  • binks white trash style show.jpeg
    binks white trash style show.jpeg
    5 KB · Views: 861
  • headgear on display.jpeg
    headgear on display.jpeg
    6 KB · Views: 850
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79, PMPS 126

Hi Everyone,
I'm back from Plattsburgh with 200 test strips, a case of Wellness, some freeze-dried chicken treats and some Wellness "Pure Delights" treats, and a pack of 3 Wonderboxes (neat litterbox liners made of papiermaché). Roads were snowy here, but clear the further north I got. Rusty appears to have bounced a bit. Maybe it was a fur shot this morning, or maybe it is just a normal variation (he didn't eat any food between +10 and PMPS, but he did finish what was in his bowl between (I think) +9 and +10. Tomorrow I'm going to add a test and get AMPS, +4, +8, PMPS, +4.
We had a good test this evening (first try), and I know that I didn't shoot a fur shot.

Ann: I had also noticed the embedding of "STU" in rUSTy and think it is neat.

Sienne: Not sure about Norwegian Forest Cat, but he sure looks like a Maine Coon Cat. He does have expressive vocalizations, but the "singing" is always at night (in his sleep?)

Jan: The "headgear" is actually worn by Binks (I think) (Celi told me how to make one), but for Rusty it is simply a substitution for the rice sock (which he doesn't like). It's a slightly damp washcloth, heated in the microwave for 15 seconds, and put into a plastic bag. I then wrap it around his ear to warm it. It's much smoother in texture than a sock filled with rice. Oh, I just see that Celi has posted pictures!!

Everyone: Thanks for dropping by today. I'm off to visit condos tonight,
Ella
Hey Mannie, the snow kitties were fun. and the tuna toddys, too. Great winter brew! Thanks for coming over and braving the snowy roads!
Rusty


p.s. to Cyn: Thanks for the tip. I have bought from petfooddirect, but had to stop getting their e mail announcements because there were so many of them. I'll just have to check their website more often! The hug will be given soon!!
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79, PMPS 126

i think we could sell it to 'as seen on tv" as Rag In a Bag! :lol:

glad you made it back safely!
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79, PMPS 126

He's doing so well!!

If he like wellness, you might think about buying it from petfooddirect. I get it much cheaper from them than i do from PetCo/Petsmart. Sign up for their email list, and you'll get announcements for their sales. I wait for the 17-20% off.

Give that lovebug a hug from me!
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79, PMPS 126

Ella these are such normal numbers that I'm smiling!! Hope the rag bag works for Rusty!--I just need to walk near Moonie & she bleeds!!
Have a great nite! Stay warm my friends! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79, PMPS 126

Awwwww....singing in his sleep....Maybe he's actually awake and singing lullabies to you and Edward. What a sweet kitty.

Pretty numbers....that 126...is just a blip.
 
Re: 12/6 Rusty AMPS 97, +5.25 79, PMPS 126

I'm leaning toward Rusty being of Wegie descent because of the shape of his head and earset. He sounds like a really charming gentleman.

MJ&Donovan
 
I used that "rag in a bag" with Putty when I first started testing him 2 years ago. I even took it a step further because I got too lazy. I wet a paper towel with hot water and put it in a plastic lunch bag. Now I don't have to use anything. I just rub his ear before poking and he bleeds quite nicely. :mrgreen:

A very nice day for Rusty and so good to hear that he went to his testing spot by himself....what a good boy.
 
:oops: Wegie = Norwegian Forest Cat
(sorry for the breed slang!)
Meezer = Siamese; Foldie = Scottish Fold; Aby = Abyssinian; Himmy = Himalayan; Brit = British Shorthair, etc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top