Re: 12/6 Oliver AMPS 505
argh. i've spent the past 40 minutes writing a response to you and then Chrome crashed and it's lost. GRRrR. we hate computers. i now want to throw this thing out the window! *breathing*
i'm not going to write the whole thing again, but here's the bottom line. it's understandable you want to please your vet, but the only published protocol for treating a diabetic cat is the one we follow here. perhaps you can print it out and ask your vet what dosing protocol he's following. we've had 4 diabetic cats go off insulin in the past month, if you've been following them. there are 2 more getting there that will likely be doing OTJ trials before long. in all, we've had about 300 cats go off by following this protocol. so it's proven - both in studies and in practice. This is the protocol:
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19592286
when oliver hit the 48, he bounced. an explanation of that is on the second post here in
New Dose Wonkiness at that point, he needed a dose reduction (shooting through the am bounce was fine) to 1.75u. he was still in a bounce from that when you increased back to 2.0u. that sends numbers wonky, and it's put him at a higher dose than he needs. it is really dangerous to not take dose reductions with a newly diagnosed cat - as their pancreas heals, you need less and less insulin injected because their pancreas is sputtering and helping produce some as well.
you don't need different syringes - there aren't any with .25u markings. there was a discussion about this on your last post on 12/3
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=109308&p=1155348#p1155348. maybe you didn't see the replies on that one. some people use magnifying glasses to see the lines, if that helps you.
it's really important to wait to evaluate a dose until a bounce has cleared. when you increased back to 2.0u, that was during a bounce. Not all high numbers require more insulin!!!! vets tend to see high numbers and think that means increase, but we have a spreadsheet that we can see that these high numbers are from bouncing, not from a too-low dose of insulin. if Oliver clears the bounce and has too much insulin in him, he might very well come down like a freight train. If i were you, i would absolutely decrease back to 1.75u in order to keep him safe, then wait for 3 days after the blue 150 you saw a day or so ago (his ss closed when chrome crashed, so i don't have it open in front of me) before you change his dose again.
hope you guys are having a great day! we're snowed in here - always a cause for celebration in oregon!

Keep asking questions, kelly - you'll get there and Oliver will do better. he's responding really nicely to the insulin - it just takes persistence and some time.
btw, when you post in Main Health, people assume you're new and won't know what advice you are getting here. you probably just want to post here.