12/6 - PIP, AM349, +2 187, +4 239, +6 274, +8 279, +10 320, PM310, +2 270, +4 250

SarahJeanne

Member Since 2025
Hello everyone :)

Pip remained in the pink numbers after his first dose of Lantus last night (at least until +5.5 when I fell asleep).
This morning he was at 19.4 (349 pre shot and he just dropped pretty drastically to 10.4 (187) at +2

I just gave him a snack and he seems do be doing well, is it normal to see such drastic drops on the first days of Lantus?

thank you all so much and have a great day!
 
Hi SarahJeanne, if you have a question, edit your subject line to include the blue question mark icon. That signals to people that you have a question and will get some eyes on it. For the readings, just include the US numbers, as that's the standard here.

Congrats on your progress, Pip!

1765032283235.png
 
Some cats can have a strong reaction to the insulin switch. Since your +2 is significantly lower than preshot, I would suggest you keep a close eye on this cycle. Getting a +3 or +4 would be worthwhile.
 
13.4 (239) at +4...

from experience does that mean his NADIR was at +2 and he's going back up or are fluctuations normal and I should still be in potential hypo vigilence?

I must admit I would love a nap hahaha

Thank you so much!
 
You don't yet know what Pip's nadir is. There will be lots to find out, so get some good naps in when you can 😸

Typically, the nadir is around the mid-cycle, around +6, so a test then is a very good idea. But, Every Cat is Different (ECID), is one of the rules of the cat universe, so Pip will be showing you, in the days to come, when his nadir is, which is when his body is using the current dose to the max. Some cats have a late nadir, for example at +9, and this can always change. Just to keep things fun!

There's a great sticky (must-read article) here on the insulin depot. Lantus is a depot insulin, and Pip's just starting to build it. You're both doing great, and we definitely need to see a photo of Max!
 
Great first day with Lantus. Could you put a blank line on your spreadsheet after your last Prozinc shot, with words like "start Lantus" on that line, so we can easily see where you made the change.
 
Back
Top